Case No. 1158Possession of proceeds of criminal conduct (money laundering) · Co. Dublin · 7 Aug 2025

Three men remanded after €1.28 million in cash seized in south Dublin

On 7 and 8 August 2025, the Dublin Crime Response Team carried out an operation in south Dublin targeting an organised crime group involved in controlled drugs and money laundering, seizing a total of €1,283,935 in cash from a car in Donnybrook and from property searches, and recovering a handgun and ammunition in Smithfield Square. Three men were arrested: Chinese national Kwan Wang (36), Vladislavs Temmis (54, from Latvia), and Ik Joo Kang (47, from South Korea). Each faces two counts of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010, carrying a maximum sentence of 14 years, and Temmis is additionally detained under Section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act 1939. At Dublin District Court on 9 August 2025, all three deferred their bail applications and were remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court the following week.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrested8 Aug
    3 reports
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court9 Aug
    3 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • The Dublin Crime Response Team carried out an operation on 7 and 8 August 2025 targeting an organised crime group involved in the sale and supply of controlled drugs and money laundering in Dublin.
  • A total of €1,283,935 in cash was seized, comprising €197,760 from a car in Donnybrook, Dublin 4, and €1,086,175 from searches of south Dublin properties including a Dublin 2 hotel room and an address on Brewery Road, Stillorgan.
  • A handgun and a quantity of ammunition were recovered by Gardaí from the Bridewell Community Response Team during a foot patrol in Smithfield Square, Dublin 7.
When
The car was stopped and searched on Thursday 7 August 2025, and the gun was discovered at around 5:50pm on Friday 8 August 2025.
Investigation
All three men were detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984 at Garda stations in Dublin, and the firearm was forwarded to the Garda Technical Bureau for ballistic examination.
Charges
Each of the three men faces two counts under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010 for possessing proceeds of criminal conduct, and Temmis is additionally detained under Section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act 1939.
In court
The three men appeared before Judge Stephanie Coggans at Dublin District Court on Saturday 9 August 2025, deferred their bail applications, and were remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court the following week.
Sentence
The maximum sentence for the money laundering charge is 14 years.
Other details
  • Kwan Wang (36, Chinese, lives in Hong Kong) and Vladislavs Temmis (54, from Latvia) made no reply when charged, while Ik Joo Kang (47, from South Korea) said he would not accept the charge.
  • The three men do not have stated addresses in Ireland, and Judge Coggans ordered that interpreters be available at their next hearings.
70 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe operation targeted an organised crime group involved in the sale and supply of controlled drugs and money laundering activities in the Dublin area (garda.ie)
  • what€197,760 in cash was seized from the car (garda.ie)
  • whatAn additional €1,086,175 in cash was seized from South Dublin properties (garda.ie)
  • whatThe total amount of cash seized in the investigation was €1,283,935 (garda.ie)
  • whatThree men were arrested over €1.28 million in cash seized following a Garda operation (irishtimes.com)
  • whatA man in his 50s was arrested and €197,760 in cash was seized on Thursday (irishtimes.com)
  • whatTwo men in their 30s and 40s were arrested in a follow-up operation in Dublin 2 on the same day (irishtimes.com)
  • whatAn additional €1,086,175 in cash was seized during searches of south Dublin properties (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe total amount of cash seized was €1,283,935 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatA gun and ammunition was discovered by gardai on foot patrol in Dublin city centre (dublinlive.ie)
  • whatA handgun and a quantity of ammunition were recovered during the search (dublinlive.ie)
  • whatThe man in his 50s was arrested at the scene (dublinlive.ie)
  • whatThree men were arrested after gardaí seized €1.28 million in suspected crime earnings in south Dublin (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe arrests were part of an operation targeting an organised crime group (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
  • what€197,760 was found in the car at Donnybrook (irishtimes.com, dublinlive.ie)
  • whatAn additional €1,086,175 in cash was seized during follow-up searches in south Dublin (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe total amount of money recovered was €1,283,935 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe two co-defendants are accused of possessing the €197,760 in a 2025-registered vehicle at Donnybrook Road (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThree men were remanded in custody after €1.28M in suspected crime earnings was seized in south Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatAll three held off on moving bail applications. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGardaí found €197,760 in the car and arrested one man. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatFollow-up searches in south Dublin seized an additional €1,086,175 in cash. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe total amount of money recovered in the investigation was €1,283,935. (irishmirror.ie)
  • what€1,283,935 in cash was seized in total (dublinlive.ie)
  • whereA car was stopped and searched in the Donnybrook, Dublin 4 area (garda.ie)
  • whereA follow-up operation was conducted in Dublin 2 on the same day (garda.ie)
  • whereThe first arrest and car search took place in Donnybrook, Dublin 4 (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe search took place in the Smithfield Square area of Dublin 7 (dublinlive.ie)
  • whereGardaí with the Dublin Crime Response Team stopped and searched a car in Donnybrook, Dublin 4, on Thursday (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whereMr Temmis allegedly had €197,760 at Donnybrook Road, Dublin 4 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whereMr Temmis allegedly had a further €27,500 at an address on Brewery Road, Stillorgan, south Dublin (irishtimes.com)
  • whereMr Ik and Mr Kwan also had €1,058,675 in a Dublin 2 hotel room (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe men appeared before Judge Stephanie Coggans at Dublin District Court on Saturday. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereMr Temmis allegedly had a further €27,500 at an address on Brewery Road, Stillorgan. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe co-defendants are accused of possessing €197,760 in a 2025-registered motor vehicle at Donnybrook Road. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereMr Kang and Wang also allegedly had €1,058,675 in a Dublin 2 hotel room. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereTemmises allegedly had €197,760 at Donnybrook Road, Dublin 4 (dublinlive.ie)
  • whereTemmises allegedly had €27,500 at an address on Brewery Road, Stillorgan (dublinlive.ie)
  • whereKang and Wang allegedly had €1,058,675 in a Dublin 2 hotel room (dublinlive.ie)
  • whenThe car search took place on Thursday 7 August 2025 (garda.ie)
  • whenThe discovery was made at around 5:50pm on Friday 8 August 2025 (dublinlive.ie)
  • investigationAll three men were detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984 at Garda Stations in the Dublin Region (garda.ie)
  • investigationThe operation was carried out by the Dublin Crime Response Team on Thursday and Friday targeting an organised crime group (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationAll three men were detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984 at Garda stations in Dublin (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe firearm was forwarded to the Garda Technical Bureau for ballistic examination (dublinlive.ie)
  • investigationGardaí from the Bridewell Community Response Team conducted the patrols (dublinlive.ie)
  • investigationInvestigations are ongoing (dublinlive.ie)
  • chargeHe is detained under Section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act, 1939 (dublinlive.ie)
  • chargeEach defendant faces two counts under section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010 for possessing proceeds of criminal conduct (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeEach defendant faces two counts under section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010 (dublinlive.ie)
  • courtThe three men were due to appear before the Criminal Courts of Justice on Saturday 9 August 2025 at approximately 10.30am (garda.ie)
  • courtThe three men were expected to appear before the Criminal Courts of Justice on Saturday morning at about 10.30am (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThey appeared before Judge Stephanie Coggans at Dublin District Court on Saturday (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThey were remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court the following week (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe men were remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court the following week. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtJudge Coggans ordered that interpreters be available to assist at their next hearings. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe three were remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court the following week (dublinlive.ie)
  • courtJudge Coggans ordered interpreters be available at the next hearings (dublinlive.ie)
  • sentenceThe maximum sentence for the charge is 14 years (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe offence carries a maximum 14-year sentence. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
  • otherAssistant Commissioner Cliona Richardson stated the seizure would impact the ability of those involved to cause harm in communities (garda.ie)
  • otherAssistant Commissioner Cliona Richardson said the seizure would remove ill-gotten gains and deprive criminals of money to fund further criminal activities (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe three men do not have stated addresses in the Republic (irishtimes.com)
  • otherMr Kwan and Mr Temmis made no reply when charged (irishtimes.com)
  • otherBarrister Kevin McCrave confirmed his clients would also defer their bail applications (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe court adjourned ruling on free legal aid after Garda Tyrell said Mr Kwan was wearing a jacket believed to be worth €500 (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe three men do not have stated addresses in Ireland. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
  • otherMr Wang and Mr Temmis made no reply when charged. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherGarda Tyrell pointed out that Mr Wang was wearing a jacket believed to be worth €500 during the free legal aid discussion. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherKang responded to the charge by saying he would not accept it (dublinlive.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 9 Aug2025
    Three remanded in custody after €1.28 million in cash seized in Dublin

