Tesco Ireland pleads guilty over Clubcard price display
Tesco Ireland was found by the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC), after an inspection in August 2023, to have failed to include unit pricing on Clubcard promotional shelf-edge labels. The articles do not give the court location. On 24 June 2024 Tesco Ireland pleaded guilty to two sample counts of failing to comply with consumer protection law. Judge Anthony Halpin ordered the company to pay the CCPC's legal costs and make a €1,000 donation to the Little Flower Penny Dinners charity in Dublin.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced24 Jun
2 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Tesco Ireland, a supermarket chain, pleaded guilty to failing to correctly display promotional prices to customers with Clubcards.
- Charges
- Tesco Ireland pleaded guilty to two sample counts of failing to comply with consumer protection law.
- Cause
- The CCPC said Tesco failed to include unit pricing on Clubcard promotional shelf-edge labels.
- When
- The breaches were identified during a CCPC inspection in August 2023.
- Investigation
- The case followed an investigation by the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC).
- Where
- The donation charity, Little Flower Penny Dinners, is based in Dublin; the articles do not name the court location.
- In court
- Judge Anthony Halpin handed down the ruling on 24 June 2024.
- Sentence
- Judge Anthony Halpin ordered Tesco to pay the CCPC's legal costs.
- Judge Anthony Halpin ordered Tesco to make a €1,000 donation to the Little Flower Penny Dinners charity.
- Other details
- Unit pricing lets consumers compare the cost of similar products sold in different sizes.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatTesco Ireland pleaded guilty to two sample counts of failing to comply with consumer protection law. (corkbeo.ie)
- whatTesco Ireland pleaded guilty to failing to correctly display promotional prices to customers with Clubcards. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe breaches were identified during a CCPC inspection in August 2023. (corkbeo.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- causeTesco failed to include unit pricing on Clubcard promotional shelf-edge labels. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe prosecution followed a CCPC inspection in August 2023. (corkbeo.ie)
- investigationThe case followed an investigation by the Competition and Consumer Protection Commission. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeTesco was found to have failed to include unit pricing on Clubcard promotional shelf-edge labels. (corkbeo.ie)
- chargeTesco pleaded guilty to two sample counts of failing to comply with consumer protection law. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Anthony Halpin handed down the ruling. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceJudge Anthony Halpin ordered Tesco to pay the CCPC's legal fees and make a €1,000 donation to a Dublin charity. (corkbeo.ie)
- sentenceTesco was ordered to pay the legal costs of the CCPC. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceTesco was ordered to make a €1,000 donation to the Little Flower Penny Dinners charity. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherUnit pricing lets consumers compare the cost of similar products sold in different sizes. (corkbeo.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 24 Jun2024Tesco Ireland pleads guilty to failing to correctly display Clubcard prices
Reports the guilty plea, the court ruling by Judge Anthony Halpin, the costs order and the €1,000 charity donation. The breaches were found in a CCPC inspection in August 2023.
- 24 Jun2024Tesco Ireland pleads guilty over failing to correctly display Clubcard prices
Reports the guilty plea, the sample counts, the CCPC's findings, and the court order to pay legal fees and a €1,000 donation to Little Flower Penny Dinners. The article does not name the court location.