Spanish tourist rape victim seeks restorative justice meeting with convicted attacker Christopher O'Grady
A 19-year-old Spanish tourist was raped in a car park in Dublin city centre on January 1, 2019, during New Year's Eve celebrations. Christopher O'Grady, 33, formerly of Dundalk, Co Louth, who was homeless at the time, was found guilty of one count of rape following a trial in March 2025. At sentencing, the victim expressed a wish to meet O'Grady in a restorative justice process, and both parties confirmed they are willing to engage. Ms Justice Caroline Biggs warned O'Grady that restorative justice does not preclude a custodial sentence, and the case was adjourned to 24 July 2025 for the prosecution to investigate the process.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court30 Jun
- Convicted1 Jul
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- A 19-year-old Spanish tourist was raped in a car park area in Dublin city centre during New Year's Eve celebrations.
- After the rape, the victim walked with O'Grady through the city centre for about 40 minutes and subsequently had anal sex with a second man at a B&B, against whom no charge was brought.
- When
- The rape occurred on January 1, 2019.
- Where
- The offence took place in a car park area in Dublin city centre.
- Investigation
- O'Grady has 65 previous convictions and was taken on a bench warrant while on bail, being in custody since August 2024.
- In court
- O'Grady was found guilty of one count of rape following a trial in March 2025, with the defence submitting he was reckless as to whether the woman was consenting.
- CCTV footage of the B&B encounter was played in court during the trial.
- Ms Justice Caroline Biggs warned O'Grady that restorative justice does not mean he will not serve a custodial sentence.
- Other details
- The victim can no longer socialise or dance, is fearful of walking alone at night, and is hypervigilant of other young women out at night.
- Both O'Grady and the complainant are willing to engage in restorative justice; O'Grady accepts his guilt and wished to apologise, and the case was adjourned to 24 July 2025 for the prosecution to look into the process.
25 statements extracted from the articles
- whatIn each case, she allegedly handled, acquired, or otherwise dealt with proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishtimes.com)
- whatAll three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe victim was a 19-year-old Spanish tourist in Dublin to watch the New Year's Eve fireworks. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatAfter the rape, the victim walked with O'Grady back through the city centre for about 40 minutes. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe victim subsequently had anal sex with a second man at a B&B, and no charge was brought against him. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatNo charge was brought against the second man who gave evidence at the trial. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatO'Grady was found guilty following a trial in March 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe defence submitted O'Grady was reckless as to whether the woman was consenting. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatO'Grady now accepts his guilt and wished to apologise to the victim. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatBoth O'Grady and the complainant are willing to engage in restorative justice. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe victim can no longer socialise or dance, is fearful of walking alone at night, and is hypervigilant of other young women out at night. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe rape took place in a car park area in Dublin city centre. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe alleged offences occurred in 2019, 2020, and 2021. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe rape occurred on January 1, 2019 during New Year's Eve celebrations. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationO'Grady has 65 previous convictions including public order offences, criminal damage, drugs and theft. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationO'Grady was taken on a bench warrant while on bail and has been in custody since August 2024. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeCatriona Carey is charged with three offences under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeSteadmond and Maher are charged with 17 related charges, including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial of Catriona Carey on money-laundering charges is set for January 27, 2027, at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Orla Crowe listed the trial for January 27, 2027. (irishtimes.com)
- courtCCTV footage of the B&B encounter was played in court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtMs Justice Caroline Biggs warned O'Grady that restorative justice does not mean he will not serve a custodial sentence. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned to 24 July 2025 for the prosecution to look into restorative justice. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe trial is expected to take four to six weeks. (irishtimes.com)
- otherCatriona Carey is a former international hockey player and former financial adviser. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 1 Jul2025Tourist rape victim wants to meet attacker 'to ask how he could be so cruel'
Reports on the sentencing hearing where the victim expressed her desire for restorative justice; both parties willing to engage; case adjourned to 24 July 2025 for prosecution to investigate the process.
victim, 19, female, Spanish, non-irishconvicted, Christopher O'Grady, 33, male, named, irish (judged from name)Christopher O'Grady - 30 Jun2025Date in 2027 set for Catriona Carey money-laundering trial
Trial date set for January 27, 2027, expected to take four to six weeks; co-accused Steadmond and Maher adjourned to July 29 for further disclosure; separate company law case involving Carey, her brother Jack Carey, and Maher also adjourned to July 29 for arraignment.
accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 48, male, namedJohn Steadmondaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher