Case No. 10617Unauthorised disclosure of personal data · Co. Clare

Victims of ex-Garda's unauthorised PULSE data disclosures asked to provide impact statements

Shane Flanagan, a 39-year-old man with an address in Ennis, Co Clare, who is a former Garda, made unauthorised disclosures of Garda PULSE personal data on individuals in 2020, with offences dated between February 13 and June 16. He had already pleaded guilty to two of 14 counts before he pleaded guilty to four more at Ennis Circuit Court, appearing by video link from prison, as reported on March 7, 2026. The judge then directed that victim impact statements be obtained from the 14 individuals named in the counts. Sentencing is set for April 29.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court7 Mar
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Shane Flanagan pleaded guilty to four additional counts of unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data on four individuals in 2020.
Where
The plea was entered at Ennis Circuit Court.
When
The offences occurred on dates between February 13 and June 16, 2020.
Charges
Flanagan had already pleaded guilty to two of the 14 counts before this plea.
In court
  • Flanagan appeared in court by video link from prison.
  • The judge directed that victim impact statements be obtained from the 14 individuals named in the counts.
Sentence
Sentencing is set for April 29.
Other details
  • The victims are not named on the charges; their names are initialled.
  • Flanagan resigned from the Gardaí in March of last year.
  • Flanagan is serving a seven-year jail term for inciting strangers to rape a colleague.
9 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatShane Flanagan pleaded guilty to four additional counts of unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data on four individuals in 2020. (clareecho.ie)
  • whereThe plea was entered at Ennis Circuit Court. (clareecho.ie)
  • whenThe offences occurred on dates between February 13 and June 16, 2020. (clareecho.ie)
  • chargeFlanagan had already pleaded guilty to two counts from a total of 14 counts. (clareecho.ie)
  • courtThe judge directed that victim impact statements be obtained from the 14 individuals named in the counts for the sentencing hearing next month. (clareecho.ie)
  • sentenceSentencing is set for April 29. (clareecho.ie)
  • otherThe victims are not named on the charges, where their names are initialled. (clareecho.ie)
  • otherFlanagan resigned from the Gardaí in March of last year and is serving a seven year jail term for inciting strangers to rape a colleague. (clareecho.ie)
  • otherFlanagan appeared in court by video link from prison. (clareecho.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 7 Mar2026
    Victims of ex Ennis Garda's unauthorised data disclosures asked to provide statements - Clare Echo

    Reports a guilty plea to four additional PULSE data counts at Ennis Circuit Court, the order for victim impact statements, and a sentencing date of April 29.

    convicted, Shane Flanagan, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanagan