Supreme Court dismisses getaway driver's appeal in Dublin Regency murder case
David Byrne, a 33-year-old Kinahan cartel member, was shot dead during a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel in Dublin on 5 February 2016, when gunmen in fake Garda uniforms and one in drag stormed the hotel in pursuit of Daniel Kinahan, 48, who escaped unharmed. Jason Bonney, 55, and Paul Murphy, 64, were convicted by the Special Criminal Court in April 2023 of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder by providing getaway vehicles, and were sentenced in May 2023 to eight-and-a-half and nine years respectively. The Court of Appeal rejected their conviction appeals in November 2025 and their sentence appeals in July 2026. The Supreme Court dismissed Bonney's further appeal over his conviction in July 2026, finding he suffered no injustice from the trial court's treatment of alibi evidence.
- Reported3 Apr
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court10 May
13 reports - Verdict20 Apr
6 reports - Sentenced12 May
5 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- David Byrne, a 33-year-old Kinahan cartel member, was shot dead during a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel in Dublin on 5 February 2016.
- Gunmen in fake Garda ERU uniforms and one dressed in drag stormed the hotel in pursuit of Daniel Kinahan, 48, who escaped unharmed.
- Where
- The attack took place at the Regency Hotel on Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9.
- When
- The shooting occurred at 2:32pm on 5 February 2016.
- Weapon
- The gunmen were armed with what appeared to be AK-47 rifles.
- Cause
- The attack was orchestrated by the Hutch criminal organisation, reportedly in revenge for the killing of Gary Hutch in Spain by Kinahan cartel members.
- Charges
- Jason Bonney and Paul Murphy were convicted of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder of David Byrne by providing getaway vehicles.
- In court
- Gerard Hutch was acquitted of the murder by the Special Criminal Court in April 2023 after a 52-day trial.
- The Court of Appeal rejected Bonney's and Murphy's conviction appeals in November 2025 and their sentence appeals in July 2026.
- The Supreme Court dismissed Bonney's further appeal over his conviction in July 2026.
- Sentence
- Bonney was sentenced to eight-and-a-half years and Murphy to nine years in May 2023, with a headline sentence of ten years.
- Other details
- Kevin Murray, known as Flat Cap, who was seen on CCTV with a handgun during the attack, died of motor neuron disease in 2017 before he could face trial.
- The DPP declined to charge Patsy Hutch in 2024, effectively ending the Garda probe into the attack.
326 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe case concerns a murder referred to as the Regency murder. (extra.ie)
- whatTwo men were convicted of providing getaway vehicles for the Regency Hotel attack. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDavid Byrne, a Kinahan gang member, was shot dead in the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- whatBonney is 52 years old. (irishtimes.com)
- whatGerard Hutch left Ireland for Spain a month after his acquittal for involvement in the Regency Hotel attack. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDavid Byrne was shot dead by gunmen dressed as gardaí. (irishtimes.com)
- whatJonathan Dowdall was jailed for facilitating the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDowdall continued to assist after the murder by driving the person he gave the room key cards to back and forth to Northern Ireland as late as 7 March 2016. (thejournal.ie)
- whatJonathan Dowdall drove his father to the Regency Hotel on the evening before the attack. (thejournal.ie)
- whatA phone associated with Jonathan Dowdall used a mast at the Regency Hotel. (thejournal.ie)
- whatGardaí established the person using the room in the Regency Hotel was Kevin Murray, who had known paramilitary connections with the IRA. (thejournal.ie)
- whatKevin Murray was seen on CCTV footage with a handgun held aloft during the attack. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe Court of Appeal dismissed Jonathan Dowdall's bid to have his jail time reduced. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDowdall pleaded guilty to making a room available to the Hutch gang at the Regency Hotel. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDavid Byrne, a Kinahan Cartel member, was shot dead at the Regency Hotel (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDaniel Kinahan was the intended target of the assassination but escaped unharmed (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe murder sparked a feud between the Hutch and Kinahan crime families that claimed 18 lives in total (irishmirror.ie)
- whatJason Bonney suffered a stroke while serving his prison sentence (irishtimes.com)
- whatBonney has had a stroke since going into custody (irishtimes.com)
- whatDavid Byrne was shot and killed during a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatGunmen, one dressed in drag and others in fake Garda uniforms, stormed the hotel (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatDavid Byrne was a key ally of mob boss Daniel Kinahan, 48. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe Hutch gang was trying to kill Daniel Kinahan but he narrowly escaped. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe hit team consisted of three gunmen in fake Garda ERU uniforms, Flat Cap, a man dressed as a woman, and the van driver. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDavid Byrne, a cartel associate, was killed in the shooting. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe Hutch mob burst into a boxing weigh-in event at the hotel, gunning for Daniel Kinahan. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe attack took place at a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDavid Byrne was shot and killed in the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- whatSean McGovern was seriously injured but survived the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDaniel Kinahan, then 48, was the intended target of the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- whatKinahan escaped uninjured from the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- what10 people were killed by the end of 2016 as a result of the Kinahan-Hutch feud. (irishtimes.com)
- what18 people were dead as a result of related incidents by the end of 2018. (irishtimes.com)
- what98 associates of the Kinahan and Hutch gangs had been successfully prosecuted as a result of Garda actions since the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- what19 of the 98 prosecuted were in relation to murders. (irishtimes.com)
- what25 of the 98 prosecuted were in relation to attempted murders. (irishtimes.com)
- what21 of the 98 prosecuted were in connection to firearms offences. (irishtimes.com)
- whatKevin Murray, who was pictured leaving the scene while carrying a gun, died of natural causes before he could face trial. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThree gunmen dressed in fake Garda ERU uniforms and two others, one dressed in drag, carried out the shooting. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDavid Byrne, a key lieutenant in the Kinahan mob, was shot dead at the lobby desk. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDaniel Kinahan escaped through a window and now lives in Dubai. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe shooting sparked an all-our-war between the Hutch and Kinahan mobs in which 18 lives were claimed in total. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDavid Byrne was a 33-year-old Kinahan gangster (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe murder occurred during a boxing weigh-in (irishmirror.ie)
