Case No. 7188Money laundering · Co. Dublin

Trial date set for Catriona Carey money-laundering case

Catriona Carey, a 46-year-old woman of Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow, and a former international hockey player, is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010, alleged to have occurred in 2019, 2020 and 2021. The counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. Co-accused John Steadmond (48) and Paddy Maher face 17 related charges, including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified. On June 30, 2025, Judge Orla Crowe at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court listed Ms Carey's trial for January 27, 2027, expected to take four to six weeks, and the co-accused were adjourned to July 29 for further disclosure.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court30 Jun
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Catriona Carey is charged with three counts of handling, acquiring or otherwise dealing with proceeds of criminal conduct.
  • All three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA.
When
The alleged offences occurred in 2019, 2020 and 2021.
Where
Ms Carey is of Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow.
Charges
  • Ms Carey is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010.
  • Steadmond and Maher are charged with 17 related charges, including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified.
In court
  • Judge Orla Crowe at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court listed Ms Carey's trial for January 27, 2027.
  • Steadmond and Maher were adjourned to July 29 for further disclosure.
  • A separate company law case involving Ms Carey, her brother Jack Carey and Maher was adjourned to July 29 for arraignment.
Other details
  • The trial is expected to take four to six weeks.
  • Ms Carey is a former international hockey player and former financial adviser.
  • Ms Carey was present in court, and her barrister was Kevin Roche.
9 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatIn each case, she allegedly handled, acquired, or otherwise dealt with proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatAll three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe alleged offences occurred in 2019, 2020, and 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCatriona Carey is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeSteadmond and Maher are charged with 17 related charges, including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe trial of Catriona Carey on money-laundering charges is set for January 27, 2027, at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge Orla Crowe listed the trial for January 27, 2027. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe trial is expected to take four to six weeks. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCatriona Carey is a former international hockey player and former financial adviser. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 30 Jun2025
    Date in 2027 set for Catriona Carey money-laundering trial

    Trial date set for January 27, 2027, expected to take four to six weeks; co-accused Steadmond and Maher adjourned to July 29 for further disclosure; separate company law case involving Carey, her brother Jack Carey, and Maher also adjourned to July 29 for arraignment.

    accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 48, male, namedJohn Steadmondaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher