Case No. 4031Possession of controlled drugs (for sale/supply), proceeds of crime · Co. Meath · 19 Jan 2026
Two men remanded over €260,000 cannabis and cash seizure in Baronstown, Co Meath
Garry Owens, 45, and Kenneth McMorrow, 46, appeared before Trim District Court on 22 January 2026 charged with possession of cannabis, possession for sale or supply, and proceeds of crime following a GNDOCB operation on 19 January 2026 that seized cannabis worth €260,000 and €11,820 in cash at Baronstown, Co Meath. Both were remanded in custody to appear again on 27 January 2026 for DPP directions.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court22 Jan
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet
Key facts
consolidated from all reports34 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGarry Owens, 45, is from Ashbrook, Clogherboy in Navan, Co Meath. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatKenneth McMorrow, 46, is from Bective Park, Kilmessan, Co Meath. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatAt 18.28pm on Monday, Owens allegedly interacted with another male at Ross Cross Service Station near Tara while in a Volkswagen Golf. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe other male was in a Black Toyota Rav 4. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThree bin liners containing 12 half kilos of cannabis worth €120,000, cash and white powder were found 12 feet from the two vehicles stopped on the L5000 at Baronstown. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatA subsequent search of lands nearby at Belpere discovered an alleged quantity of drugs. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe overall amount of cannabis seized was €260,000 and €11,820 in cash. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatOwens admitted he was in the area to collect drugs. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatOwens admitted to using €500 worth of cocaine a week. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereGardaí searched two vehicles at a roadside at Barronstown, Co Meath. (irishtimes.com)
- whereA follow-up search of land at Belper, Co Meath, found more cannabis. (irishtimes.com)
- whereOwens was seen interacting with another man at Ross Cross service station, near Tara, Co Meath. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe operation was supported by armed members and surveillance. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationDet Garda Brian Fahy of the Garda Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence to the court. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe arrests were made during an operation conducted by the GNDOCB on Monday, 19 January 2026. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Brian Fahy arrested Owens on Monday at 8.10pm. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationConfidential information was received that an organised crime gang was involved in the sale of controlled drugs in Meath. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe operation involved armed units and surveillance teams. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeOwens is charged with possession of cannabis for sale or supply at Barronstown. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeOwens is charged with acquiring, using or possessing the seized cash under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering & Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeMcMorrow faces five charges including possession of cannabis for sale or supply at Barronstown and on lands at Belper. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeMcMorrow is charged with possession of the €11,820 at Barronstown. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeOwens is charged with unlawful possession of cannabis under Section 3 of the Misuse of Drugs Act at the L5000 Baronstown, Co Meath on 19 January. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeOwens is charged with unlawful possession of cannabis for sale or supply under Section 15 at the same location. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeOwens is charged with acquiring/using €11,820 in cash allegedly the proceeds of crime under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering & Terrorist Financing) Act 2010 at Baronstown. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeMcMorrow is charged with two counts of unlawful possession of cannabis under Section 3 and two counts of unlawful possession of cannabis for sale and supply under Section 15. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBoth men were remanded in custody to appear before the court on 27 January 2026 for DPP directions. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court appearance was before Judge Éirinn McKiernan at Trim District Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtBoth men appeared before Judge Eirinn McKiernan at Trim District Court on Thursday 22 January 2026. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge McKiernan refused Owens bail citing the serious nature of the offences, strength of evidence, likely sentence, and that he was allegedly caught red-handed. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtOwens was remanded in custody to appear before the court again on Tuesday, 27 January 2026 for DPP directions. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherOwens admitted to using cocaine valued at about €500 every week. (irishtimes.com)
- otherOwens was to be paid €500 for his role in transporting the cannabis. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe seized drugs were linked to a crime gang that lost a significant quantity of drugs that week. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 22 Jan2026Pair in court after drugs and cash seizure allegedly linked to crime gang
Details of the GNDOCB operation, specific charges, bail applications, admissions by Owens, and remand of both accused at Trim District Court.
accused, Garry Owens, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Garry Owensaccused, Kenneth McMorrow, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kenneth McMorrow - 22 Jan2026Two men charged after gardaí surveilled alleged drugs meeting
First report of the surveillance operation, arrests, charges and remand of both men at Trim District Court.
suspect, Garry Owens, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Garry Owenssuspect, Kenneth McMorrow, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kenneth McMorrow