Westmeath brothers identified after sexual assault convictions of teenage girls in 1990s
John Owens, 72, and Martin Owens, 66, of Westmeath, pleaded guilty to sexually assaulting teenage girls aged 14 to 17 who were babysitting for their children in the mid-1990s, with some incidents occurring in Trabolgan, Co Cork, during a family holiday. Detective Garda Aidan Hynes was assigned to investigate in May 2023, and John Owens was sentenced to eight years by Justice Eileen Creedon in February 2026 after pleading guilty to nine counts. Martin Owens pleaded guilty to six counts in April and July 2026 and was sentenced to five years and six months with the final six months suspended by Justice Tony Hunt in July 2026. The victims, Deirdre Boylan, Lorraine Kiernan, 44, Sinead Nally, and a fourth woman, waived their right to anonymity in July 2026 so the brothers could be identified publicly for the first time.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced28 Jul
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- John Owens, 72, pleaded guilty to nine counts of sexual assault of three teenage girls aged 14 to 17 who were babysitting for the Owens' children.
- Martin Owens, 66, pleaded guilty to sexually assaulting Deirdre Boylan and Lorraine Kiernan on dates in 1994 and 1996, and to four further counts of sexually assaulting Deirdre Boylan on dates in 1994 and 1995.
- Where
- Some incidents took place in Trabolgan, Co Cork, during a family holiday, and John Owens owned a quarry business in Mullingar.
- When
- The assaults took place in the mid-1990s.
- Investigation
- Detective Garda Aidan Hynes of the Westmeath Divisional Protective Services Unit was assigned to investigate in May 2023.
- Charges
- A plea of sexual assault was accepted by the DPP on the basis that the physical act was sexual intercourse.
- In court
- The two men were originally set to face trial together but their legal teams applied for separate trials.
- Sentence
- John Owens was sentenced to eight years by Justice Eileen Creedon in February 2026, reduced from a headline of 15 years.
- Martin Owens was sentenced to five years and six months with the final six months suspended for three years by Justice Tony Hunt in July 2026.
- Other details
- The victims, Deirdre Boylan, Lorraine Kiernan, 44, Sinead Nally, and a fourth woman, waived their right to anonymity so the Owens could be identified publicly.
- John Owens offered €20,000 to each victim as a gesture of remorse which was accepted.
14 statements extracted from the articles
- whatJohn Owens pleaded guilty to nine counts of sexual assault of three teenage girls and was jailed for eight years (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMartin Owens pleaded guilty to sexually assaulting Deirdre Boylan and Lorraine Kiernan on dates in 1994 and 1996 (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMartin Owens pleaded guilty to four more counts of sexually assaulting Deirdre Boylan on dates in 1994 and 1995 (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe victims were aged 14 to 17 and were babysitting for the Owens' children (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMartin Owens had sexual intercourse with the victim after taking off her shorts and underwear (irishmirror.ie)
- whereJohn Owens owned a quarry business in Mullingar which he had taken over from his uncle (irishmirror.ie)
- whereSome incidents of sexual assault took place in Trabolgan, Co Cork during a family holiday (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Aidan Hynes of the Westmeath Divisional Protective Services Unit was assigned to investigate in May 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeA plea of sexual assault was accepted by the DPP on the basis that the physical act was sexual intercourse (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe two men were originally set to face trial together but their legal teams applied for separate trials (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceMartin Owens was sentenced to five years and six months with the final six months suspended for three years (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceJohn Owens was sentenced to eight years, reduced from a headline of 15 years (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe victims waived their right to anonymity so the Owens could be identified publicly (irishmirror.ie)
- otherJohn Owens offered €20,000 to each victim as a gesture of remorse which was accepted (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 28 Jul2026Brothers who sexually assaulted teen girls in 90s identified for first time
Reports the public identification of both brothers after the victims waived anonymity, details Martin Owens' sentencing to five years and six months (six months suspended) by Justice Tony Hunt following guilty pleas in April and July 2026, and recounts John Owens' earlier sentencing to eight years by Justice Eileen Creedon in February 2026.
convicted, John Owens, 72, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Owensconvicted, Martin Owens, 66, male, named, irish (judged from name)Martin Owensvictim, Deirdre Boylan, female, irish (judged from name)Deirdre Boylanvictim, Lorraine Kiernan, 44, female, irish (judged from name)Lorraine Kiernanvictim, Sinead Nally, female, irish (judged from name)Sinead Nallyvictim, female, irish (judged from name)