Two brothers on trial for attempted murder at Kilcruttin halting site, Co Offaly
Patrick Ward (38) and John Pio Ward (42) are on trial at the Central Criminal Court for attempting to murder Anthony McDonagh and Michael McDonagh respectively, after a group from the official Kilcruttin halting site attacked the McDonaghs' unofficial site on 21 March 2025, firing shotgun pellets that embedded near vital organs. The prosecution described the sequence of events from a violent altercation outside Tullamore A&E Hospital to the shooting at the halting site.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court6 May
3 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports29 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe altercation outside the hospital involved Michael McDonagh, his son, and three cousins of the accused. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatA large group from the official halting site attacked the McDonaghs' unofficial site. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatSome members of the attacking group were in possession of firearms and shots were discharged. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe victims were shot in the chest, neck and face. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatPellets from a shotgun were embedded in the victims' bodies next to vital organs. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatBoth victims were hospitalised on 21 March and later transferred to St James's Hospital. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe two men were treated in the intensive care unit and later in the higher dependency unit. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe incident occurred at an unofficial halting site in Kilcruttin, Co Offaly. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe incident occurred at the unofficial halting site in Kilcruttin, Co Offaly. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe incident took place on 21 March 2025. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe trial began on 7 May 2026. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe shootings took place at 10.15pm at the unofficial halting site. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenA violent altercation outside Tullamore A&E Hospital occurred at 9.50pm, minutes before the shooting. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe firearms were not recovered. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe Garda technical team found components of shotgun cartridges including pellets and wadding at the scene. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe cartridge components indicated they were discharged from twelve-gauge shotgun cartridges. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargePatrick Ward was charged with attempting to murder Anthony McDonagh. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeJohn Pio Ward was charged with the attempted murder of Michael McDonagh. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeBoth men face further charges of possession of firearms and violent disorder. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtA jury was sworn in for the trial at the Central Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtBoth accused pleaded not guilty to all charges. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtCounsel for the State is Kevin White. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial is expected to run until 21 May 2026. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe trial will begin before Judge Paul McDermott and a jury of seven men and five women. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial is taking place at the Central Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtCounsel for the State is Kevin White SC. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtDefence for Patrick Ward is Damien Colgan SC. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe trial is before Mr Justice Paul McDermott and a jury of seven men and five women. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherPatrick Ward's partner, Eileen, is the sister of the two victims. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 7 May2026Kids ran for cover as shots sparked ‘pandemonium’ at halting site, court told
Opening address at trial; prosecution outlines the sequence from the hospital altercation to the shooting, describes the injuries and recognition evidence, and notes the familial connection between the accused and victims.
accused, Patrick Ward, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Wardaccused, John Pio Ward, 42, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Pio Wardvictim, Anthony McDonagh, male, irish (judged from name)Anthony McDonaghvictim, Michael McDonagh, male, irish (judged from name)Michael McDonagh - 7 May2026Brothers go on trial accused of attempted murders at unofficial halting site
Trial commenced at the Central Criminal Court before Mr Justice Paul McDermott; jury of 12 sworn in; trial expected to run until 21 May 2026.
accused, Patrick Ward, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Wardaccused, John Pio Ward, 42, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Pio Wardvictim, Anthony McDonagh, male, irish (judged from name)Anthony McDonaghvictim, Michael McDonagh, male, irish (judged from name)Michael McDonagh - 6 May2026Jury sworn in for trial of two brothers charged with attempted murder at halting site
Jury sworn in; trial expected to run until 21 May 2026 before Judge Paul McDermott. Both accused pleaded not guilty to all charges.
accused, Patrick Ward, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Wardaccused, John Pio Ward, 42, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Pio Wardvictim, Anthony McDonagh, male, irish (judged from name)Anthony McDonaghvictim, Michael McDonagh, male, irish (judged from name)Michael McDonagh