Case No. 3100Murder (facilitating a criminal organisation) · Co. Dublin

Supreme Court reserves judgment in Jason Bonney's appeal over Regency Hotel murder conviction

The Supreme Court reserved its judgment on 12 May 2026 in the appeal by Jason Bonney, who was convicted in 2023 of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in the 2016 murder of David Byrne at Dublin's Regency Hotel. The appeal centres on whether the trial court correctly treated defence evidence about a black BMW as alibi evidence, allowing the prosecution to call a rebuttal witness.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court12 May
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced12 May
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
28 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe man pleaded guilty to breaching a safety order at the Four Courts, Dublin, in July 2019. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe injured party was the defendant in a case listed in the Four Courts. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe woman was attacked by up to 15 women in the vicinity of the Supreme Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe defendant and approximately five other men were on the outskirts of the disorder, and he was shouting and encouraging the incident. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe woman had cuts to her face and neck and was treated at hospital for cuts and bruises. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe murder of David Byrne occurred in February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeBonney and Murphy were convicted of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP directed summary disposal but jurisdiction was refused by the District Court judge. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtKeith Spencer was defending and Eimear Delargy was prosecuting. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe Supreme Court reserved its judgment in Bonney's appeal. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtBoth men were tried from January to April 2023 alongside Gerard Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe court acquitted Gerard Hutch of the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe Court of Appeal rejected the appeals by Bonney and Murphy in November 2025. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe Supreme Court agreed to hear Bonney's further appeal in March 2026. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe trial court found Bonney guilty of facilitating the Hutch gang by providing access to the black BMW. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe defence witnesses were Julie McGlynn and Peter Tyrell. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe prosecution called Paul Byrne as a rebuttal witness. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceJudge Orla Crowe imposed a six-month sentence, suspended in full on strict conditions. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceBonney was jailed for 8 and a half years. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceMurphy was jailed for nine years. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe maximum sentence for the offence is 12 months in custody. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe safety order was dated June 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe woman has a large following on social media. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe safety order was renewed and remains in place. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe man came to Ireland from Nigeria in the late 1990s, later obtaining asylum then subsequently citizenship. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherHe has four children, one of whom died more than 10 years ago. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe investigating garda agreed the man was not involved in the violence. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherBonney is incarcerated at Wheatfield Prison and joined the hearing via video-link. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 12 May2026
    Supreme Court reserves judgment in appeal over conviction of Regency getaway driver

    Supreme Court hearing of Bonney's appeal on 12 May 2026; judgment reserved. Details of the legal argument over alibi evidence and the composition of the five-judge panel are provided.

    victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 63, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyaccused, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch
  2. 12 May2026
    Man breached safety order to attend court case of woman with large social media following

    Reports the sentencing at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. Judge Orla Crowe imposed a six-month sentence suspended in full on strict conditions, calling it a 'deliberate contravention' of the safety order dated June 2018. The man, who cannot be named to protect his former partner's anonymity, came to Ireland from Nigeria in the late 1990s and later obtained citizenship.

    convicted, 64, male, non-irish (judged from name)victim, female