Case No. 1008Drink driving · 21 Aug 2022

Supreme Court reserves judgment on drink-driving appeal

A man was convicted of drink driving in January 2024 after a blood sample taken at 00:37 on 21 August 2022 showed 126ml of alcohol per 100ml of blood, more than twice the legal limit of 50ml. The High Court overturned the conviction and two-year driving ban in late July 2025, ruling that the statutory presumption in the Road Traffic Act did not extend to the chain of custody after the specimen container was sealed. The DPP appealed, and the Supreme Court agreed to hear the case in December 2025, citing matters of general public importance. The Supreme Court heard the appeal in March 2026 and reserved its judgment to a later date, with hundreds of drink-driving cases on hold pending the outcome.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court15 Sep
    3 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
A man was convicted of drink driving in January 2024 after a blood sample showed 126ml of alcohol per 100ml of blood, more than twice the legal limit of 50ml.
When
The blood specimen was taken at 00:37 on 21 August 2022.
Other details
  • The garda sealed the specimen container and posted it to the Medical Bureau of Road Safety for analysis but did not provide direct evidence about the container's whereabouts before posting or who had access to it.
  • The ruling has led to hundreds of drink-driving cases being put on hold pending the Supreme Court outcome.
  • The courts deal with up to 7,000 drink-driving prosecutions annually based on blood or urine specimens.
In court
  • The High Court overturned the man's January 2024 drink-driving conviction and two-year driving ban in late July 2025, ruling the statutory presumption in the Road Traffic Act did not extend to the chain of custody after the container was sealed.
  • The DPP appealed the High Court decision, and the Supreme Court agreed to hear the appeal in December 2025, citing matters of general public importance.
  • The Supreme Court heard the DPP's appeal in March 2026 and reserved its judgment to a later date.
23 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe MBRS certified the specimen contained 126ml of alcohol per 100ml of blood, more than twice the legal limit of 50ml (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe man's blood specimen was taken at 00:37 on August 21, 2022 (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe man's blood specimen was taken at 00:37 on 21 August 2022. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe garda witness did not provide direct evidence about the whereabouts of the container before it was posted (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP is set to appeal a High Court decision affecting thousands of drink-driving prosecutions (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMs Justice Sara Phelan held the man was entitled to an order overturning his January 2024 drink-driving conviction (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP has 28 days to appeal after final orders are made in October (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe District Court refused to dismiss the case (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMs Justice Phelan ruled the statutory presumption did not extend to covering the chain of custody after the container was sealed (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe Supreme Court agreed to hear the DPP's appeal over a ruling affecting drink-driving prosecutions. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtA panel of three judges agreed to hear the appeal, citing matters of general public importance. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe High Court ruled the statutory presumption did not extend to covering the chain of custody after the container was sealed. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe Supreme Court reserved its judgment to a later date (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe High Court ruled that statutory presumptions did not extend to the chain of custody after the container was sealed (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe man received a two-year driving ban (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCourts handle up to 7,000 drink-driving prosecutions based on blood or urine specimens each year (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe Medical Bureau of Road Safety certified the specimen contained 126ml of alcohol per 100ml blood, exceeding the legal limit of 50ml (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe Medical Bureau of Road Safety certified the specimen contained 126ml of alcohol per 100ml blood, over the legal limit of 50ml per 100ml. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe courts deal with up to 7,000 drink-driving prosecutions annually based on blood or urine specimens. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe High Court judgment has led to hundreds of cases being put on hold pending the Supreme Court outcome. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe garda witness did not provide direct evidence about the whereabouts of the container before it was posted or who had access to it. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe appeal concerns legal requirements for custody of blood and urine specimens before analysis by the MBRS (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe courts annually deal with up to 7,000 drink-driving prosecutions based on blood or urine specimens (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 10 Mar2026
    Supreme Court urged to overturn ‘problematic’ ruling regarding drink-driving cases

    Supreme Court hearing of the DPP's appeal; judgment reserved to a later date.

    accused, male
  2. 18 Dec2025
    Supreme Court to hear DPP appeal over ruling affecting thousands of drink driving cases

    Reports that the Supreme Court has agreed to hear the DPP's appeal, and provides details of the underlying case including the chain of custody issue, the High Court's reasoning, and the broader impact on drink-driving prosecutions.

    convicted, male
  3. 15 Sep2025
    DPP to appeal court ruling affecting thousands of drink-driving prosecutions

    Reports the DPP's intention to appeal the High Court ruling and details the chain-of-custody issue that led to the man's drink-driving conviction being overturned.

    accused, male