Tesco pleads guilty to failing to comply with consumer protection law
Tesco Ireland Limited, a company, failed to include unit pricing on Clubcard promotional shelf-edge labels, a breach identified during a Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC) inspection in August 2023. Tesco said it introduced unit pricing for Clubcard prices in February of this year. Tesco Ireland Limited pleaded guilty to two sample counts of failing to comply with consumer protection law. Judge Anthony Halpin applied the Probation Act, and Tesco was ordered to pay the CCPC's legal costs and a €1,000 donation to the Little Flower Penny Dinners charity, as reported on 27 June 2024.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced27 Jun
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Tesco failed to include unit pricing on Clubcard promotional shelf-edge labels.
- When
- The breaches were identified during a CCPC inspection in August 2023.
- Investigation
- The case followed an investigation by the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission.
- Charges
- Tesco Ireland Limited pleaded guilty to two sample counts of failing to comply with consumer protection law.
- In court
- The case was heard by Judge Anthony Halpin.
- Judge Anthony Halpin applied the Probation Act.
- Sentence
- Tesco was ordered to pay the CCPC's legal costs and a €1,000 donation to the Little Flower Penny Dinners charity.
- Other details
- Tesco said it introduced unit pricing for Clubcard prices in February of this year.
7 statements extracted from the articles
- whatTesco failed to include unit pricing on Clubcard promotional shelf-edge labels. (gript.ie)
- whenThe breaches were identified during a CCPC inspection in August 2023. (gript.ie)
- investigationThe case followed an investigation by the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission. (gript.ie)
- courtTesco Ireland Limited pleaded guilty to two sample counts of failing to comply with consumer protection law. (gript.ie)
- courtThe case was heard by Judge Anthony Halpin, who applied the Probation Act. (gript.ie)
- sentenceTesco was ordered to pay the CCPC's legal costs and a €1,000 donation to the Little Flower Penny Dinners charity. (gript.ie)
- otherTesco said it introduced unit pricing for Clubcard prices in February of this year. (gript.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 27 Jun2024Tesco pleads guilty to failing to comply with consumer protection law - Gript
Reports the guilty plea, the Probation Act disposal, the costs and donation order, and the CCPC investigation that followed an August 2023 inspection.
convicted, Tesco Ireland Limited, namedTesco Ireland Limited