Case No. 2394Unspecified (GNECB / Operation OMENA) · Co. Dublin

Trial date set for Catriona Carey money laundering case in Dublin

Catriona Carey, 46, a former international hockey player and financial adviser from Kilkenny, is charged with three counts of money laundering under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010, relating to funds in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA, with the overall charges involving 25 alleged victims. Co-accused John Steadmond, 47, of Gorey, Co Wexford, and Patrick Maher, 57, of Glenmalure, Co Wicklow, face charges including acting unlawfully as solicitors and deception, with Steadmond accused of inducing 21 people to pay a deposit by falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders. Carey was also charged in February 2025 with 46 Companies Act offences, and her brother Jack Carey, 53, and Maher face related company law charges following a joint Garda National Economic Crime Bureau and Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation. The trio was sent forward for trial on indictment at Dublin District Court, and on 30 June 2025 Judge Orla Crowe at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court set the money laundering trial for 27 January 2027, expected to last four to six weeks.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Charged4 Dec
    2 reports
  4. In court4 Dec
    18 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Catriona Carey, 46, a former Ireland international hockey player and financial adviser, is charged with three counts of money laundering under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010, relating to funds in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA, with the overall charges involving 25 alleged victims.
  • Co-accused John Steadmond, 47, of Gorey, Co Wexford, and Patrick Maher, 57, of Glenmalure, Co Wicklow, face charges including acting unlawfully as solicitors from July 2019 to February 2022 and deception, with Steadmond accused of inducing 21 people to pay a deposit by falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders.
  • Carey was charged in February 2025 with 46 offences under the Companies Act from 2019 to 2022, including failing to provide information to the CRO, keep records, notify a change of address, or file financial returns, and her brother Jack Carey, 53, and Maher face related company law charges.
When
The money laundering offences are alleged to have occurred in 2019, 2020 and 2021, and the Companies Act offences from 2019 to 2022.
Investigation
The case followed a joint investigation by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau and the Corporate Enforcement Authority.
Charges
The book of evidence contains 51 charges: 31 against Carey, 8 against Jack Carey, and 12 against Maher.
In court
  • Carey was arrested at Kilmainham Garda Station and appeared at Dublin District Court on 4 December 2024, where the DPP directed trial on indictment and she was remanded on bail of €500.
  • On 30 June 2025, Judge Orla Crowe at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court set the money laundering trial for 27 January 2027, expected to last four to six weeks.
Other details
  • Carey is from Kilkenny with an address at Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow, and has yet to indicate a plea.
  • A fourth man is due back in court at a later date accused of connected offences.
203 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe charges relate to 25 victims. (rte.ie)
  • whatCarey has been accused of dozens of counts of breaking company law for allegedly providing false information and financial returns. (rte.ie)
  • whatCatriona Carey has been accused of dozens of counts of breaking company law. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatCatriona Carey is a former Ireland hockey international (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whatShe met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on Tuesday morning to be charged (irishtimes.com)
  • whatHe allegedly induced 21 people to pay a deposit (irishtimes.com)
  • whatHe falsely represented that Careysfort Asset Estates was in a position to secure finance for distressed mortgage holders (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe deposit paid was allegedly refundable (irishtimes.com)
  • whatCatriona Carey is a financial adviser and former hockey international. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatIt is alleged Carey engaged in converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing and using property that was the proceeds of criminal conduct over each 12-month period. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe sums allegedly involved have not been stated in court documents or oral evidence. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatIt is claimed Steadmond induced 21 people to pay a deposit. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatHe falsely represented that the deposit paid was refundable. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatCatriona Carey is a former Ireland international hockey player. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatShe is charged with three offences contrary to section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatIn each case she is alleged to have engaged in handling, acquiring or possessing proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatAll three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe other charges relate to inducing people to pay deposits by falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatCatriona Carey and her brother Jack Carey have been sent forward for trial accused of breaking company laws. (rte.ie)
  • whatCatriona Carey is a former Ireland international hockey player and former financial advisor (irishtimes.com)
  • whatJack Carey is a hurley maker (irishtimes.com)
  • whatIn each case, she allegedly handled, acquired, or otherwise dealt with proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatAll three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe funds were credit balances in a bank account held in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (thejournal.ie)
  • whereShe is from Kilkenny but has an address at Rochford Manor, Graigecullen, Co Carlow (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • wherePaddy Maher is of Glenmalure Gun Club, Co Wicklow (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whereJohn Steadmond has an address at Rossminogue, Craanford, Gorey, Co Wexford (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whereJohn Steadmond is of Rossminogue, Craanford, Co Wexford. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe court hearing took place in Dublin. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • whereShe has an address at Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe funds involved were in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • whereMs Carey met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on 4 February to be charged. (rte.ie)
