Case No. 14520Money laundering (possession of proceeds of criminal conduct) · Co. Donegal

Woman pleads guilty to possessing over €37,000 in proceeds of crime at Letterkenny Circuit Court

Opeoluwa Lawal, a 22-year-old woman, was the accused in a money laundering case linked to County Donegal, involving over €37,000 credited to bank accounts in her name that were proceeds of criminal conduct. The offences were said to have been committed between January 2022 and July 2023 at a place unknown in the State. On 19 February 2025, she pleaded guilty at Letterkenny Circuit Court to two offences of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct, and the defence said she was perhaps not the main player and that the offending was reckless rather than deliberate. The judge, John Aylmer, asked for a probation report and adjourned the matter until July.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court19 Feb
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • The accused pleaded guilty to two offences of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct.
  • The money in the two charges totalled over €37,000 in bank accounts in her name.
Where
  • The case was heard at Letterkenny Circuit Court.
  • The offences were said to have taken place at a place unknown in the State.
When
The offences were committed on dates between January 2022 and July 2023.
Charges
  • One charge concerns €15,360 credited to an AIB bank account in her name.
  • A further charge concerns €22,358.63 credited to a Revolut bank account in her name.
In court
The judge, John Aylmer, asked for a probation report and adjourned the matter until July.
Other details
  • The defence barrister said the accused was perhaps not the main player and that the offending was reckless more than deliberate.
  • The defence said the accused has not come to adverse attention since the offences.
  • The accused obtained a degree in psychiatric nursing from ATU Donegal in 2024 and is now employed as a care assistant.
  • A news report of 19 February 2025 described the accused as a nurse, while the defence said she now works as a care assistant.
12 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe accused pleaded guilty to two offences of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct. (donegallive.ie)
  • whatThe money in the two charges totalled over €37,000 in bank accounts in her name. (donegallive.ie)
  • whereThe case was heard at Letterkenny Circuit Court. (donegallive.ie)
  • whereThe offences were said to have taken place at a place unknown in the State. (donegallive.ie)
  • whenThe offences were committed on dates between January 2022 and July 2023. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeOne charge concerns €15,360 credited to an AIB bank account in her name. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeA further charge concerns €22,358.63 credited to a Revolut bank account in her name. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe judge asked for a probation report and adjourned the matter until July. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe defence barrister said the accused was perhaps not the main player. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe defence said the accused has not come to adverse attention since the offences. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe defence said the offending was reckless more than deliberate. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe accused obtained a degree in psychiatric nursing from ATU Donegal in 2024 and is now employed as a care assistant. (donegallive.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 19 Feb2025
    Nurse appears in Letterkenny court over €37,000 crime proceeds

    Reports a guilty plea by the accused to two money laundering charges, with the amounts, the banks involved, the defence submissions and the adjournment to July for a probation report.

    accused, Opeoluwa Lawal, 22, female, named, non-irish (judged from name)Opeoluwa Lawal