Case No. 6204Money laundering · Co. Dublin

Trial to go ahead in €355k alleged 'romance fraud' case

Ayo Egbon, a 37-year-old man of Broomhill House, Swords Road, Dublin, has been charged under money-laundering legislation over alleged possession of crime proceeds from a so-called romance fraud, with offences allegedly taking place from February 2017 to February 2020 and an additional offence from 2 to 14 July 2021. The alleged injured party is from Finland, and the case followed a Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigation. Charges total €355,472, made up of €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account and €100,000 at Fire Financial Services in Dublin 1. On 7 January 2025 Judge Deirdre Gearty at Dublin District Court sent the case for trial at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, where it is listed for mention on 27 February.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court7 Jan
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Ayo Egbon, 37, a father of three, is charged under money-laundering legislation.
Where
He lives at Broomhill House, Swords Road, Dublin.
When
  • The offences are alleged to have taken place from February 2017 until February 2020.
  • An additional offence is alleged to have taken place from 2 to 14 July 2021.
Cause
The proceeds are described as coming from a romance fraud against an alleged injured party from Finland.
Investigation
The case followed a Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigation.
Charges
  • He was initially charged with acquiring, possessing, using or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account, knowing or reckless to it being proceeds of crime.
  • He was additionally charged with possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds at Fire Financial Services LTD, CHQ Building, Custom House Quay, Dublin 1.
  • The total is reported as €355,472 in the charges and as €355,000 in the headline.
In court
  • Judge Deirdre Gearty at Dublin District Court granted a return-for-trial order, sending the case to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on 7 January 2025.
  • The DPP directed trial on indictment at a higher level with wider sentencing powers.
  • The case is listed for mention on 27 February.
  • Free legal aid, including junior and senior counsel, was granted on application by defence barrister Kevin McCrave.
  • As bail conditions, he must reside at the address given, must not use internet dating or matchmaking sites, and must surrender his passport and not apply for alternative travel documents.
Other details
He had already lost his employment in relation to the matters, and was previously described as a learner truck driver.
18 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatAyo Egbon is 37 years old and lives at Broomhill House, Swords Road, Dublin (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe is a father of three (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe was previously described as a learner truck driver (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe offences allegedly took place from February 2017 until February 2020 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe additional offence took place from July 2 to 14, 2021 (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe case follows a Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigation (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged under money-laundering legislation (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was initially charged with acquiring, possessing, using, or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account knowing or reckless to it being proceeds of crime (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was additionally charged with possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds at Fire Financial Services LTD CHQ Building, Custom House Quay, Dublin 1 (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtJudge Deirdre Gearty at Dublin District Court granted a return-for-trial order sending the case to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe case will be listed for mention on February 27 (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment at a higher level with wider sentencing powers (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtFree legal aid including junior and senior counsel was granted on application by defence barrister Kevin McCrave (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe must reside at the address given and not go on any internet dating or matchmaking sites (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe had to surrender his passport and must not apply for alternative travel documents (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHe had already lost employment in relation to the matters (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe proceeds were described as being from romance fraud (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe alleged injured party was from Finland (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 7 Jan2025
    Trial to go ahead in €355k alleged 'romance fraud' case

    Reports that Ayo Egbon was sent forward for trial at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (listed for mention 27 February) on two money-laundering charges totalling €355,472 in crime proceeds from a romance fraud, with the DPP directing trial on indictment. Bail conditions include a ban on dating websites and surrender of passport.

    accused, Ayo Egbon, 37, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ayo Egbonvictim, non-irish (judged from name)