  • whereCatriona Carey is from Kilkenny but has an address at Rochford Manor, Graigecullen, Co Carlow (irishtimes.com)
  • whereJack Carey is from Kilkenny and resides in Graiguecullen, Co Carlow (irishtimes.com)
  • wherePaddy Maher is from the Glenmalure Gun Club in Co Wicklow (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe charges cover the period from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences were committed over three successive years, from 2019 to 2021. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe offences are alleged to have taken place on dates in 2019, 2020 and 2021. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • whenShe met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on the morning of the court appearance. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences occurred between 2019 and 2022. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe offences were allegedly committed from 2019 to 2022. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe offences allegedly occurred from 2019 to 2022 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whenShe met gardai by arrangement in Dublin on Tuesday morning to be charged (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe money laundering offences are alleged to have been committed from 2019 to 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe alleged offences are dated between 2019 and 2021. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • whenShe met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on 4 February. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe offences are said to have occurred in 2019, 2020 and 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe alleged offences are from 2019, 2020 and 2021. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • whenCatriona Carey met gardaí in Dublin on 4 February to be charged (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe alleged offences occurred in 2019, 2020, and 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationCarey was arrested at 9.05am at Kilmainham Garda Station. (rte.ie)
  • investigationCarey was arrested together with two former business partners, John Steadmond and Patrick Maher. (rte.ie)
  • investigationDetective Garda Ger Carmody of the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe case followed a probe by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau, which received DPP authorisation to bring multiple charges. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationThe case follows a probe by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau (GNECB). (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe case followed a Garda-Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe case followed a Garda and Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationThe case follows an inquiry by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe GNECB received authorisation in December to charge the trio with multiple offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe charges arise from an investigation by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • investigationThe case stems from a joint Garda-CEA investigation. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe case follows a Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe charges follow a Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCatriona Carey appeared in court charged with money laundering offences. (rte.ie)
  • chargeCarey is accused of dealing with credit balances on a Wise Europe bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Limited, knowing or being reckless as to whether the property was proceeds of crime. (rte.ie)
  • chargeJohn Steadmond faces 18 charges, including unlawfully acting as a solicitor, deception and fraud. (rte.ie)
  • chargePatrick Maher faces 24 similar charges. (rte.ie)
  • chargeCarey is to stand trial on money laundering charges for possessing crime proceeds. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeCarey faces three counts under section seven of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMaher and Steadmond were charged with acting unlawfully as a solicitor while not being qualified from July 2019 to February 2022. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges for deception over the same period. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeMaher has another 24 similar fraud charges for deception by inducing people to pay a deposit. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeCarey is charged with three counts of money laundering on dates between 2019 and 2021. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeThe offences are alleged to be contrary to Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeCarey is accused of handling credit balances on a Wise Europe bank account in the name of Careysfort Assets Estates Limited, knowing or being reckless as to whether they were proceeds of crime. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeJohn Steadman is accused of 18 offences including unlawfully acting as a solicitor, deception and fraud. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargePaddy Maher is charged with 24 similar offences including unlawfully acting as a solicitor while not being a qualified solicitor. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeCarey faces three counts under section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010 for offences from 2019 to 2021. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargePaddy Maher and John Steadmond are accused of acting unlawfully as a solicitor while not being qualified from July 2019 to February 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges for deception, inducing 21 people to pay a deposit having falsely represented that Careysfort Asset Estates could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargePaddy Maher faces 24 similar fraud charges for deception by inducing people to pay a deposit. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeShe faced 46 fresh charges under the Companies Act. (rte.ie, thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • chargeShe is accused of failing to provide information to the Companies Registration Office, keep records, notify a change of address, or file financial returns. (rte.ie)
