Case No. 5324Assault · Co. Dublin

State agrees damages for man assaulted outside Dublin home in 2015

In July 2015 a man born in Spain and living in Ireland was assaulted by a group of men outside his home in Dublin, suffering an eye injury that caused permanent partial loss of vision. The Criminal Injuries Compensation Tribunal awarded him €645 for out-of-pocket expenses, and in August 2019 he took High Court proceedings arguing that the State compensation scheme was incompatible with EU law. The European Court of Justice ruled in October 2025 that the scheme's exclusion of pain and suffering damages is precluded by a 2004 directive. On 20 February 2026 the State agreed at the High Court to pay about €60,000 in damages plus legal costs, and the Government has committed to reforming the scheme, with the Law Reform Commission expected to report next month.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court20 Feb
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
Where
The assault took place outside the man's home in Dublin.
When
The assault took place in July 2015.
What happened
  • A group of men assaulted the man, who was born in Spain and lives in Ireland.
  • The man suffered a significant eye injury causing permanent partial loss of vision and other physical injuries.
  • The man claimed mental distress and anxiety.
  • He was dismissed by his employer for absence after the assault and was unemployed when he applied for compensation in October 2015.
Other details
  • The Criminal Injuries Compensation Tribunal awarded him €645 for out-of-pocket expenses, including a replacement driving licence, spectacles, medicine, hospital costs and travel; one article gives the award as €640.
  • The State compensation scheme was established in 1974 and amended in 1986 to exclude general damages, including pain and suffering.
  • Just over €10 million was paid to 203 victims under the compensation scheme in 2024.
  • The Government is committed to reforming the compensation scheme, including putting it on a statutory footing.
  • The Law Reform Commission is expected to report next month on victim compensation.
In court
  • In August 2019 the man took High Court proceedings arguing that the compensation scheme was incompatible with EU law.
  • In October 2025 the European Court of Justice ruled that excluding pain and suffering compensation under the Irish scheme is precluded by a 2004 directive.
  • On 20 February 2026 the State agreed at the High Court to pay about €60,000 in damages plus legal costs and to a declaration that the scheme is incompatible with the directive.
14 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe State agreed to pay approximately €60,000 in damages plus legal costs to the assault victim (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe man was assaulted by a group of people outside his Dublin home in July 2015 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe man suffered a significant eye injury resulting in permanent partial loss of vision and other physical injuries (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe man claimed mental distress and anxiety (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe man was dismissed by his employer due to absence from work following the assault and was unemployed when he applied for compensation in October 2015 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe Criminal Injuries Compensation Tribunal awarded the man €645 for out-of-pocket expenses (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe tribunal award covered replacement of driving licence, spectacles, medicine, hospital costs and travel expenses (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe Irish compensation scheme was established in 1974 and amended in 1986 to exclude general damages including pain and suffering (irishtimes.com)
  • whatJust over €10 million was paid to 203 victims under the compensation scheme in 2024 (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe man took High Court proceedings in August 2019 arguing the compensation scheme was incompatible with EU law (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe European Court of Justice ruled that the exclusion of pain and suffering compensation under the Irish scheme is precluded by the 2004 directive (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe victim was born in Spain but resides in Ireland (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe Government is committed to reforming the compensation scheme including putting it on a statutory footing (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe Law Reform Commission is expected to report next month on the broader topic of victim compensation (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 20 Feb2026
    Violent crime victims to receive increased State compensation after European court ruling

    Reports the High Court resolution of the man's challenge to the compensation scheme, the ECJ ruling on incompatibility with the 2004 EU directive, the State's agreement to pay ~€60,000 in damages, and the Government's commitment to reform the scheme.

    victim, male, non-irish (judged from name)suspect, male