Stop N Glow salon spared conviction over sunbed sale to 16-year-old
Stop N Glow Limited, a Dublin tanning salon at Bridgefoot Street in the Liberties run by Aoife McGregor, sold a three-minute sunbed session for €3.90 on 29 October to a 16-year-old girl who was a test buyer, without checking her age or ID. The Health Service Executive prosecuted the company under the Public Health (Sunbeds) Act 2014, and the company pleaded guilty at Dublin District Court, where the court heard the employee responsible had been dismissed. The case was adjourned until 27 April. On 27 April 2026 the judge applied the Probation of Offenders Act, so the company was spared a conviction, and ordered it to pay €1,000 in costs and donate €500 to a Dublin charity.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced30 Mar
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Stop N Glow Limited, run by Aoife McGregor, sold a three-minute sunbed session for €3.90 to a 16-year-old girl acting as a test buyer.
- Cause
- The salon did not question the girl about her age or ask for ID before the sale.
- Where
- The salon is located at Bridgefoot Street in the Liberties, Dublin.
- When
- The sale took place on 29 October; the sources do not give the year.
- Investigation
- The Health Service Executive brought the prosecution.
- Charges
- The company pleaded guilty to providing a sunbed treatment to a minor, contrary to the Public Health (Sunbeds) Act 2014.
- In court
- The case was heard at Dublin District Court, where the court heard the company had no prior convictions.
- The employee responsible for the sale has been dismissed, and is not named in the articles.
- The case was adjourned until 27 April and listed for finalisation at Dublin District Court.
- Other details
- Aoife McGregor is a sister of MMA star Conor McGregor, and she did not have to attend the proceedings.
- Sentence
- The judge applied the Probation of Offenders Act, so the company was spared a conviction.
- The company was ordered to pay €1,000 in costs and donate €500 to a Dublin charity.
- The HSE had sought €2,880 in costs, but the judge held this was not comparable with the gravity of the offence.
22 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe company pleaded guilty to providing a sunbed treatment to a minor. (rte.ie)
- whatA 16-year-old test buyer was sold a three-minute sunbed session without being asked for age or ID. (rte.ie)
- whatThe salon sold a sunbed treatment to a 16-year-old girl without checking her age or ID. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe salon is located on Bridgefoot Street in the Liberties. (rte.ie)
- whereThe salon is located at Bridgefoot Street, in the Liberties, Dublin. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe sunbed session was sold on 29 October. (rte.ie)
- whenThe sale of the sunbed took place on October 29. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationThe prosecution was brought by the Health Service Executive. (rte.ie, thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe offence is under the Public Health (Sunbeds) Act 2014. (rte.ie)
- chargeStop N Glow Limited pleaded guilty to breaking public health laws. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe offence is contrary to the 2014 Public Health (Sunbeds) Act. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe court heard the firm had no prior convictions. (rte.ie)
- courtThe employee responsible has been dismissed. (rte.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned until 27 April. (rte.ie)
- courtThe case was listed for finalisation at Dublin District Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe employee responsible for the sale has been sacked. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge noted that the firm had no prior convictions. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe HSE had sought €2,880 in costs, but the judge held this was not comparable with the gravity of the offence. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe judge ordered the firm to pay €1,000 in costs and donate €500 to a Dublin charity. (rte.ie)
- sentenceThe firm was ordered to pay €1,000 costs and to donate €500 to a Dublin charity. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe judge applied the Probation of Offenders Act. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe HSE sought €2,880 in costs. (rte.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 1 Apr2026Aoife McGregor’s salon spared conviction for selling sunbed session to under age girl
The article covers the final hearing of the HSE prosecution. The firm was ordered to pay €1,000 costs and donate €500 to a charity, and the Probation of Offenders Act was applied. The sunbed sale is said to have happened on October 29, with no year given. The employee responsible has been dismissed, but is not named.
- 30 Mar2026Aoife McGregor's salon sold sunbed session to teenager
Reports the guilty plea, the court orders, the HSE prosecution and the company's statement that the employee has been dismissed.
convicted, Stop N Glow Limited, namedStop N Glow Limited