Speeding prosecution of John Christopher O'Dea put on hold after nomination form referred to High Court
On 19 August 2024 Mr John Christopher O'Dea was summonsed for allegedly exceeding the 80 km/h limit on the N80 at Ballynasrah, Killeigh, County Offaly, and evidence from a GoSafe operator stated the vehicle was travelling at 90 km/h. In December the defence applied at Tullamore District Court for a nomination form not to be admitted. On 11 March 2026 the DPP directed that the summons be withdrawn, but Judge Andrew Cody refused the withdrawal because the case was part heard and decided to state a case to the High Court on the admissibility of nomination forms. The prosecution was adjourned to December 2, and speeding prosecutions involving nomination forms are on hold until the High Court rules.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court24 Mar
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Mr John Christopher O'Dea was summonsed for allegedly exceeding the 80 km/h speed limit on the N80.
- Where
- The alleged speeding took place on the N80 at Ballynasrah, Killeigh, County Offaly.
- When
- The alleged offence took place on 19 August 2024.
- Investigation
- Evidence from a GoSafe operator stated the vehicle was travelling at 90 km/h.
- Charges
- In December the defence applied at Tullamore District Court for a nomination form not to be admitted.
- In court
- On 11 March 2026 the DPP directed that the summons against Mr O'Dea be withdrawn.
- Judge Andrew Cody refused the withdrawal because the case was part heard and said it was aimed at avoiding a case stated.
- Judge Andrew Cody accused the DPP of frustrating his referral of a point of law to the High Court.
- The judge decided to state a case to the High Court on the admissibility of nomination forms in speeding prosecutions.
- Other details
- The prosecution of Mr O'Dea was adjourned to December 2.
- Speeding prosecutions involving nomination forms are on hold until the High Court gives a ruling.
12 statements extracted from the articles
- whatMr O'Dea was summonsed for allegedly exceeding the 80km/h speed limit on the N80. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whereThe alleged speeding took place on the N80 at Ballynasrah, Killeigh, County Offaly. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whenThe alleged speeding offence was on August 19, 2024. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationEvidence from a GoSafe operator stated the vehicle was travelling at 90 km/h. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeThe defence applied at Tullamore District Court in December for a nomination form not to be admitted. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe District Court judge said the DPP had accused of frustrating his referral of a point of law to the High Court. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed that the summons against Mr O'Dea be withdrawn. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe judge said he would not allow the withdrawal because the case was part heard. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe judge said the withdrawal was deliberately aimed at avoiding a case stated. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe judge decided to state a case to the High Court on the admissibility of the nomination forms. (offalyexpress.ie)
- sentenceThe prosecution of Mr O'Dea was adjourned to December 2. (offalyexpress.ie)
- otherSpeeding prosecutions involving nomination forms are on hold until a ruling is given. (offalyexpress.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 24 Mar2026Speeding prosecutions on hold as nomination forms issue is referred to High Court
Reports the 11 March 2026 hearing at Tullamore District Court, where the DPP's attempt to withdraw the summons and the judge's decision to state a case to the High Court were addressed. Gives the nomination form dispute and the adjournment date.
accused, John Christopher O'Dea, 63, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Christopher O'Dea