Case No. 2127Money laundering, possession of drugs, importation of drugs, theft, social welfare fraud, enhancing the ability of a criminal organisation to launder money · Co. Louth
Six women charged with money laundering and organised crime offences in Drogheda sent forward for trial
Six women were charged with money laundering, drug possession, theft and social welfare fraud offences allegedly linked to organised crime in Drogheda, and were sent forward for trial at Dundalk Circuit Court after appearing at Drogheda District Court on 10 March 2025.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged10 Mar
- In court
- Verdict
- Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet
Key facts
consolidated from all reports20 statements extracted from the articles
- whatSix women were charged with money laundering offences and other offences allegedly linked to organised crime in Drogheda (irishmirror.ie)
- whereAmy Murphy lives at Martello Close, Balbriggan, Co Dublin (irishmirror.ie)
- whereShannon Boylan lives in Moneymore, Drogheda (irishmirror.ie)
- wherePatricia Connor lives in Moneymore (irishmirror.ie)
- whereAlisha Thornton lives in Moneymore, Drogheda (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeAmy Murphy is charged with three counts of money laundering under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Act) between February 2020 and November 2022 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeAmy Murphy is charged with two counts of unlawful possession of drugs under Section 3 of the Misuse of Drugs Act (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeAmy Murphy is charged with two counts of possession with intent to supply under Section 15 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeAmy Murphy is charged with counts of theft and social welfare fraud (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeShannon Boylan is charged with two counts of enhancing the ability of a criminal organisation to launder money between 5 May 2021 and 28 November 2022 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeShannon Boylan is charged with two counts of money laundering via an AIB account between 25 November 2020 and 16 November 2022 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeShannon Boylan is charged with money laundering via a Revolut account between 5 May 2020 and 16 January 2021 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeShannon Boylan is charged with importation of drugs in excess of €13,000 between 29 October 2022 and 28 November 2022 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargePatricia Connor is charged with two counts of money laundering between October 2022 and June 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHannah O'Connor is charged with two counts of money laundering between 22 March 2019 and 24 November 2022 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHannah O'Connor is charged with money laundering on dates between 15 June 2020 and 5 December 2022 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHannah O'Connor is charged with breaching Section 251(1) of the Social Welfare Consolidation Act 2005 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHannah O'Connor is charged with theft of Social Welfare payments amounting to €49,000 from the Minister of Social Protection (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe six women appeared before Drogheda District Court on Monday 10 March 2025 and were served with books of evidence (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThey were formally sent forward to Dundalk Circuit Court to face trial by judge and jury later in the year (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 10 Mar2025Six women charged with offences allegedly linked to organised crime
Details the specific charges against each of the six women, their addresses, the court proceedings at Drogheda District Court, and their remand on continuing bail to appear at Dundalk Circuit Court on 1 April 2025.
accused, Amy Murphy, 25, female, named, irish (judged from name)Amy Murphyaccused, Shannon Boylan, 23, female, named, irish (judged from name)Shannon Boylanaccused, Patricia Connor, 42, female, named, irish (judged from name)Patricia Connoraccused, 26, female, irish (judged from name)accused, Alisha Thornton, 21, female, named, irish (judged from name)Alisha Thorntonaccused, Bernadette Thornton, 44, female, named, irish (judged from name)Bernadette Thornton