  • chargeShe is accused of failing to provide information to the Companies Registration Office. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCarey faces three counts of money laundering. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeMaher and Steadmond are accused of acting unlawfully as a solicitor while not being qualified from July 2019 to February 2022. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeShe is accused of failing to provide information to the CRO and to file financial returns (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeShe faces three counts of money laundering (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeMaher and Steadmond are accused of acting unlawfully as a solicitor while not qualified from July 2019 to February 2022 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges for deception (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeShe faced 46 charges under the Companies Act (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeShe is accused of failing to provide information to the CRO, keep records, notify of a change of address, or file financial returns (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges for deception where he allegedly induced 21 people to pay a deposit (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeMaher and Steadmond are accused of acting unlawfully as solicitors while not being qualified from July 2019 to February 2022. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges of deception. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe alleged offence is money laundering. (extra.ie)
  • chargeCarey is charged with three offences under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeShe was charged under the Companies Act with 46 offences from 2019 to 2022. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeShe is accused of failing to file financial returns to the office. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeShe is accused of failing to keep records or notify the office of a change of address. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeJohn Steadmond, 48, of Gorey, Co Wexford, is charged with 17 related charges including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargePaddy Maher, 57, of Glenmalure, Co Wicklow, is charged with 17 related charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCarey is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeIt is alleged that Carey converted, transferred, handled, acquired, possessed or used the proceeds of criminal conduct. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeEach co-accused is charged with 17 related charges, including unlawfully acting as a solicitor when not qualified. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeMost of the other charges against the two men relate to inducing people to pay deposits and falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • chargeMs Carey was charged in February with Companies Act offences from 2019 to 2022. (rte.ie)
  • chargeMs Carey was accused of failing to provide information to the Companies Registration Office. (rte.ie)
  • chargeJack Carey is accused of being party to providing false information and failing to provide company returns to the CRO. (rte.ie)
  • chargeCatriona Carey was charged in February with offences under the Companies Act from 2019 to 2022 (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCatriona Carey was accused of failing to provide information to the CRO, to keep records or notify of a change of address, or to file financial returns (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeJack Carey is accused of providing false information and failing to provide company returns to the CRO or giving notice of a change of address (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeOut of 51 charges, 31 pertained to Catriona Carey, 8 to Jack Carey, and 12 to Paddy Maher (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCatriona Carey is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeSteadmond and Maher are charged with 17 related charges, including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe case concerns money laundering. (extra.ie)
  • courtThe DPP has directed trial on indictment, so the case will be heard in the Circuit Criminal Court. (rte.ie)
  • courtCarey was granted free legal aid and remanded on bail to Dublin District Court for service of the book of evidence on 31 January 2025. (rte.ie)
  • courtCarey appeared before Judge Monika Leech at Dublin District Court with co-defendants Paddy Maher and John Steadmond. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtCarey did not indicate a plea at the hearing. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThere was no objection to bail in Carey's bond of €500, subject to bail conditions. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtCarey was remanded on bail to appear again on January 31 to be served with the book of evidence and sent forward for trial. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtCarey appeared before a Dublin court. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtAll three were remanded on bail to appear before Dublin District Court on 31 January 2025. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtShe appeared before Judge Monika Leech at Dublin District Court on 4 December 2024. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment, meaning the case will be dealt with in the Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtCarey was remanded on bail of €500 with conditions including signing twice weekly at Kilkenny Garda station and not contacting any of the 25 prosecution witnesses. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtCarey was to appear again on 31 January to be served with the prosecution's book of evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtBoth co-defendants were charged at Kevin Street station in Dublin and sent for trial on indictment. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtShe appeared before Judge Treasa Kelly at Dublin District Court. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtShe made no reply when charged. (rte.ie, thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions decided she is to face trial on indictment. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe case was adjourned to 14 February for mention, when a book of evidence would be sought. (rte.ie)
  • courtBail was set at €500, which did not have to be lodged, with no objection from gardaí. (rte.ie)
  • courtLegal aid was granted after the defence presented a statement of her means. (rte.ie)
  • courtShe has yet to indicate a plea. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtCarey appeared before Judge Treasa Kelly at Dublin District Court. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe DPP has decided Carey is to face trial on indictment. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe case was adjourned to 14 February for mention. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtCatriona Carey appears in court facing 46 fresh charges. (extra.ie)
  • courtShe appeared before Judge Treasa Kelly at Dublin District Court on Tuesday (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP decided she is to face trial on indictment (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe case was adjourned until 14 February for mention (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtBail was set at €500, not to be lodged (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtBail conditions include residing at current address, notifying changes, supplying mobile number, remaining contactable, keeping phone charged, and 21 days' notice to leave the jurisdiction (irishtimes.com)
  • courtLegal aid was granted (irishtimes.com, rte.ie)
