Case No. 7527Money laundering and terrorism financing · Co. Dublin

Six charged with money laundering and terrorism financing offences in Dublin

Four men and two women were charged on Tuesday 12 September 2023 with money laundering and international terrorism financing, following a Garda Special Detective Unit investigation into alleged offences in the 2010s in Dublin. The six are Oybek Jabbarov, Atica Umat (68), Fatime Jabbarov (43), Muhammad Amin (37), Abdurahim Mhadhbi (25) and Dawood Mhadhbi (22), and the reports describe the six collectively as Uzbek and nationals. The charges, which follow Director of Public Prosecutions directions for about 200 charges, were brought at Garda stations around the city, and Oybek Jabbarov is accused of 101 offences. The six appeared before Judge Bryan Smyth at Dublin District Court, where the DPP directed a trial on indictment, no objection was made to bail with conditions, and five cases were adjourned to 23 October. The latest development is that Oybek Jabbarov was remanded in custody over a jurisdictional issue on bail for an additional charge, with his next hearing set for 19 September at Cloverhill District Court.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court12 Sep
    2 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Four men and two women were charged with money laundering and international terrorism financing.
Where
The six were charged at Garda stations around Dublin.
When
  • The six were charged on Tuesday morning, 12 September 2023.
  • The alleged money laundering offences took place in the 2010s.
Investigation
The charges followed an investigation by the Garda Special Detective Unit.
Charges
  • The Director of Public Prosecutions directed about 200 charges, described as 200 counts in one article.
  • Oybek Jabbarov is accused of 101 offences, and faces an additional charge of directing a criminal organisation from 2009 to 2019.
  • Atica Umat, Oybek Jabbarov and Muhammad Amin face further charges under the Criminal Justice (Terrorist Offences) Act 2005 for collecting, receiving or providing funds for a terrorist group.
In court
  • The six appeared before Judge Bryan Smyth at Dublin District Court.
  • The DPP directed a trial on indictment, and no objection was made to bail with conditions.
  • The judge adjourned five cases until 23 October, when prosecutors are to serve books of evidence.
  • Oybek Jabbarov was remanded in custody because of a jurisdictional issue over bail for his additional charge.
  • Abdurahim Mhadhbi asked to keep sending money capped at €150 a week to his family in Uzbekistan, but the judge refused after garda objections.
  • Four defendants received legal aid, and the co-defendants were granted €500 bail with conditions.
Other details
Oybek Jabbarov's next hearing is on 19 September at Cloverhill District Court.
32 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatSix people were accused of money laundering and international terrorism financing. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatFour men and two women arrested in Dublin have been accused of money laundering and international terrorism financing. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe six were charged at Garda stations around the city. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe six were charged on the morning of the article, 12 September 2023. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe six were charged on a Tuesday morning. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe alleged money laundering offences were in the 2010s. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe charges followed a probe by the Garda Special Detective Unit. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe charges followed an investigation by the Garda Special Detective Unit. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe Director of Public Prosecutions directed about 200 charges to be brought. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeOybek Jabbarov is accused of 101 offences. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeAll six were charged with money laundering over alleged offences in the 2010s. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeAtica Umat, Oybek Jabbarov and Muhammad Amin face further charges under the Criminal Justice (Terrorist Offences) Act 2005. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeOybek Jabbarov has an additional charge of directing a criminal organisation from 2009 to 2019. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeThe DPP issued directions to bring about 200 charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeOybek Jabbarov faces an additional charge for directing a criminal organisation from 2009 to 2019. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThree accused have further charges under the Criminal Justice (Terrorist Offences) Act 2005 for collecting, receiving or providing funds for a terrorist group. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe six were brought before Judge Bryan Smyth at Dublin District Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtNo objection was made to bail with conditions. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed a trial on indictment and the judge adjourned five cases until 23 October. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtOybek Jabbarov was remanded in custody because of a jurisdictional issue over bail for his extra charge. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge refused Abdurahim Mhadhbi's request to keep sending money abroad after garda objections. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtOybek Jabbarov's next hearing is on 19 September at Cloverhill District Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe six appeared before Judge Bryan Smyth at Dublin District Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThere was no objection to bail with conditions. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP directed a trial on indictment at a higher level. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge adjourned five of the cases until October 23rd, when prosecutors are to serve books of evidence. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtOybek Jabbarov's next hearing is on September 19th at Cloverhill District Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe co-defendants were granted €500 bail with conditions. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtAbdurahim Mhadhbi asked to keep sending money to his family, but the judge refused after garda objections. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtFour defendants received legal aid. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceHis co-defendants were granted €500 bail with conditions. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherAbdurahim Mhadhbi had asked to keep sending money capped at €150 a week to his family in Uzbekistan. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 13 Sep2023
    Six charged with 200 counts of money laundering and international terrorism financing

    First court appearance of six people charged with about 200 offences. Details the charges, bail decisions and the next hearing dates.

    accused, Atica Umat, 68, female, named, non-irish (judged from name)Atica Umataccused, Fatime Jabbarov, 43, female, named, non-irish (judged from name)Fatime Jabbarovaccused, Oybek Jabbarov, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Oybek Jabbarovaccused, Muhammad Amin, 37, named, non-irish (judged from name)Muhammad Aminaccused, Abdurahim Mhadhbi, 25, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Abdurahim Mhadhbiaccused, Dawood Mhadhbi, 22, named, non-irish (judged from name)Dawood Mhadhbi
  2. 12 Sep2023
    Six arrested in Dublin accused of financing international terrorism

    First report of the charges against six people and their District Court appearance. Gives the charges, ages, bail conditions and next court dates.

    accused, Oybek Jabbarov, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Oybek Jabbarovaccused, Atica Umat, 68, female, named, non-irish (judged from name)Atica Umataccused, Fatime Jabbarov, 43, named, non-irish (judged from name)Fatime Jabbarovaccused, Muhammad Amin, 37, named, non-irish (judged from name)Muhammad Aminaccused, Abdurahim Mhadhbi, 25, named, non-irish (judged from name)Abdurahim Mhadhbiaccused, Dawood Mhadhbi, 22, named, non-irish (judged from name)Dawood Mhadhbi