- whatJason Bonney was convicted by the Special Criminal Court of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder of David Byrne (irishtimes.com)
- whatBonney denied he was the driver of the car and said another man was driving it (irishtimes.com)
- whatTwo defence witnesses testified the other man was driving the vehicle (irishtimes.com)
- whatBonney was driving a BMW jeep at St Vincent's car park when Kevin Murray got into his vehicle (irishmirror.ie)
- whatKevin Murray died from motor neurone disease in 2017 before he could be brought to trial (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatMurphy used his silver Avensis taxi to pick up one of the gunmen at St Vincent's car park (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatBonney was 52 at the time of sentence with a completely unblemished criminal record (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatBonney was driving a BMW jeep at St Vincent's car park when Kevin Murray got into his vehicle after the attack. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatByrne was shot and killed during a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel on 5 February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whatGunmen, one dressed in drag and others in fake Garda uniforms, stormed the hotel in pursuit of Kinahan cartel members. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy used his silver Toyota Avensis taxi to pick up one of the gunmen at the car park. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDavid Byrne, 33, was shot and killed during a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel on the Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9 on 5 February 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatGunmen, one dressed in drag and others in fake garda uniforms, stormed the hotel in pursuit of members of the Kinahan organised crime group. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatKevin Murray aka 'Flat Cap' got into Bonney's BMW jeep at St Vincent's car park after the attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe attack was at the Regency Airport Hotel. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe hearing took place at the Special Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- whereDavid Byrne was shot dead at the hotel in Whitehall, Dublin 9. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe attack took place at the Regency Hotel in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whereHutch departed from Dublin Airport on a Thursday evening. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe Regency Hotel attack was in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whereA room in the Regency Hotel was booked in the name of Dowdall's father on February 4, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe Regency Hotel is on Swords Road, north Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whereDavid Byrne was shot dead at the Regency Hotel in Dublin during a boxing weigh-in. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe killing took place at the Regency Hotel in Dublin. (dublinlive.ie)
- whereThe shooting occurred at the Regency Hotel in Dublin during a boxing weigh-in (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe shooting took place at the Regency Hotel on Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9 (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe attack took place at the Regency Airport Hotel in north Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe shooting took place at the Regency Hotel in Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe murder took place in the lobby of the Regency Hotel, now called the Bonnington Hotel (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe Regency Hotel is on the Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9 (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whereMurphy is of Cherry Avenue, Swords, Co Dublin (irishmirror.ie)
- whereBonney is of Drumnigh Wood, Portmarnock, Dublin 13 (irishmirror.ie)
- whereJason Bonney, 55, lives at Drumnigh Wood, Portmarnock, Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- wherePaul Murphy, 64, lives at Cherry Avenue, Swords, Co Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe shooting took place on February 5, 2016. (dublinlive.ie)
- whenDavid Byrne was shot dead in the lobby of the Regency Hotel at 2:32pm. (dublinlive.ie)
- whenThe Regency Hotel shooting took place on 5 February 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenMurphy provided access to his taxi at St Vincent's GAA club on February 5th, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe Regency attack took place on February 5th, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenDavid Byrne was shot dead at the Regency Hotel on 5 February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe Court of Appeal upheld the sentence on Friday. (irishtimes.com)
- whenByrne was murdered in February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe hotel room was booked on February 4th, 2016, one day before the murder. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe attack took place on 5 February 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenDavid Byrne was shot dead on 5 February 2016. (dublinlive.ie)
- whenThe murder took place in February 2016 (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe shooting occurred on 5 February 2016 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe murder of David Byrne took place at 2.32pm on 5 February 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe three AK 47 rifles were given to IRA man Shane Rowan on 9 March 2016, a month after the attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe Regency Hotel shooting occurred on the afternoon of 5 February 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe Regency Hotel attack occurred on 5 February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenKevin Murray died of natural causes in 2017. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe murder took place on 5 February 2016 (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe murder of David Byrne occurred in February 2016 (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe attack occurred on 5 February 2016 (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe murder occurred on 5 February 2016. (dublinlive.ie)
- causeThe cartel led by Daniel Kinahan went on a killing spree after the Regency attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- causeThe shooting was described as orchestrated by the rival Hutch criminal organisation. (irishmirror.ie)
- causeHutch was expected to leave Ireland immediately after his release because of the perceived threat to his life from the Kinahan gang. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe court found it was a reasonable possibility that Patsy Hutch organised the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe gunmen were in pursuit of members of the Kinahan organised crime group (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- causeThe attack was intended as revenge for the killing of Gary Hutch in Spain by members of the Kinahan cartel. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe charges against Patrick Hutch were dropped after the death of lead investigating officer Det Supt Colm Fox (irishmirror.ie)