  • courtBail conditions include residing at her current address, supplying her mobile number, remaining contactable, keeping her phone charged, and giving 21 days' notice to leave the jurisdiction (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtLegal aid was granted after the defence solicitor presented a statement of means (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtShe appeared before Judge Treasa Kelly at Dublin District Court on Friday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtCo-defendants Paddy Maher, 57, and John Steadmond, 47, also appeared. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge Kelly granted return-for-trial orders after noting books of evidence had been served. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe three accused were sent forward to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtTheir case will be listed for mention on 20 March. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtNone of the three accused have yet to enter pleas. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtCatriona Carey has been sent forward for trial. (extra.ie)
  • courtCarey was sent forward for trial to the Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtNo date for the trial has been decided. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtThe DPP decided she would face trial on indictment in the Circuit Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge Stephanie Coggans adjourned the case until 28 March. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtShe has yet to indicate a plea and has been granted legal aid. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtHer bail was set at €500 with conditions including residing at her current address and giving 21 days' notice before leaving the jurisdiction. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtShe was sent forward for trial on money-laundering charges the previous week. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtCatriona Carey appeared in court on money laundering charges. (extra.ie)
  • courtCatriona Carey appeared before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on money laundering charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtHer barrister Kevin Roche asked for an arraignment date. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge listed the case for 30 June for arraignment. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtSteadmond and Maher received the same arraignment date as Carey. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtCaitriona Carey appeared before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on 20 March 2025. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtCarey's barrister asked for an arraignment date for her. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtThe judge, Sarah Berkeley, listed the case for arraignment on Monday, 30 June. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtThe case was listed for 30 June, when Carey will be formally asked how she pleads. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtSteadmond and Maher were given the same arraignment date. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions authorised a trial on indictment. (rte.ie)
  • courtBooks of evidence were served when the accused appeared before Judge Shalom Binchy at Dublin District Court. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe book of evidence contains 51 charges, 31 against Ms Carey, eight against her brother and 12 against Mr Maher. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe case was returned for trial to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court and listed for mention on 23 May. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe DPP authorised trial on indictment (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThey appeared before Judge Shalom Binchy at Dublin District Court on Friday (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThey were returned for trial to the next sitting of Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe case will be listed for mention on 23 May (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe trial of Catriona Carey on money-laundering charges is set for January 27, 2027, at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge Orla Crowe listed the trial for January 27, 2027. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtA trial date has been set in the money laundering case against Catriona Carey. (extra.ie)
  • otherCatriona Carey is a former Ireland hockey international and financial and business advisor. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe alleged proceeds were credit balances in a single bank account held in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe sums allegedly involved were not stated in the court documents or during oral evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherCarey was described in court as a lady of means previously but currently not, and successfully applied for free legal aid. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherCarey is from Kilkenny and a sister of former hurling star DJ Carey, with an address at Rochford Manor, Graigecullen, Co Carlow. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherShe met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin to be charged before being brought to court. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherBail was set at €500, which does not have to be lodged. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherCarey must give gardaí 21 days' notice if she intends to leave the jurisdiction. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherLegal aid was granted with no Garda objection. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherDetective Garda Robert Collins, seconded to the CEA, told the judge she made no reply when charged (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherCarey remains on bail. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • otherCarey is described as a former Kilkenny sports star who is to face trial on money laundering charges. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • otherTwo co-accused were also before the court. (kilkennypeople.ie)
  • otherThe three accused have yet to indicate pleas. (rte.ie)
  • otherThey were warned to notify prosecutors if they intended to rely on alibis (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe trio spoke only to confirm signatures on their bail bonds and have yet to indicate pleas (irishtimes.com)
  • otherConnected charges are to be added to the indictment later (irishtimes.com)
  • otherA fourth man is due back in court at a later date accused of connected offences (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe trial is expected to take four to six weeks. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCatriona Carey is a former international hockey player and former financial adviser. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 6 Jul2025
    Money laundering trial date is set for Catriona Carey

    The headline states that a trial date has been set for Catriona Carey's money laundering case. The article text is template code with no other details.

    accused, Catriona Carey, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Carey
  2. 30 Jun2025
    Date in 2027 set for Catriona Carey money-laundering trial

    Trial date set for January 27, 2027, expected to take four to six weeks; co-accused Steadmond and Maher adjourned to July 29 for further disclosure; separate company law case involving Carey, her brother Jack Carey, and Maher also adjourned to July 29 for arraignment.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 48, male, namedJohn Steadmondaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher
  3. 25 Apr2025
    Catriona Carey and brother Jack Carey sent forward for trial on company law charges

    Reports the sending forward for trial on indictment at Dublin District Court, with 51 charges split among the three accused, and the case listed for mention at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on 23 May 2025.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Jack Carey, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jack Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher
  4. 25 Apr2025
    Catriona Carey to face trial over breaking company laws

    Adds that the three co-accused were returned for trial to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, with a mention on 23 May; the 51 counts are split 31 to Ms Carey, eight to Jack Carey and 12 to Paddy Maher; the DPP authorised a trial on indictment; legal aid was granted; the accused have yet to indicate pleas; and a fourth man is due back in court later.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Jack Carey, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jack Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher
  5. 20 Mar2025
    LATEST: Caitriona Carey before court on money laundering charges - Kilkenny Live

    Reports Carey's appearance before Judge Sarah Berkeley on 20 March 2025, with her arraignment listed for 30 June. Adds that co-accused Steadmond and Maher face 17 charges each, including acting unlawfully as solicitors, and gives their addresses and ages.

    accused, Caitriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Caitriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmondaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher
  6. 20 Mar2025
    Catriona Carey appears in court on money laundering charges

    First report of Catriona Carey's court appearance; arraignment date set for 30 June 2025. Co-accused John Steadmond and Paddy Maher also before the court on 17 related charges each.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmondaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher
  7. 20 Mar2025
    Catriona Carey appears in court on money laundering charges

    The article gives only the headline and a publication date of 2025-03-20; it contains no body text, location or further details.

    accused, Catriona Carey, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Carey
  8. 14 Feb2025
    Catriona Carey trial: DPP granted six weeks to complete book of evidence

