Case No. 15979TV licence offence (no TV licence) · Co. Clare · 26 Jan 2024

Sixmilebridge man fined for having no TV licence at Ennis District Court

James Scanlon, a man from Sixmilebridge in County Clare, was found by an An Post licence inspector to have no TV licence when the inspector called to his home on 26 January 2024. Scanlon was convicted at Ennis District Court, where Judge Alec Gabbett fined him €160 and ordered him to pay €80 in costs, with the case reported on 24 September 2024. Scanlon said he would not pay the fine or costs because of what he called corruption at RTÉ, and outside court he said he was willing to go to prison rather than pay.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced24 Sep
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
James Scanlon, a Sixmilebridge man described in the reports as a pharma worker, refused to pay his TV licence or any fines for not holding one.
Where
The case was heard at Ennis District Court in County Clare before Judge Alec Gabbett.
When
  • An An Post inspector called to Scanlon's home on 26 January 2024 and found he had no TV licence.
  • The court report on the conviction was published on 24 September 2024.
Investigation
An An Post licence inspector gave sworn evidence in court.
Charges
Scanlon was prosecuted for not having a TV licence, which costs €160 a year.
Cause
Scanlon said he would not pay because of what he called corruption at RTÉ and described the licence requirement as an unjust law.
Sentence
  • The judge convicted Scanlon and fined him €160 for not having a TV licence.
  • The judge ordered Scanlon to pay an additional €80 in costs.
Other details
  • Scanlon said he had no intention of paying the fine or the costs.
  • Outside court, Scanlon said he was willing to go to prison over the unpaid TV licence fine.
8 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatJames Scanlon, a Sixmilebridge man, refused to pay his TV licence or any fines. (clareecho.ie)
  • whereThe case was heard at Ennis District Court. (clareecho.ie)
  • whenAn An Post inspector called to Scanlon's home on 26 January 2024 and found he had no TV licence. (clareecho.ie)
  • investigationAn An Post licence inspector gave sworn evidence in court. (clareecho.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge convicted Scanlon and fined him €160 for not having a TV licence. (clareecho.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge ordered Scanlon to pay an additional €80 in costs. (clareecho.ie)
  • otherScanlon said he had no intention of paying the fine or costs because of corruption at RTÉ. (clareecho.ie)
  • otherOutside court, Scanlon said he was willing to go to prison over the unpaid TV licence fine. (clareecho.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 24 Sep2024
    Sixmilebridge man tells District Court he is refusing to pay TV licence due to "corruption in RTÉ" - Clare Echo

    First report of this case. It covers the Ennis District Court conviction, the €160 fine and €80 costs, and Scanlon's public statements about refusing to pay in protest at RTÉ.

    convicted, James Scanlon, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Scanlon