- weaponDavid Byrne died from six gunshots fired from a high-velocity weapon. (irishmirror.ie)
- weaponThe gunmen were armed with what appeared to be AK-47s and wore tactical SWAT gear (irishmirror.ie)
- weaponSome members of the Hutch mob were armed with Kalashnikov rifles. (irishmirror.ie)
- weaponThe gunmen were armed with what looked like AK-47s. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí are monitoring Hutch for his own safety and will alert Spanish counterparts. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí believe the threat to Hutch's safety remains but is much diminished compared with previous years. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe court was asked to determine whether Mr Hutch possessed three weapons used in the Regency attack by March 7th, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí sent the DPP a file on Patsy Hutch, and the DPP decided not to prosecute him. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí sent the DPP a file on Patsy Hutch. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationThere would be no more prosecutions in the investigation unless new evidence emerged. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationBonney's legal team are seeking a medical report from the treating consultant (irishtimes.com)
- investigationOfficers had evidence that Murray stayed in the hotel the night before the attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe Regency investigation team was based at Ballymun Garda Station in north Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationMichael O'Sullivan headed the Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau when the Regency shooting happened. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationArmed response units were brought from Mullingar, Wexford, and Dundalk to patrol Dublin in the weeks after the shooting. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeMurphy and Bonney were found guilty of facilitating the killing of David Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeMurphy and Bonney were each found guilty of participating in or contributing to the murder of David Byrne by providing access to motor vehicles. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeBonney was charged as one of the getaway drivers in the Regency hotel attack. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJonathan Dowdall's murder charge was dropped after he admitted facilitating the murder by booking a hotel room. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeGerard Hutch was prosecuted on a single charge of murder in connection with the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeDowdall was originally charged with Byrne's murder in April 2021, but the State dropped that charge. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeDowdall was originally charged with Byrne's murder in April 2021. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe murder charge was dropped after Dowdall admitted a lesser charge of facilitating the Hutch gang. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe sentence was for facilitating the murder of David Byrne, a Kinahan cartel member (gript.ie)
- chargeThe DPP declined to charge Patsy Hutch over the murder of David Byrne. (dublinlive.ie)
- chargeThe murder charge against Patrick Hutch was dropped. (dublinlive.ie)
- chargeBonney and Murphy were convicted of facilitating the rival Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJonathan Dowdall and his father Patrick both admitted facilitating the murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargePaul Murphy, 64, of Cherry Avenue, Swords, was convicted of facilitating the murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeJason Bonney, 55, of Drumnigh Wood, Portmarnock, Dublin 1 was convicted of facilitating the murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeBonney and Murphy were convicted of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJonathan Dowdall, 47, was originally charged with the murder of David Byrne but the State dropped that charge after he admitted to facilitating the Hutch gang. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThey were convicted of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder of David Byrne in February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe trial court found Bonney guilty of facilitating the Hutch gang by providing access to the black BMW on the day of the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHutch was acquitted by the Special Criminal Court of the murder of David Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJason Bonney was found guilty of facilitating the murder of David Byrne. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtBonney's defence claimed his now deceased father Willie drove the BMW X5 that day, not him. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe judge rejected Peter Tyrell's claims. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe judge said Peter Tyrell's evidence had to be treated with scepticism. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe judge said Julie McGlynn's evidence also had to be treated with scepticism. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe court accepted the evidence of Paul Byrne, a brother-in-law of Bonney. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtGerard Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne at the Regency Hotel. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHutch is seeking his legal costs, and the State opposes the application. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe costs hearing was moved to June 7. (irishtimes.com)
- courtPaul Murphy and Jason Bonney were found guilty of acting as getaway drivers. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial lasted 52 days. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found it could not rely on the unsupported evidence of Jonathan Dowdall when acquitting Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe sentences were handed down by the Special Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe judge said the two men provided intentional and organised assistance to the Hutch organisation. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court jailed the two men. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found the Regency attack was orchestrated by the Hutch criminal organisation. (irishtimes.com)
- courtGerard Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne, while Murphy and Bonney were convicted of facilitating the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court rejected the evidence that Bonney's father was the driver of the jeep as false. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found Bonney was the driver of the BMW jeep. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found Bonney was the getaway driver for Kevin 'Flatcap' Murray, a Regency attacker. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHutch was acquitted after the three-judge court rejected the evidence of Jonathan Dowdall as untrustworthy. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHutch applied for the State to pay his legal costs following his acquittal. (irishtimes.com)
- courtTwo other men were found guilty of assisting the murder by providing getaway vehicles. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court ruled there was no unfairness in refusing to order the DPP to pay Mr Hutch's costs. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial lasted 52 days and its costs are believed to be well in excess of €500,000. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court said an acquittal is the starting point for considering costs but other factors are relevant. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court said the prosecution of Mr Hutch was warranted and not improper or unreasonable. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court acquitted Gerard Hutch of murder. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found evidence from Jonathan Dowdall unreliable unless corroborated, and the other evidence did not sufficiently corroborate the murder charge. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court convicted two co-accused of facilitating the attack by providing getaway vehicles. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court acquitted Hutch after finding the prosecution had not proved his guilt beyond reasonable doubt. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court refused to order the State to pay Hutch's legal costs. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court said it could not act on Dowdall's evidence without corroboration and found none, which led to Hutch's acquittal. (irishtimes.com)
- courtA court heard that Jonathan Dowdall was duped and put in the firing line for the Regency attack. (extra.ie)
- courtDowdall pleaded guilty at the Special Criminal Court to making a room available to the Hutch gang at the Regency Hotel. (irishtimes.com)
- courtDowdall launched an appeal against his four-year jail term in December. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Court of Appeal heard the appeal against sentence. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Court of Appeal found the four-year sentence to be 'very lenient' and within the available range. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe appeal was heard by a three-judge panel of Justice George Birmingham, Justice Una Ní Raifeartaigh, and Justice Patrick McCarthy. (thejournal.ie)
- courtDowdall's counsel argued he should have received a 30% discount for his guilty plea instead of 25%, and that a headline sentence of six years was appropriate rather than eight. (thejournal.ie)
- courtDowdall pleaded guilty at the Special Criminal Court on September 28th, 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Court of Appeal dismissed Jonathan Dowdall's bid to reduce his 4-year sentence for facilitating murder at the Regency Hotel (gript.ie)
- courtThe panel included Mr Justice Birmingham, Ms Justice Una Ní Raifeartaigh, and Mr Justice Patrick McCarthy (gript.ie)
- courtThe judges said if they had doubts it would be whether a more severe sentence should have been imposed (gript.ie)
- courtThe judges said they were entirely satisfied the sentence was not unduly severe (gript.ie)
- courtGerry Hutch was acquitted of the charge in April of last year by the Special Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJonathan Dowdall pleaded guilty in 2022 to facilitating the murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe presiding judge said a reasonable possibility arose that the Regency was planned by Patsy Hutch. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe court was satisfied that Patsy Hutch was centrally involved in the movement of the three AK47 rifles. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtJonathan Dowdall pleaded guilty to facilitating the murder in 2022. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtPaul Murphy and Jason Bonney were each found guilty of participating in or contributing to the murder by providing access to motor vehicles. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtPatrick Hutch's Special Criminal Court trial collapsed in 2019. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtHutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- courtMs Justice Costello listed the matter for mention on 23 January 2026 (irishtimes.com)
- courtBoth Bonney and Murphy had pleaded not guilty (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case against Patrick Hutch collapsed in 2019 after the death by suicide of lead investigator Detective Superintendent Colm Fox the previous year. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtGerry Hutch was acquitted by the Special Criminal Court in April 2023 after a trial that began in late 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtIn late 2024, the DPP declined to prosecute Patsy Hutch, a brother of the Monk. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJustice Tara Burns stated that a reasonable possibility arises that the Regency was planned by Patsy Hutch and that Gerard Hutch stepped in to sort out the aftermath. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtGerry Hutch, known as The Monk, was acquitted by the Special Criminal Court of murder. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case against Patrick Hutch collapsed during a separate trial. (irishtimes.com)
- courtFive people have been convicted in relation to serious offences in relation to the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- courtTwo people were convicted of being getaway drivers in the Regency attack. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court murder trial of Gerry Hutch lasted 13 weeks. (irishtimes.com)
- courtPatrick Hutch's charges were dropped by the State in 2019 (irishmirror.ie)
- courtGerry 'The Monk' Hutch was acquitted of murder by the Special Criminal Court in April 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBoth men were tried from January to April 2023 alongside Gerard Hutch (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court acquitted Gerard Hutch of the murder of David Byrne (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Court of Appeal rejected the appeals by Bonney and Murphy in November of the previous year (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial court rejected the defence witnesses' evidence finding it was not consistent with CCTV footage (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe appeal will focus on the meaning and effect of section 20 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984 which defines alibi evidence (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Supreme Court reserved its judgment in Bonney's appeal. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Court of Appeal rejected the appeals by Bonney and Murphy in November 2025. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Supreme Court agreed to hear Bonney's further appeal in March 2026. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial court found Bonney guilty of facilitating the Hutch gang by providing access to the black BMW. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe defence witnesses were Julie McGlynn and Peter Tyrell. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe prosecution called Paul Byrne as a rebuttal witness. (irishtimes.com)
- courtBonney and Murphy were tried alongside Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch at the Special Criminal Court in 2022 (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- courtBonney and Murphy were convicted of facilitating the Hutch Criminal Organisation in carrying out the murder (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- courtBoth had pleaded not guilty (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBids to overturn their convictions were dismissed by the Court of Appeal in November (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBoth men had pleaded not guilty. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtBids by both men to overturn their convictions were dismissed by the Court of Appeal in November. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtMr Justice John Edwards said prosocial contributions only take a person so far and can only result in a modest discount. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtBoth men pleaded not guilty. (irishtimes.com)
- courtBonney and Murphy appealed after the Court of Appeal rejected their attempts to overturn convictions the previous November. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe offences were aggravated by the fact a murder occurred regardless of whether they knew in advance. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Court of Appeal had previously rejected their attempts to have convictions overturned in November 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court made no error in setting 10-year headline sentences for both men. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtGerard 'The Monk' Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne at the Special Criminal Court in 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBonney and Murphy were convicted in April 2023 by the non-jury Special Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge held that Bonney suffered no injustice when he was refused permission to raise the alibi argument. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMurphy and Bonney are due to be sentenced on Friday. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceTwo men were jailed. (extra.ie)
- sentenceTwo men received combined jail sentences totalling 17-and-a-half years. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentencePaul Murphy was jailed for nine years. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceJason Bonney was sentenced to eight-and-a-half years in prison. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceThe total sentence for the two men is 17 and a half years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentencePaul Murphy was sentenced to nine years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJason Bonney was sentenced to eight and a half years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBonney's sentence took into account mitigating factors, including previous good character and no previous convictions. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBonney was sentenced on a Friday before the article was published. (irishtimes.com)
- sentencePaul Murphy (61) and Jason Bonney (52) were jailed for nine and eight and a half years respectively. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJason Bonney was jailed for 8½ years after being convicted in the Regency case. (irishtimes.com)
- sentencePaul Murphy was sentenced to nine years for providing getaway vehicles. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJonathan Dowdall and his father Patrick were jailed for four and two years after admitting facilitating the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceDowdall was sentenced to four years' imprisonment on October 17, 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJonathan Dowdall received a four-year prison sentence for facilitating the murder of David Byrne at the Regency Hotel. (thejournal.ie)
- sentencePatrick Dowdall, 65, was sentenced to two years imprisonment for facilitating the Hutch gang by making a hotel room available ahead of the murder. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe Court of Appeal found the four-year sentence was very lenient. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceDowdall was sentenced by the Special Criminal Court to four years imprisonment on October 17th 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMr Justice Birmingham said the sentence was very lenient (gript.ie)
- sentenceJason Bonney received an eight-and-a-half year sentence. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceJonathan Dowdall was given a four-year jail term. (dublinlive.ie)
- sentencePatrick Dowdall was locked up for two years. (dublinlive.ie)
- sentencePaul Murphy was jailed for nine years for facilitating the shooting as a getaway driver (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJason Bonney received 8½ years for the same offence (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBonney was jailed for 8 and a half years and Murphy for nine years (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBonney was jailed for 8 and a half years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMurphy was jailed for nine years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMurphy was jailed for nine years for facilitating the shooting (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceBonney received eight-and-a-half years for the same offence (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceThe headline term of ten years set by the sentencing court was argued to be excessive (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceJonathan Dowdall received a headline sentence of eight years (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceJonathan Dowdall received a headline sentence of eight years for facilitating the murder. (dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceMurphy was jailed for nine years for facilitating the shooting by acting as a getaway driver. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBonney received an 8½ year sentence for the same offence. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceDowdall was sentenced to four years in 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- sentencePaul Murphy of Cherry Avenue, Swords, was jailed for nine years for facilitating the shooting by acting as a getaway driver. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceJason Bonney of Drumnigh Wood, Portmarnock, Dublin 13 received eight-and-a-half years for the same offence. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceBonney received a discount of 18 months from the headline sentence. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceMurphy, who had 67 previous convictions, received a discount of one year. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceJonathan Dowdall was sentenced to four years' imprisonment on 17 October 2022 for facilitating the Hutch gang in the murder of Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceBonney was jailed for 8½ years. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHutch fled Ireland in mid 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe cartel placed a bounty of more than €200,000 on Hutch. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherGardaí believe Hutch is likely to first seek refuge in Spain. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherGardaí suspect Hutch will have no option but to leave Ireland. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherBonney allegedly used his black BMW X5 to pick up one of the hit team. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherPeter Tyrell took the stand late in the trial and claimed he saw Bonney's father Willie driving the BMW X5 after the murder. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherPeter Tyrell says he stands by his story. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherBonney has no previous convictions. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- otherMurphy has 67 previous convictions. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe two men acted as getaway drivers. (extra.ie)
- otherMurphy has 67 previous convictions, all dealt with at District Court level. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe court set a headline sentence of 10 years. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe court said it was exercising discretion on costs and not deciding criminal culpability. (irishtimes.com)
- otherMr Hutch's counsel argued the murder prosecution was a wrong decision that the acquittal vindicated. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe DPP argued the prosecution was absolutely warranted and costs should not be granted to Mr Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHutch's legal costs were likely to exceed €500,000. (irishtimes.com)
- otherDowdall's lawyers said he was duped and put in the firing line for the Regency Hotel attack. (irishtimes.com)
- otherDowdall's counsel argued the headline sentence was too high and the plea discount too low. (irishtimes.com)
- otherJonathan Dowdall had previously been convicted of a very serious offence and had served a substantial sentence. (thejournal.ie)
- otherDowdall's barrister argued that his client had been duped and put in the firing line for the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- otherDowdall's home is up for sale. (extra.ie)
- otherDowdall is preparing to go into witness protection. (extra.ie)
- otherThe probe into the attack is effectively over after the DPP declined to charge Patsy Hutch. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherA source said the DPP has directed no more charges. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherWithout new evidence, the case is unlikely to be progressed further. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe Special Criminal Court judge said a reasonable possibility arose that Patsy Hutch planned the Regency attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherPatrick Hutch's murder charge was dropped after the trial collapsed in 2019. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherDaniel Kinahan was the co-founder of the MGM boxing promotion (irishmirror.ie)
- otherIt has been difficult to get relevant authorisation because Bonney is in custody (irishtimes.com)
- otherAs many as 13 people were part of the plan to attack, but only six men made up the actual hit team. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherKevin Murray, known as Flat Cap, was 46 and was to be tried for the murder of Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherMurray did not wear a disguise in the attack and was identified by Garda and PSNI detectives. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherMurray died from an aggressive illness in August 2017 before he could be brought to trial. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe Regency was a tipping point in the feud between the Hutch crime gang and the Kinahan cartel. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherSome members of the Hutch mob were disguised as gardai. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherMichael O'Sullivan served over 40 years in the Garda Síochána. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherMichael O'Sullivan once arrested Christy Kinahan in the 1980s. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThere was an attempt on Gerry Hutch in Lanzarote months before the Regency shooting. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherGary Hutch was murdered in Spain in September 2015. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThere was an attempt to murder Daniel Kinahan at the Red Cow Inn in Dublin in November 2015. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe author was studying journalism at Technology University Dublin at the time. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherAn Arctic Monkeys tune was playing in the function room during the weigh-in. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe author was interviewing Dubliner Stephen Ormond when the shooting began. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherDavid Byrne's brother Liam is on house arrest in the UK (irishmirror.ie)
- otherBonney is incarcerated at Wheatfield Prison and joined the hearing via video-link. (irishtimes.com)
- otherMurphy was not on the garda radar at all. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherMurray died from motor neuron disease in 2017 before he could be brought to trial. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe Hutch criminal organisation is notoriously involved in a long-running feud with the rival Kinahan criminal organisation. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe Hutch criminal organisation is described as operating at a high level of criminality and involved in a long-running feud with the Kinahan criminal organisation. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe killing led to a significant escalation in a feud between the two gangs. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 21 Jul2026Supreme Court dismisses appeal by Regency Hotel getaway driver over conviction
The Supreme Court, in a five-judge panel led by Judge Niamh Hyland, dismissed Bonney's appeal, finding that while Tyrell's evidence should not have been treated as alibi evidence, Bonney suffered no injustice as the trial court was independently satisfied of his guilt and rejected both defence witnesses' testimony.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch - 3 Jul2026Court rejects Regency getaway drivers' bid to have sentences reduced
Reports the Court of Appeal's decision on 3 July 2026 rejecting Bonney's and Murphy's appeals against their sentences, confirming the 10-year headline sentences set by the Special Criminal Court. Also details the background of the Regency Hotel attack, the acquittal of Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, and the separate sentencing of Jonathan Dowdall.
victim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyaccused, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutchconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 3 Jul2026Regency Hotel attack getaway drivers fail in bid to have prison sentences reduced
Provides full details of the Court of Appeal's reasoning, including the specific vehicles used (Bonney's BMW SUV and Murphy's silver Toyota Avensis taxi), the role of Kevin 'Flat Cap' Murray who died of motor neuron disease in 2017, the convoy of four other cars to St Vincent's GAA club, and Jonathan Dowdall's reduced charge and four-year sentence.
victim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphysuspect, male, irish (judged from name)suspect, male, irish (judged from name)convicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 29 Jun2026Regency Hotel attack getaway drivers claim their prison sentences are too high
Reports the Court of Appeal sentencing appeal hearing where Bonney and Murphy argued their sentences were too high; Mr Justice Edwards reserved judgment for 3 July 2026.
victim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphysuspect, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutchconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallsuspect, Kevin Murray, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kevin Murray - 29 Jun2026Regency Hotel attack getaway drivers claim their prison sentences are too high
Reports the Court of Appeal sentencing appeal hearing on 29 June 2026, including arguments by both appellants' counsel and the State, and the judge's preliminary remarks before the 3 July judgment.
victim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyaccused, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyaccused, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutchaccused, Jonathan Dowdall, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 12 May2026Supreme Court reserves judgment in appeal over conviction of Regency getaway driver
Supreme Court hearing of Bonney's appeal on 12 May 2026; judgment reserved. Details of the legal argument over alibi evidence and the composition of the five-judge panel are provided.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 63, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyaccused, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch - 12 Mar2026Supreme Court to hear appeal over conviction of Regency Hotel attack getaway driver
A panel of three Supreme Court judges agreed Bonney's case meets the criteria for a Supreme Court appeal, raising issues on the meaning of alibi evidence under section 20 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984 and the treatment of rebuttal evidence. A hearing date will be fixed later.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 63, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyaccused, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch - 5 Feb2026Family of David Byrne say they 'can’t believe' his killers are 'still free'
10th anniversary tributes from David Byrne's family; confirms the final outcome of the case: Patrick Hutch's charges dropped in 2019 after the death of Det Supt Colm Fox, and Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch acquitted by the Special Criminal Court in April 2023.
victim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrnesuspect, Patrick Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Hutchsuspect, male, irish (judged from name) - 5 Feb2026I witnessed Regency murder and will never forget look on Daniel Kinahan's face
First-hand eyewitness account by a journalist present at the Regency Hotel during the shooting, published on the 10th anniversary; describes the gunmen's appearance, the sequence of events, and the immediate aftermath.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrnevictim, Daniel Kinahan, male, irish (judged from name)Daniel Kinahanvictim, Sean McGovern, male, irish (judged from name)Sean McGovern - 4 Feb2026Regency shooting: Garda chief rejects ‘policing failure’ characterisation of investigation
Garda chief comments on 10th anniversary of the Regency Hotel shooting, rejects 'policing failure' characterisation, details investigation outcomes including 98 prosecutions, Gerry Hutch acquittal at Special Criminal Court, Patrick Hutch case collapse, and Kevin Murray's death of natural causes before trial.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrnevictim, Sean McGovern, male, irish (judged from name)Sean McGovernvictim, Daniel Kinahan, 48, male, irish (judged from name)Daniel Kinahanaccused, Gerry Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry Hutchaccused, Patrick Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Hutchaccused, Kevin Murray, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kevin Murray - 4 Feb2026Kinahans 'had no idea' deadly Regency attack was coming, ex Garda says
10th anniversary interview with former Assistant Commissioner Michael O'Sullivan defending Garda intelligence at the time of the Regency Hotel shooting and describing the post-incident response.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrnevictim, Daniel Kinahan, male, irish (judged from name)Daniel Kinahan - 3 Feb2026'They got away with it' Gardai accept Regency hit team may never be convicted
10-year anniversary retrospective confirming Gardaí's acceptance that the hit team will likely never be convicted; summarises all legal outcomes including Murray's death, Patrick Hutch's case collapse, Gerry Hutch's acquittal, and the DPP declining to prosecute Patsy Hutch.
victim, David Byrne, 34, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrnevictim, Daniel Kinahan, 48, male, irish (judged from name)Daniel Kinahansuspect, Kevin Murray, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kevin Murraysuspect, Gerry Hutch, 62, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry Hutchsuspect, Patrick Hutch, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Hutchsuspect, Patsy Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patsy Hutchconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallconvicted, male, irish (judged from name)convicted, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 12 Dec2025Regency Hotel getaway driver suffers stroke in prison, court hears
Court of Appeal hearing on sentence appeals; Bonney's barrister reports he has suffered a stroke in custody and seeks a medical report. Matter listed for mention 23 January 2026.
victim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyaccused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch - 3 Apr2025I witnessed Kinahan gang murder that led to war and won't forget one thing
First-person eyewitness account published in connection with the BBC documentary 'Kinahan: The True Story of Ireland's Mafia'; describes the scene of the shooting, the gunmen's appearance and weapons, the immediate aftermath, and the author's personal experience of the event nine years later.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrnevictim, Daniel Kinahan, male, irish (judged from name)Daniel Kinahan - 14 Jun2024Regency attack Garda probe ends as DPP declines to charge Patsy Hutch
Reports that the DPP has declined to charge Patsy Hutch, ending the Garda probe into the Regency Hotel attack, and summarises earlier prosecutions arising from the same killing.
victim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrnesuspect, Patsy Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patsy Hutchaccused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchaccused, Patrick, 31, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrickconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 44, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallconvicted, Patrick, 67, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrickconvicted, Paul Murphy, 62, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 14 Jun2024Garda probe into Regency attack ends as DPP declines to charge Patsy Hutch
Reports that the DPP has declined to charge Patsy Hutch after a Garda file, and that no more charges are directed unless new evidence emerges. It also recaps earlier court outcomes in the case.
victim, David Byrne, 33, irish (judged from name)David Byrnesuspect, Patsy Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Patsy Hutchsuspect, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchsuspect, irish (judged from name)convicted, Paul Murphy, 62, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 53, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 44, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 10 Jun2024Jonathan Dowdall puts home at centre of notorious trial up for sale as he prepares to go into witness protection
The article body is an unrendered search-widget template with no story text. The headline alone links Dowdall's home sale and planned move into witness protection to the notorious trial, which matches the Regency Hotel case.
