Suspected €100K Kildare drugs case adjourned for DPP directions
On 21 December 2022 gardaí allege that Patrick O' Halloran, a 62-year-old man with an address listed in Dara Park, Newbridge, County Kildare, stored about €100,000 of suspected drugs at his home, including €80,000 of suspected cannabis in the hot press and €20,000 in the kitchen. Gardaí informed the court of the case on 12 January 2023. A money-laundering charge is being considered against him. On 7 March 2024 the case was marked peremptory against the State in Naas District Court and adjourned to July 4 for DPP directions, which were not yet ready.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court12 Mar
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Gardaí allege €80,000 worth of suspected cannabis was stored in the hot press of the accused's home.
- Gardaí allegedly found a further €20,000 worth of suspected cannabis in the kitchen.
- Where
- The accused's address is listed as a house in Dara Park, Newbridge, County Kildare.
- When
- The accused is said to have stored the drugs at his home on 21 December 2022.
- Gardaí informed the judge of the case on 12 January 2023.
- Investigation
- Gardaí allegedly found €32,000 in cash and around €6,000 of suspected diamorphine.
- A garda sergeant alleged the diamorphine was heroin.
- Charges
- Patrick O' Halloran is accused of storing the drugs at his home.
- A money-laundering charge against the accused is being considered.
- In court
- The solicitor applied for a strike-out due to delays in the case.
- On the latest court date before March 2024, DPP directions were still not ready.
- On 7 March 2024 the case was marked peremptory against the State in Naas District Court and adjourned to July 4 for DPP directions.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGardaí allege €80,000 worth of suspected cannabis was stored in the hot press of the accused's home. (kildarenow.com)
- whatGardaí allegedly found a further €20,000 worth of suspected cannabis in the kitchen. (kildarenow.com)
- whereThe accused's address is listed as a house in Dara Park, Newbridge. (kildarenow.com)
- whenThe accused is said to have stored the drugs at his home on 21 December 2022. (kildarenow.com)
- whenGardaí informed the judge of the case on 12 January 2023. (kildarenow.com)
- investigationGardaí allegedly found €32,000 in cash and around €6,000 of suspected diamorphine. (kildarenow.com)
- investigationA garda sergeant alleged the diamorphine was heroin. (kildarenow.com)
- chargeThe accused is accused of storing the drugs at his home. (kildarenow.com)
- chargeA money-laundering charge against the accused is being considered. (kildarenow.com)
- courtThe solicitor applied for a strike-out due to delays in the case. (kildarenow.com)
- courtOn the latest court date, DPP directions were still not ready. (kildarenow.com)
- courtThe case was heard again and marked peremptory against the State in Naas District Court on Thursday, March 7. (kildarenow.com)
- courtThe judge adjourned the case to July 4 for DPP directions and marked it peremptory against the State. (kildarenow.com)
The reporting
newest first- 12 Mar2024UPDATE: Suspected €100K Kildare drugs case marked peremptory against the State
Update on a case first heard in January 2023. On 7 March 2024 the court marked it peremptory against the State and adjourned it to July 4 for DPP directions; the DPP directions were not yet ready. The article also says a money-laundering charge is being considered.
accused, Patrick O' Halloran, 62, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick O' Halloran