Two brothers acquitted of attempted murder at Offaly halting site
Two brothers, Patrick Ward, 38, and John Pio Ward, 42, were accused of trying to murder Anthony McDonagh, 40, and Michael McDonagh, 46, during an incident on 21 March 2025 at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly. Shots were discharged, and the sources differ on the location, with the State describing a violent altercation outside Tullamore Hospital at 9.50pm. John Pio Ward was charged with the attempted murder of Michael McDonagh, and both men faced charges of possessing firearms and violent disorder. After a three-week trial at the Central Criminal Court, the jury returned majority verdicts finding both men not guilty on all counts, and the judge discharged them.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Acquitted1 May
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Patrick Ward, 38, and John Pio Ward, 42, were the two accused brothers.
- Anthony McDonagh, 40, and Michael McDonagh, 46, were the two brothers the accused were said to have tried to murder.
- Shots were discharged during the attack, and people, including children, were forced to look for cover.
- Where
- The attack took place at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly, but the State said the violent altercation took place outside Tullamore Hospital.
- When
- The incident occurred on 21 March 2025, with the State saying it took place at 9.50pm.
- The article is dated 28 May 2026 in its text, while its metadata shows 1 May 2026.
- Weapon
- Pellets from a shotgun were embedded in the bodies of the two victims.
- Charges
- John Pio Ward was charged with the attempted murder of Michael McDonagh.
- Both accused faced further charges of possessing firearms and violent disorder.
- In court
- The judge told the jury to exercise caution about recognition evidence.
- The trial ran for three weeks at the Central Criminal Court.
- The jury deliberated for four hours and twenty minutes before returning majority verdicts.
- The two accused were found not guilty on all counts.
- The judge discharged the two accused, ending the trial.
11 statements extracted from the articles
- whatTwo brothers were found not guilty of trying to murder another pair of brothers during an attack at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly. (thejournal.ie)
- whatShots were discharged during the attack and people, including children, were forced to look for cover. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe State said a violent altercation took place outside Tullamore Hospital at 9.50pm on March 21. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe attack at the unofficial halting site took place on March 21, 2025. (thejournal.ie)
- weaponPellets from a shotgun were embedded in the bodies of the two victims. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeJohn Pio Ward was charged with the attempted murder of Michael McDonagh. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeBoth accused faced further charges of possessing firearms and violent disorder. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe jury deliberated for four hours and twenty minutes before returning majority verdicts. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe two accused were found not guilty on all counts. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge discharged the two accused, ending a three-week trial. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe judge told the jury to exercise caution about recognition evidence. (thejournal.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 1 May2026Brothers acquitted of attempted murder at halting site
Reports the verdicts and discharge of the two accused at the end of a three-week Central Criminal Court trial, with the trial evidence summarised. The article is dated 28 May 2026 in its text, although its metadata shows 1 May 2026.
accused, Patrick Ward, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Wardaccused, John Pio Ward, 42, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Pio Wardvictim, Anthony McDonagh, 40, male, irish (judged from name)Anthony McDonaghvictim, Michael McDonagh, 46, male, irish (judged from name)Michael McDonagh