Trial date set for money laundering case of ex-Ireland hockey player Caitriona Carey
Caitriona Carey, a 47-year-old woman and former Ireland hockey international from Co. Carlow, is charged with three money laundering offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010, relating to funds in a bank account in the name Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA over 2019, 2020 and 2021. It is alleged she induced people to pay deposits by falsely representing the company could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders. Co-accused John Steadmond, 48, of Co. Wexford, and Paddy Maher, 57, of Co. Wicklow, each face 17 related charges including unlawfully acting as solicitors. On June 30, 2025, Carey appeared before Judge Orla Crowe at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, where the trial was set for January 27, 2027, expected to last four to six weeks, and Steadmond and Maher were bailed until July 29 pending arraignment.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court30 Jun
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA.
- It is alleged Carey engaged in converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing or using the proceeds of criminal conduct.
- The bulk of the charges relate to inducing people to pay deposits by falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders.
- Where
- Carey has an address at Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co. Carlow; Steadmond is of Rossminogue, Craanford, Gorey, Co. Wexford; Maher is of Glenmalure Gun Club, Glenmalure, Co. Wicklow.
- When
- The three offences relate to a 12-month period in 2019, 2020, and 2021.
- Charges
- Carey is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010.
- Steadmond and Maher are each charged with 17 related charges, including that they unlawfully acted as solicitors when not qualified to do so.
- In court
- The trial is set for January 27, 2027, before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, expected to last four to six weeks.
- On June 30, 2025, Carey appeared before Judge Orla Crowe; her barrister Kevin Roche BL said disclosure was outstanding and asked for an arraignment date at the end of the month.
- Judge Crowe bailed Steadmond and Maher until July 29.
- Other details
- Carey is a former Ireland hockey international.
16 statements extracted from the articles
- whatAll three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatIt is alleged she engaged in converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing or using the proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe bulk of the charges relate to inducing people to pay deposits by falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereCaitriona Carey has an address at Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co. Carlow. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe three offences relate to a 12-month period in 2019, 2020, and 2021. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeCaitriona Carey is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeJohn Steadmond, 48, of Rossminogue, Craanford, Gorey, Co Wexford, is charged with 17 related charges. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargePaddy Maher, 57, of Glenmalure Gun Club, Glenmalure, Co. Wicklow, is charged with 17 related charges. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThe charges include that they unlawfully acted as solicitors when not qualified to do so. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe trial is set for January 27, 2027, before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe trial is expected to last four to six weeks. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtShe appeared before Judge Orla Crowe on Monday. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtTheir barristers said there was disclosure outstanding and asked for an arraignment date at the end of the month. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Crowe bailed Steadmond and Maher until July 29. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherShe is a former Ireland hockey international. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHer barrister is Kevin Roche BL. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 30 Jun2025Date set for money laundering trial for ex-Irish hockey player Catriona Carey
Court appearance where trial date was set for January 27, 2027; co-accused Steadmond and Maher bailed until July 29 pending arraignment.
accused, Caitriona Carey, 47, female, named, irish (judged from name)Caitriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmondaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher