Two men charged with rape at Ceannt Station car park, Galway
Two men have been charged with the alleged rape of a woman in the car park of Ceannt Railway Station in Galway city. Gardaí received a report of an assault on a female in Galway city on the evening of 1 August 2026, and arrested two male suspects on 3 August 2026. Both men, who required an Arabic interpreter, appeared before Galway District Court on 5 August 2026, where they were also charged with falsely imprisoning the woman and were denied bail. The latest development is that the case was adjourned until 25 August 2026.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged14 Aug
- In court15 Aug
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Two men were each charged with the alleged rape of a woman at Ceannt Railway Station car park in Galway.
- Where
- The alleged offence took place in the car park of the railway hub at Ceannt Railway Station in Galway city.
- When
- The alleged offence took place on the evening of 1 August 2026.
- Investigation
- Gardaí received a report of an assault on a female in Galway city on 1 August 2026.
- Gardaí arrested two male suspects on 3 August 2026.
- Gardaí said they would make no further comment because the matter is before the court.
- Charges
- The two men were also charged with falsely imprisoning the same woman.
- In court
- Both men appeared before Galway District Court on 5 August 2026, and proceedings were explained to each through an Arabic interpreter.
- Both men were denied bail and the case was adjourned until 25 August 2026.
- Other details
- The Connaught Tribune and Gript reported the Arabic origin of the two suspects.
- No direct link between IPAS residents and the incident has been confirmed.
- An opinion piece in The Burkean criticised media coverage of the case, and the writer said RTÉ's coverage was limited.
20 statements extracted from the articles
- whatTwo men are alleged to have raped a woman at Ceannt Railway Station in Galway. (theburkean.ie)
- whereThe alleged offence took place at the Ceannt Railway Station car park in Galway. (gript.ie)
- whereThe alleged rape took place in the car park of the railway hub. (theburkean.ie)
- whenThe alleged offence took place on 1 August. (gript.ie)
- investigationGardaí received a report of an assault on a female in Galway city on the evening of 1 August 2026. (gript.ie)
- investigationGardaí arrested two male suspects on 3 August 2026. (gript.ie)
- investigationGardaí said they would make no further comment because the matter is before the court. (gript.ie)
- chargeTwo men were each charged with the rape of a female at the station car park. (gript.ie)
- chargeThe two men were also charged with falsely imprisoning the same woman. (gript.ie)
- chargeTwo men were charged with the rape of a woman. (theburkean.ie)
- courtThe men appeared before Galway District Court on 5 August 2026. (gript.ie)
- courtProceedings were explained to each of the men through an Arabic interpreter. (gript.ie)
- courtThe two men appeared before Galway District Court. (theburkean.ie)
- courtBoth men were denied bail. (theburkean.ie)
- courtThe men required the use of a translator in court. (theburkean.ie)
- courtThe court proceedings included mention of false imprisonment. (theburkean.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned until 25 August. (theburkean.ie)
- otherThe Arabic origin of the two suspects was reported by the Connaught Tribune and Gript. (theburkean.ie)
- otherNo direct link between IPAS residents and the incident has been confirmed. (theburkean.ie)
- otherThe writer says RTÉ's coverage of the case is limited. (theburkean.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 15 Aug2026Media Hush Over Galway Migrant Gang Rape? | The Burkean
Opinion piece criticising media coverage of the case. It states the men are Arabic speakers who needed a translator, were denied bail, and that the case was adjourned to 25 August. It says the Arabic origin was reported only by the Connaught Tribune and Gript.
victim, femaleaccused, maleaccused, male - 14 Aug2026Women "terrified" after alleged gang rape in Galway station - Gript
Gript reports the charges against two men and the court appearance, quotes local women about fear and lack of coverage, and gives a Garda statement that the report was received on 1 August and two men were arrested on 3 August.
accused, 27, maleaccused, 25, malevictim, female