US businessman granted bail over sexual assault allegation at Shelbourne Hotel, Dublin
A wealthy US businessman in his 50s was granted bail at Dublin District Court after being charged with sexually assaulting a man at the Shelbourne Hotel in March 2025. The DPP directed the case could be dealt with at District Court level on a guilty plea only, with the charge carrying up to five years' imprisonment.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court28 Mar
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports25 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGavin O'Reilly is a Garda superintendent (irishtimes.com)
- whatHe is accused of assaulting a woman at Strand Street Great on 26 August 2023 (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe charge carries a possible jail sentence of up to five years (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused is a tourist from the US with no ties to Ireland (irishmirror.ie)
- whatHis partner is a company director and together they have significant means of income (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe detailed allegation involved reaching inside the victim's shorts, groping his buttocks, and grabbing his penis from outside his shorts (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused intended to plead not guilty (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused was ordered to surrender his passport immediately (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe detective categorised the offence as very serious (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused was co-operative, gave a full account, and answered all questions during his interview (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThere were no issues during the arrest and no need to handcuff him (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe incident occurred on a date earlier in March 2025 (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe case followed an investigation by the Garda ombudsman (Gsoc) (irishtimes.com)
- chargeA connected charge for engaging in threatening, abusive and insulting behaviour on the same occasion (irishtimes.com)
- courtHe appeared before Judge Michele Finan at Dublin District Court on Friday (irishtimes.com)
- courtState solicitor Rory Staines confirmed this was the first listing of the case (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe State solicitor applied for an adjournment to comply with a disclosure order (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Finan adjourned the case to the contested hearing court and listed it for mention on 7 April (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge directed disclosure of prosecution evidence to the defence (irishtimes.com)
- courtNo evidence concerning the alleged incident was given during the brief hearing (irishtimes.com)
- courtHe appeared before Judge John Brennan at Dublin District Court (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe earliest Circuit Court trial date would probably be in 2027 (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceHe was granted bail temporarily set at €500 with tight conditions and must appear again next week to lodge €30,000 (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe assault under Section 2 of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act carries a maximum six-month sentence (irishtimes.com)
- otherUnder Section 6 of the Public Order Act, the second charge on conviction can result in a three-month term of imprisonment (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 29 Mar2025Wealthy US businessman accused of sexually assaulting man in 5-star Irish hotel
First court appearance; bail granted at €500 with strict conditions including passport surrender and daily sign-on; DPP directed District Court handling on guilty plea only; accused intends to plead not guilty.
accused, 50s, male, American, non-irishvictim, male - 28 Mar2025Garda superintendent charged with assaulting woman during incident in Dublin
First listing of the case; adjourned to contested hearing court for mention on 7 April 2025; prosecution evidence disclosure ordered; no evidence given at this brief hearing.
victim, femaleaccused, male, irish (judged from name)