Teen facing rape and child pornography charges sent for trial to Central Criminal Court
A 15-year-old boy, who was 14 at the time of the alleged offences, was sent for trial to the Central Criminal Court on two charges of rape and one charge of production of child pornography in Dublin. The case is being processed under a juvenile protocol with a 12-month timeline to complete the trial.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged22 Apr
- In court22 Apr
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports32 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGary Hutch, a former cartel associate, was shot dead in Spain in September 2015. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe Hutch gang tried to murder Kinahan at the Regency Hotel in Dublin in 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe boy was 14 years old at the time of the alleged offences. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe boy is now 15 years old. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe boy was 14 at the time of the alleged offences and is now 15. (irishtimes.com)
- whatHe faces two charges of rape at a location in Dublin on a single date last year. (irishtimes.com)
- whatHe is also accused of the production of child pornography on the same day. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí believe they have secured evidence proving Kinahan has been in an unparalleled position of power and influence at the top of Irish organised crime, with most evidence relating to 2015 to 2017. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationMessages directing extreme violence believed to have been written by Kinahan were found on encrypted Blackberry devices seized during feud-related arrest operations in Dublin in 2017. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe boy was charged after the DPP issued instructions to gardaí at a Dublin Divisional Protective Service Unit. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationHe was charged after the DPP issued instructions to gardaí at a Dublin Divisional Protective Services Unit. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe single approved charge is directing the activities of a criminal organisation, arising from a Garda inquiry completed in the summer of 2023, carrying a term of life imprisonment on conviction. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe boy faces two charges of rape at a location in Dublin on a single date in 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThe boy is also accused of production of child pornography on the same day. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtDaniel Kinahan is set to go on trial at the Special Criminal Court in Dublin on a single criminal charge. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe boy appeared at Dublin Children's Court, which does not have jurisdiction to hear the case due to the rape allegation. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtDetective Garda Alan Young served the boy with a book of evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Paul Kelly granted a return for trial order sending the boy forward to the Central Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtA date has yet to be scheduled for the next court hearing, expected during the current law term ending May 21. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtLegal aid was granted including senior counsel due to the seriousness of the case. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- courtThe boy has not entered a plea. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe boy must notify prosecutors within 14 days if he intends to use an alibi in his defence. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe boy has been complying with bail terms including no contact with the complainant. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case is being processed under a juvenile protocol to expedite serious cases involving young people under 18. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Paul Kelly granted a return for trial order sending the boy to the Central Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe protocol involves the Department of Justice, the judiciary, An Garda Síochána, the DPP, the Courts Service, Tusla, the HSE, and Oberstown Children's Detention Campus. (irishtimes.com)
- otherRewards of up to $5 million for information leading to the arrest and convictions of the Kinahans remain on offer from US law enforcement. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe inter-agency protocol was introduced in 2024 and has a 12-month timeline to complete a trial including a verdict. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe protocol applies to minors who are defendants or victims in relation to offences that can only be tried in the Central Criminal Court, specifically rape or murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHe must notify prosecutors within 14 days if he intends to use an alibi in his defence. (irishtimes.com)
- otherNo evidence surrounding the allegations was given at this stage. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 22 Apr2026Teen facing rape and child pornography charges sent for trial to Central Criminal Court
First report of the case. Boy sent for trial to Central Criminal Court from Dublin Children's Court; legal aid granted including senior counsel; case processed under the 2024 juvenile protocol.
victim, femaleaccused, 15, male - 22 Apr2026Boy accused of rape when he was 14 sent forward for trial
First report of the case; the boy was sent forward for trial at the Central Criminal Court under a juvenile protocol, with legal aid including senior counsel granted and no plea entered.
victim, femaleaccused, 15, male - 22 Apr2026Daniel Kinahan expected to face single charge, with evidence relating to murder, drugs and laundering
Preview of Daniel Kinahan's upcoming trial, detailing the single DPP-approved charge, the evidence to be presented (encrypted messages, drug trafficking, money laundering), the international coalition behind the investigation, and his arrest in Dubai on 17 April 2026.
accused, Daniel Kinahan, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)Daniel Kinahan