Case No. 11331Money laundering · Co. Galway

Woman before Naas court over alleged money laundering of €2,600

Linda John, a 38-year-old woman, appeared before Naas District Court on an allegation of money laundering involving €2,600, as reported on 27 January 2026. The alleged offence took place on dates in July 2019 at an AIB branch in Vicar Street, Tuam, Co Galway, and involved money intended to pay rent for premises that did not exist. Gardaí allege the injured party, who is not named in the sources, was the victim of a combination fraud. Judge Desmond Zaidan remanded her on continuing bail, and the case was adjourned to March 19.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court27 Jan
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Linda John, a 38-year-old woman of Sallins, Co Kildare, appeared before Naas District Court on an allegation of money laundering.
  • The injured party is not named in the sources.
Where
The alleged money laundering took place at an AIB branch in Vicar Street, Tuam, Co Galway.
When
The alleged offence took place on dates in July 2019.
Charges
The amounts involved in the allegation total €2,600.
Cause
  • Money intended to pay rent for premises ended up in a woman's account.
  • Money was allegedly transferred to an account for the rent of premises that did not exist.
Investigation
Sgt Dave Hanrahan alleged that the injured party was the victim of a combination fraud.
In court
  • The court appearance was reported on 27 January 2026.
  • Judge Desmond Zaidan remanded the defendant on continuing bail.
  • The case was adjourned to March 19.
9 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatLinda John, 38, appeared before Naas District Court on an allegation of money laundering. (kildarenow.com)
  • whatThe amounts involved total €2,600. (kildarenow.com)
  • whereThe alleged money laundering took place at an AIB branch in Vicar Street, Tuam. (kildarenow.com)
  • whenThe alleged offence took place on dates in July 2019. (kildarenow.com)
  • causeMoney intended to pay rent for premises ended up in a woman's account. (kildarenow.com)
  • causeMoney was allegedly transferred to an account for rent of a premises that did not exist. (kildarenow.com)
  • investigationGardaí allege the injured party was the victim of a combination fraud. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtJudge Desmond Zaidan remanded the defendant on continuing bail. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtThe case was adjourned to March 19. (kildarenow.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 27 Jan2026
    Money for a premises that didn't exist ended up in a Kildare woman's account, court told

    Court appearance at Naas District Court. Linda John remanded on continuing bail and case adjourned to March 19. Gardaí allege money meant for rent of a non-existent premises went into her account.

    accused, Linda John, 38, female, named, irish (judged from name)Linda Johnvictim