    DPP granted six-week adjournment until 28 March 2025 to complete book of evidence; Carey excused from attending; bail conditions set at €500; she has yet to indicate a plea; separately sent forward for trial on money-laundering charges the previous week.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Carey
  9. 7 Feb2025
    Caitriona Carey to face trial on money laundering charges - Kilkenny Live

    Reports that Caitriona Carey was sent forward for trial to the Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on Friday 7 February 2025, with no trial date yet set and her remaining on bail. It states she faces three offences dated 2019 to 2021 under the 2010 Act and that the GNECB investigated.

    accused, Caitriona Carey, named, irish (judged from name)Caitriona Carey
  10. 7 Feb2025
    Further details of alleged money laundering emerge as Catriona Carey sent forward for trial

    The article body is missing from the supplied text, so only the headline is available. It reports that Catriona Carey was sent forward for trial over alleged money laundering.

    accused, Catriona Carey, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Carey
  11. 7 Feb2025
    Catriona Carey sent forward for trial on money laundering charges

    First court appearance where the trio was sent forward for trial; Carey faces three money laundering counts, Maher and Steadmond face unqualified solicitor charges, and Steadmond and Maher face 17 and 23 fraud charges respectively relating to Careysfort Asset Estates.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmond
  12. 4 Feb2025
    Catriona Carey appears in court facing 46 new charges

    Details the 46 new Companies Act charges, three money laundering counts, bail conditions set at €500, and the specific charges against co-defendants Paddy Maher and John Steadmond including 17 deception counts relating to Careysfort Asset Estates.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmond
  13. 4 Feb2025
    Catriona Carey appears in court facing 46 fresh charges

    Details the 46 fresh Companies Act charges, three money laundering counts, bail conditions set at €500, co-defendants' specific charges (acting as unqualified solicitor, 17 deception counts by Steadmond involving 21 people and Careysfort Asset Estates), and adjournment to 14 February 2025 for mention.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmond
  14. 4 Feb2025
    Catriona Carey appears in court as she faces 46 fresh charges

    Article body is page template code with no news text; only the headline gives facts. The headline does not match any existing case clearly enough to link.

    accused, Catriona Carey, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Carey
  15. 4 Feb2025
    Former Ireland hockey player Catriona Carey facing 46 new charges after garda investigation

    Adds the charge details, the Garda and Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation, the judge, bail and bail conditions, the adjournment to 14 February, and the co-accused Paddy Maher and John Steadmond with their charges.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, namedJohn Steadmond
  16. 4 Feb2025
    Carey faces 46 new charges over breaking company law

    Adds the 4 February 2025 court appearance before Judge Treasa Kelly: 46 charges, the Director of Public Prosecutions decision that she is to face trial on indictment, adjournment to 14 February for mention, and bail set at €500 with legal aid granted.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Carey
  17. 4 Dec2024
    Catriona Carey to stand trial on money laundering charges

    First court appearance where Carey was sent forward for trial on indictment; co-defendants Maher and Steadmond also sent for trial. Bail conditions set for all three. DPP directed trial in the Circuit Court.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmond
  18. 4 Dec2024
    Kilkenny woman Catriona Carey charged with money laundering offences

    Reports the 4 December 2024 court appearance, the charges against Carey and the two co-accused, and the remand to 31 January 2025.

    accused, Catriona Carey, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, John Steadman, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmanaccused, Paddy Maher, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher
  19. 4 Dec2024
    Former Ireland hockey player Catriona Carey to face trial on money laundering charges

    Reports the 4 December 2024 District Court appearance, the bail conditions, the co-defendants' charges and the DPP's direction for trial on indictment.

    accused, Catríona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catríona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, namedJohn Steadmond
  20. 4 Dec2024
    Catriona Carey charged with money laundering offences

    RTÉ report of the first court appearance on 4 December 2024. Adds the arrest at Kilmainham Garda Station, the 25 alleged victims, the trial-on-indictment direction, the remand to 31 January 2025, and the charges against co-accused John Steadmond and Patrick Maher.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 47, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmondaccused, Patrick Maher, 57, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Maher