suspect, Jonathan Dowdall, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 14 Jul2023Court of Appeal judge says Jonathan Dowdall’s murder sentence ‘very lenient’, - Gript
Reports the Court of Appeal's reasoning for upholding the 4-year sentence, with Mr Justice Birmingham calling it 'very lenient' but not 'unduly severe', and the defence argument that Dowdall was put in the 'firing line'.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 14 Jul2023Jonathan Dowdall sentence for facilitating murder ‘very lenient’, Court of Appeal says
Reports the Court of Appeal's decision on Friday 14 July 2023 dismissing Dowdall's appeal against his four-year sentence and describing the sentence as very lenient. Gives background on the guilty plea, the original murder charge and the sentence.
convicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 44, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallvictim, David Byrne, 34, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 14 Jul2023Jonathan Dowdall loses appeal against severity of his four-year prison sentence
Reports the full reasoning of the Court of Appeal in dismissing Dowdall's appeal, including Justice Birmingham's finding that the sentence was 'very lenient,' details of Dowdall's post-murder assistance driving a person to Northern Ireland as late as 7 March 2016, the differentiation from his father Patrick Dowdall's two-year sentence, the 52-day Gerard Hutch trial context, and arguments from both Dowdall's counsel (Michael O'Higgins SC) and the DPP's counsel.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallconvicted, Patrick Dowdall, 65, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Dowdallaccused, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutchsuspect, Kevin Murray, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kevin Murray - 20 Jun2023Former Sinn Féin councillor Jonathan Dowdall ‘duped’, lawyers tell Court of Appeal
Reports the Court of Appeal hearing of Dowdall's sentence appeal, including his counsel's arguments and the judge's comments. It gives no appeal outcome.
convicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 44, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallvictim, David Byrne, 34, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 20 Jun2023Jonathan Dowdall 'Duped' And Put In 'Firing Line' For Regency Attack, Court Told
Headline only: the court was told Dowdall was duped and put in the firing line for the Regency attack. The page contains no article text, dates, or sentencing details.
suspect, Jonathan Dowdall, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 9 Jun2023Prosecution approach in Gerard Hutch Regency attack case ‘mystifies’ lawyers
Reports the costs ruling of 7 June 2023 refusing Hutch's bid for the State to pay his legal costs, after his acquittal, and comments from lawyers on the prosecution strategy. Also sets out the timeline of the Regency prosecutions and the convictions of Bonney, Murphy and the Dowdalls.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 62, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallconvicted, irish (judged from name) - 7 Jun2023Gerard Hutch fails in bid to get State to pay legal costs following acquittal in Regency trial
Reports the Special Criminal Court's ruling refusing Gerard Hutch's costs application after his acquittal, and restates the court's findings on the attack, the weapons and the convictions of co-accused.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallconvicted, irish (judged from name) - 19 May2023Gerard Hutch departs for Spain a month after acquittal of Regency Hotel murder
Reports Hutch's departure for Spain about a month after his acquittal, his continued monitoring by gardaí, his pending application for State-paid legal costs, and the sentences of Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney.
accused, Gerard Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 12 May2023Who is Jason Bonney? Former champion boxer never came to Garda attention before Regency attack
Profile of Bonney after sentencing. Adds his age (52), his background as a former champion boxer and builder, the court's finding that he drove the BMW jeep and rejection of family evidence that his late father was the driver, and criticism from his sisters.
convicted, Jason Bonney, 52, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 12 May2023Regency hotel trial: Two men convicted of facilitating attack each sentenced to more than 8 years in prison
Sentences announced: nine years for Murphy (61) and eight and a half years for Bonney (52). The court set a headline sentence of 10 years and placed both men at the upper end of seriousness for this offence. Gerard Hutch's acquittal and the court's finding that the attack was orchestrated by the Hutch criminal organisation are restated.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyaccused, Gerard Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch - 12 May2023Regency hotel attack's 'getaway drivers' receive combined 17-year jail sentence
Reports the sentences imposed on Paul Murphy (nine years) and Jason Bonney (eight-and-a-half years) on 12 May 2023, the court's findings on their role, and their backgrounds as presented at the sentence hearing.
convicted, Paul Murphy, 61, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyvictim, David Byrne, 33, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 12 May2023Two Men Jailed For Acting As Getaway Drivers During Regency Murder
The article text is empty template code. Only the headline is available, so the county, date, names and other details are not stated.
convicted, maleconvicted, male - 10 May2023Gerard Hutch: court hears ‘difficulties have arisen’ in date for costs hearing
Adds that Gerard Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne, that his costs application was moved to June 7 and opposed by the State, that Murphy and Bonney were found guilty as getaway drivers and will be sentenced on Friday, and details of Murphy's and Bonney's previous convictions.
accused, Gerard Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Paul Murphy, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 5 May2023Man who gave evidence in Regency Trial insists he did not lie to court
Adds the trial evidence and judgment: Bonney found guilty of facilitating the murder and due for sentencing the following Monday; the judge rejected Peter Tyrell's and Julie McGlynn's evidence; Peter Tyrell says he stands by his account.
convicted, Jason Bonney, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 20 Apr2023Gardai say Gerry Hutch will have to flee as Kinahan cartel desperate to kill him
Reports gardaí believe Hutch will leave Ireland because the cartel still wants to kill him, and that the threat against him is classified as severe. Describes his flight from Ireland in 2016 and a reported bounty on his head.
accused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, 60, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrne