Trial set for Dublin creche directors over childcare regulatory offences
Siobhan Davy and Anne Davy are accused of multiple childcare regulatory offences at the Hyde & Seek Creche and Montessori on Finglas Road, Dublin, with the offences allegedly occurring in 2019. The charges include permitting staff to work without required qualifications or Garda vetting, inadequate space for children, and the use of a wet cloth to wake a child. The creche was featured in an RTÉ Investigates programme, and the defendants deny the charges. The case was listed for mention before Judge Anthony Halpin on 13 October 2021, with pretrial issues set for 24 November 2021 and a non-jury trial at Dublin District Court scheduled to commence on 7 February 2022.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court13 Oct
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- When
- The offences allegedly occurred in 2019.
- Where
- The offences relate to the Hyde & Seek Creche and Montessori on Finglas Road, Dublin.
- Charges
- Siobhan Davy is accused of permitting two staff to work with children without documentary evidence of minimal educational awards on 11 April, 23 May and 27 July 2019.
- Siobhan Davy and the company are accused of permitting the use of a wet cloth to wake a child on 10 July 2019.
- Siobhan Davy is accused of allowing one staff member to supervise nine babies in contravention of safety ratios on 8 July 2019.
- The company is accused of not having documentary evidence of staff having a major award qualification in early childcare.
- Anne Davy is accused of letting eight staff work at the creches without Garda vetting.
- Anne Davy is accused of providing inadequate space for 46 children when the creche was sanctioned for 32 only.
- Investigation
- Tusla needed four weeks to obtain answers from RTÉ about video evidence.
- In court
- The case was listed for mention before Judge Anthony Halpin on 13 October 2021, who ordered disclosure of all remaining evidence including RTÉ and Tusla correspondence.
- The non-jury trial at Dublin District Court is set to commence on 7 February 2022, with pretrial issues listed for 24 November 2021.
- Other details
- The defendants deny the charges, and the creche was featured in an RTÉ Investigates programme.
- Sentence
- If convicted, the defendants could face fines of up to €120,000.
18 statements extracted from the articles
- whenThe offences allegedly occurred in 2019. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationTusla needed four weeks to obtain answers from RTÉ about video evidence. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeSiobhan Davy is accused of permitting two staff to work with children at the Finglas Road creche on 11 April, 23 May and 27 July 2019 without documentary evidence of minimal educational awards. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeSiobhan Davy has a charge for permitting staff to wake a child by holding a wet cloth on their face on 10 July 2019. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeSiobhan Davy is accused of allowing one staff member to supervise nine babies in contravention of safety ratios on 8 July 2019. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe company is accused of not having documentary evidence of staff having a major award qualification in early childcare. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe company is accused of permitting the use of a wet cloth to wake a child. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeAnne Davy is accused of letting eight staff work at Hyde & Seek Creche and Montessori without Garda vetting. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeAnne Davy has a charge for providing inadequate space for 46 children when the creche was sanctioned for 32 only. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe non-jury trial at Dublin District Court is set to commence on 7 February 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case was listed for mention before Judge Anthony Halpin on Wednesday 13 October 2021. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Halpin ordered disclosure of all remaining evidence, including correspondence between RTÉ and Tusla. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case will be listed regarding pretrial issues on 24 November 2021. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe district court had earlier granted a stay on the de-registration of the creches by Tusla. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceIf convicted, the defendants could face fines of up to €120,000. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe trial has been delayed as a result of the covid-19 crisis. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe defendants deny the charges. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe creche was featured in an RTÉ Investigates programme. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 13 Oct2021Date set for trial of Hyde & Seek creche group over childcare breaches
Trial date set for 7 February 2022; pretrial issues listed for 24 November 2021; Judge Halpin ordered disclosure of remaining evidence including RTÉ correspondence; earlier stay on Tusla de-registration noted.
accused, Siobhan Davy, female, named, irish (judged from name)Siobhan Davyaccused, Anne Davy, female, named, irish (judged from name)Anne Davy