    Details of the three defendants, the specific amounts and locations of cash seized, the charges under the Money Laundering Act, and the court proceedings including deferred bail applications and remand to Cloverhill District Court.

    suspect, Kwan Wang, 36, male, Chinese, named, non-irishKwan Wangsuspect, Vladislavs Temmis, 54, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Vladislavs Temmissuspect, Ik Joo Kang, 47, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ik Joo Kang
  2. 9 Aug2025
    Three men remanded after €1.28M crime cash seized

    First court appearance of the three accused; all deferred bail applications and were remanded to Cloverhill District Court. Details of the seizure locations, the specific amounts attributed to each defendant, and their responses when charged are provided.

    accused, Kwan Wang, 36, male, Chinese, named, non-irishKwan Wangaccused, Vladislavs Temmis, 54, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Vladislavs Temmisaccused, Ik Joo Kang, 47, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ik Joo Kang
  3. 9 Aug2025
    Trio remanded after nearly €1.3m in suspected crime earnings seized

    First court appearance; three men remanded in custody to Cloverhill District Court; charges under section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010; total seizure of €1,283,935 across multiple locations in south Dublin.

    suspect, Kwan Wang, 36, male, Chinese, named, non-irishKwan Wangsuspect, Vladislavs Temmis, 54, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Vladislavs Temmissuspect, Ik Joo Kang, 47, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ik Joo Kang
  4. 9 Aug2025
    Gun and ammunition discovered by Gardai on foot patrol in Dublin city centre

    Initial report of the arrest and discovery of the handgun and ammunition during a proactive foot patrol.

    suspect, 50s, male
  5. 9 Aug2025
    Three arrested and more than €1.28m seized in Garda operation in Dublin

    Provides details of the DCRT operation including specific cash amounts seized at each stage (€197,760 in Donnybrook, €1,086,175 from south Dublin properties), arrest locations, and Assistant Commissioner Cliona Richardson's statement on the seizure.

    suspect, 50s, malesuspect, 30s, malesuspect, 40s, male
  6. 8 Aug2025
    DCRT Arrest Three (3) Men and Seize €1.28 Million Cash, South Dublin, 7th - 8th August 2025

    Garda press release providing the operational details of the arrest and seizure, including the breakdown of cash taken (€197,760 from a car search in Donnybrook and €1,086,175 from property searches) and the AC's statement on the significance of the seizure.

    suspect, 50s, malesuspect, 30s, malesuspect, 40s, male