Stryker Ireland charged over fatal burns at Carrigtwohill plant
John Murphy, a 42-year-old man (reported as 41 in one account), suffered fatal third-degree burns to 75 per cent of his body in a suspected explosion on the factory roof at Stryker's plant in Carrigtwohill, Co Cork, on 18 April 2023 while working for Apleona, a facilities management company on contract with Stryker. He died on 9 June 2023 at St James's Hospital in Dublin. Following a Health and Safety Authority investigation, Stryker Ireland Ltd was charged with seven breaches of the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005, and the DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court level. The case was first mentioned at Midleton District Court on 22 October 2026 and adjourned to 3 December for preparation of a book of evidence.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court11 Oct
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- John Murphy, a 42-year-old man (reported as 41 in one account), suffered third-degree burns to 75 per cent of his body in a suspected explosion on the factory roof.
- Where
- The incident occurred at Anngrove, IDA Industrial Park, Carrigtwohill, Co Cork.
- When
- The incident occurred on 18 April 2023 and Murphy died on 9 June 2023.
- Cause
- The alleged failure to ensure titanium particles did not rise from the production floor into the HVAC system on the roof resulted in sparks being generated by tools, setting Murphy alight.
- Investigation
- The incident was investigated by the Health and Safety Authority and a formal inquest was held.
- Charges
- Stryker Ireland Ltd was charged with seven breaches of the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work Act 2005.
- In court
- The DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court level on all seven summonses.
- The case was first mentioned at Midleton District Court on 22 October 2026 and adjourned to 3 December for preparation of a book of evidence.
- Other details
- Murphy was employed by Apleona, a facilities management company doing contract work for Stryker, a US-based medical technology firm.
- Murphy was a married father of two (reported as a father of three in one account) from Condonstown, Watergrasshill, Co Cork.
28 statements extracted from the articles
- whatJohn Murphy was 42 years old at the time of the incident (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy suffered third-degree burns to 75 per cent of his body (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy was working for Apleona, a facilities management company doing contract work for Stryker (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy made it off the roof where he had been working before losing consciousness (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy was rushed by ambulance to Cork University Hospital (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe incident occurred on the factory roof (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe incident occurred at Anngrove, IDA Industrial Park, Carrigtwohill, Co Cork (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe incident occurred on 18 April 2023 (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- whenMurphy died on 9 June 2023 (irishtimes.com)
- causeJohn Murphy suffered fatal injuries in a suspected explosion (irishmirror.ie)
- causeThe alleged failure resulted in sparks being generated by tools, setting Murphy alight and causing fatal injuries (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe incident sparked a formal inquest into the circumstances surrounding his death (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe DPP's recommendation cites findings of a Health and Safety Authority investigation (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe charges arose from a Health and Safety Authority investigation (irishtimes.com)
- chargeStryker allegedly failed to ensure titanium particles did not rise from the production floor into the HVAC system on the roof (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP has recommended bringing a criminal prosecution against Stryker (irishmirror.ie)
- courtStryker's representatives have been called to appear before the courts in Midleton on 22 October (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case is set for first mention at Midleton District Court on Thursday 22 October (irishmirror.ie)
- courtStryker Ireland Ltd was summonsed to appear at Midleton District Court (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court level on all seven summonses (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe matter was adjourned until 3 December for preparation of a book of evidence (irishtimes.com)
- otherStryker is a US-based medical technology firm (irishmirror.ie)
- otherJohn Murphy was a married father of two (irishmirror.ie)
- otherJohn Murphy died two months after the incident (irishmirror.ie)
- otherJohn Murphy was employed by Apleona, a facilities management company on contract with Stryker (irishmirror.ie)
- otherJohn Murphy's brother Michael was the first to be alerted of the incident (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe family rushed to John Murphy's bedside at Cork University Hospital (irishmirror.ie)
- otherStryker employs more than 5,500 people on seven sites in the Republic (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 22 Oct2026Leading US medtech charged over alleged safety breaches after worker’s death at Cork plant
First court appearance; seven summonses for health and safety breaches; DPP directed trial on indictment at Circuit Court; adjourned to 3 December for preparation of a book of evidence.
victim, John Murphy, 41, male, irish (judged from name)John Murphy - 11 Oct2026Stryker to appear before courts over fatal incident at Cork plant
The DPP has recommended criminal prosecution against Stryker based on HSA investigation findings. The case is set for first mention at Midleton District Court on 22 October 2026.
victim, John Murphy, 42, male, irish (judged from name)John Murphy