Case No. 0078Breach of Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005 · Co. Cork · 18 Apr 2023

Stryker Ireland to face Circuit Court trial over Cork safety death

John Murphy, a 42-year-old man (reports differ, giving 41), suffered third-degree burns to 75 per cent of his body in a suspected explosion on the factory roof at Stryker's plant in Carrigtwohill, east Cork, on 18 April 2023. He was employed by Apleona, a facilities management company on contract with Stryker, and died in the burns unit at St James's Hospital, Dublin, on 9 June 2023. Following a Health and Safety Authority investigation and a formal inquest, Stryker Ireland Ltd was charged on seven summonses for breaches of the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005. At a first mention at Midleton District Court on 22 October 2026, the DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court level on all seven summonses, and the matter was adjourned to 3 December for preparation of a book of evidence.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court11 Oct
    2 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
John Murphy, a 42-year-old man (reports differ, giving 41), suffered third-degree burns to 75 per cent of his body in a suspected explosion on the factory roof.
Where
The incident occurred at Stryker's plant at Carrigtwohill, east Cork.
When
The incident occurred on 18 April 2023, and Murphy died in the burns unit at St James's Hospital, Dublin, on 9 June 2023.
Cause
It is alleged that sparks from tools led to Murphy being set alight.
Investigation
The incident prompted a Health and Safety Authority investigation and a formal inquest into the circumstances of his death.
Charges
Stryker Ireland Ltd was charged on seven summonses for breaches of the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005.
In court
  • At a first mention at Midleton District Court on 22 October 2026, the DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court level on all seven summonses.
  • The matter was adjourned to 3 December 2026 for preparation of a book of evidence if required.
Other details
  • John Murphy was employed by Apleona, a facilities management company on contract with Stryker.
  • Stryker is a US-based medical technology firm.
  • John Murphy was a married father of two.
30 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatJohn Murphy was 42 years old at the time of the incident (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatStryker Ireland Ltd has been charged with breaches of health and safety regulations over the death of a contractor's employee. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe incident occurred on the factory roof (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe incident happened at Stryker's plant at Carrigtwohill in east Cork. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe incident occurred on 18 April 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe incident occurred on April 18th, 2023. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenMurphy died in the burns unit at St James's Hospital in Dublin on June 9th, 2023. (irishtimes.com)
  • causeJohn Murphy suffered fatal injuries in a suspected explosion (irishmirror.ie)
  • causeMurphy suffered third-degree burns to 75 per cent of his body. (irishtimes.com)
  • causeIt is alleged that sparks from tools led to Murphy being set alight. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe incident sparked a formal inquest into the circumstances surrounding his death (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe DPP's recommendation cites findings of a Health and Safety Authority investigation (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe charges followed a Health and Safety Authority investigation. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeStryker Ireland Ltd was summonsed to appear at Midleton District Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeStryker Ireland Ltd appeared on seven summonses arising from the HSA investigation. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeIt is alleged that Stryker failed to ensure titanium particles did not rise from the production floor. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeIt is alleged that Stryker failed to ensure a suitable and appropriate risk assessment for an explosive atmosphere in the rooftop ventilation system. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP has recommended bringing a criminal prosecution against Stryker (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtStryker's representatives have been called to appear before the courts in Midleton on 22 October (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe case is set for first mention at Midleton District Court on Thursday 22 October (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court level on all seven summonses. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP consented to the company going to the Circuit Court on a signed guilty plea if it chose to. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtStryker's barrister applied for discovery of the DPP file, and the judge directed that it be forwarded to the company's lawyers. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe matter was adjourned until December 3rd for preparation of a book of evidence if required. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherStryker is a US-based medical technology firm (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherJohn Murphy was a married father of two (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherJohn Murphy died two months after the incident (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherJohn Murphy was employed by Apleona, a facilities management company on contract with Stryker (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherJohn Murphy's brother Michael was the first to be alerted of the incident (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe family rushed to John Murphy's bedside at Cork University Hospital (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 22 Oct2026
    Leading US medtech charged over alleged safety breaches after worker’s death at Cork plant

    First court appearance; seven summonses for health and safety breaches; DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court; adjourned to 3 December for preparation of a book of evidence.

    victim, John Murphy, 41, irish (judged from name)John Murphy
  2. 11 Oct2026
    Stryker to appear before courts over fatal incident at Cork plant

    The DPP has recommended criminal prosecution against Stryker based on HSA investigation findings. The case is set for first mention at Midleton District Court on 22 October 2026.

    victim, John Murphy, 42, male, irish (judged from name)John Murphy