Seven men to stand trial over violent disorder in Dublin
Gardaí responded to reports of a disturbance at a property on Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, on 30 August 2024, when several people were taken to Mater Hospital with non-life-threatening injuries. Following an investigation by the Garda Special Detective Unit, seven men aged 32 to 55 were arrested and charged with violent disorder in October 2026. They appeared before Dublin District Court on 20 October 2026, where the DPP authorised trial on indictment. The men were remanded on station bail and ordered to appear again on 27 November for service of the book of evidence.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged20 Oct
- In court1 Oct
6 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- A disturbance occurred at a property on Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, and several people were taken to Mater Hospital with non-life-threatening injuries, including two men.
- Where
- The incident took place at a property on Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, though one source refers to Dublin 7.
- When
- The disturbance occurred on Friday, 30 August 2024.
- Investigation
- The Garda Special Detective Unit investigated the incident and a file was forwarded to the Director of Public Prosecutions.
- Charges
- Seven men were arrested and charged with violent disorder under Section 15 of the Criminal Justice Public Order Act 1994 in October 2026.
- In court
- The seven men appeared before Judge Karen Dowling at Dublin District Court on 20 October 2026, where the DPP authorised trial on indictment.
- The men were remanded on station bail and ordered to appear again on 27 November 2026 for service of the book of evidence and a return for trial order.
- Other details
- The seven accused are Conor Hughes (49), Rhys Kane (32), Darren Fox (37), Keith Hogan (43), Darren Weldon (55), Conor Mills (45), and Dean Shannon (40 or 41), all with Dublin addresses.
- Most of the accused had no legal representation at the hearing due to Dublin solicitors' industrial action over legal aid payment reforms.
- Rhys Kane did not appear in court due to a bereavement, and Darren Weldon made no reply to his charge.
69 statements extracted from the articles
- whatSeveral people were taken from the scene to Mater hospital to be treated for non-life-threatening injuries (thejournal.ie)
- whatSeven men were arrested and charged in connection with the incident earlier in October 2026 (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe men are aged from their 20s to their 50s. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatSeveral people were taken to Mater Hospital with non-life-threatening injuries. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatTwo men were among those taken to hospital after being injured. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatSeveral people were taken to Mater Hospital for non-life-threatening injuries. (dublinlive.ie, rte.ie)
- whatTwo men were among those taken to hospital after being injured during the disturbance. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatSeven Dublin men were charged with violent disorder (gript.ie)
- whatA number of persons were conveyed to Mater Hospital suffering non-life-threatening injuries (gript.ie)
- whatGardaí responded to reports of a disturbance at the property. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe charge relates to violent disorder at a property on Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, in August 2024. (garda.ie)
- whereThe disturbance took place at a property on Ormond Quay, Dublin 1. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe incident took place at a property on Ormond Quay, Dublin 1 (gript.ie)
- whereThe disturbance was at a property at Ormond Quay, Dublin 1. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe disturbance took place at a property on Ormond Quay in Dublin. (rte.ie)
- whenGardaí responded to reports of a disturbance at a property at Ormond Quay, Dublin 1, on 30 August 2024 (thejournal.ie)
- whenGardaí responded to reports of a disturbance on Friday, 30 August 2024. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe disturbance at the property occurred on Friday, 30 August 2024. (dublinlive.ie)
- whenThe incident occurred in August 2024 (gript.ie)
- whenThe disturbance took place on August 30th, 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe incident occurred on Friday 30 August 2024. (rte.ie)
- whenGardaí responded to reports of a violent disturbance on Friday 30 August 2024. (garda.ie)
- investigationThe Garda Special Detective Unit investigated and prepared a file forwarded to the DPP (thejournal.ie)
- investigationThe men were arrested and charged earlier in October 2026. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe investigation was carried out by the Garda Special Detective Unit. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí at Store Street investigated the circumstances. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationA file was prepared and forwarded to the Director of Public Prosecutions. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- investigationGardaí at Store Street investigated the circumstances surrounding the incident. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationThe investigation was led by the Garda Special Detective Unit (gript.ie)
- investigationThe Garda Special Detective Unit investigated, and a file was sent to the DPP. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe case is being investigated by the Special Detective Unit. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe investigation was conducted by the Special Detective Unit. (garda.ie)
- chargeThe men were charged with violent disorder at Ormond Quay, Dublin 7 on 30 August 2024 (thejournal.ie)
- chargeAll seven men are charged with violent disorder under Section 15 of the Criminal Justice Public Order Act 1994 (gript.ie)
- chargeSeven men were arrested and charged in connection with the incident earlier in the month. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe men were charged with violent disorder at Ormond Quay on August 30th, 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeSeven men were charged with violent disorder. (rte.ie)
- courtThe seven men appeared before Judge Karen Dowling at Dublin District Court on Tuesday (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe six co-defendants had been charged earlier and were all on station bail (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge Karen Dowling noted there was no objection to the men remaining on bail (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe DPP authorised trial on indictment at a higher level (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
- courtThe seven men have yet to enter pleas (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe men were ordered to appear again on 27 November for service of books of evidence and a return for trial order (thejournal.ie)
- courtSeven men are due to appear before Dublin District Court on 20 October 2026. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- courtAll seven accused are expected to appear at the Criminal Courts of Justice, Court No. 4, at 10.30am. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtAll seven accused are expected to appear before the Criminal Courts of Justice, Court No. 4, at 10.30am. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe men were remanded on station bail (gript.ie)
- courtThe men are to appear before Dublin District Court on 27 November (gript.ie)
- courtThe judge noted no objection to the seven accused remaining on bail. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe men have yet to enter pleas. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe men were ordered to return on November 27th. (irishtimes.com)
- courtSix of the seven appeared before Dublin District Court. (rte.ie)
- courtAll were remanded on bail to appear on 27 November for service of the book of evidence. (rte.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Criminal Court. (rte.ie)
- courtSeven individuals were scheduled to appear before Dublin District Court on 20 October 2026. (garda.ie)
- courtThe file was forwarded to the Director of Public Prosecutions. (garda.ie)
- courtAll seven were expected to appear before Court No. 4 at 10:30am. (garda.ie)
- otherMost of the seven men had no legal representation (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe cases entered the court system amid escalated industrial action with most Dublin solicitors withdrawing services over legal aid payment reforms (thejournal.ie)
- otherSeveral people were taken to the Mater Hospital for non-life-threatening injuries. (irishtimes.com)
- otherOne accused made no reply to his charge. (irishtimes.com)
- otherMost of the accused had no legal representation at the hearing. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe cases came amid industrial action by Dublin solicitors over legal aid payment reforms. (irishtimes.com)
- otherAll seven accused are from Dublin. (rte.ie)
- otherDean Shannon was told to the court he was not working and would apply for legal aid. (rte.ie)
- otherDarren Weldon made no reply to the charge. (rte.ie)
- otherRhys Kane did not appear in court due to a bereavement. (rte.ie)
- otherSeveral persons were taken to Mater Hospital for non-life-threatening injuries. (garda.ie)
- otherSeven males ranging in age from their 20s to their 50s were arrested and charged. (garda.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 20 Oct202620/10/2026 Court Appearances - Violent Disorder Ormond Quay, Dublin – 30th August 2024
Confirms the seven defendants appeared before Dublin District Court, Court No. 4, at 10:30am on 20 October 2026; investigation was carried out by the Special Detective Unit and the file was forwarded to the DPP.
accused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, male - 20 Oct2026Seven men charged over Dublin disorder two years ago
First report of the charges. Six of seven accused appeared in court; the seventh did not appear due to a bereavement. DPP directed trial on indictment.
accused, Conor Hughes, 49, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor Hughesaccused, Daren Fox, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Daren Foxaccused, Keith Hogan, 43, male, named, irish (judged from name)Keith Hoganaccused, Conor Mills, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor Millsaccused, Dean Shannon, 40, male, named, irish (judged from name)Dean Shannonaccused, Darren Weldon, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Darren Weldonaccused, Rhys Kane, 32, male, named, irish (judged from name)Rhys Kane - 20 Oct2026Seven men in court over violent disturbance on Dublin’s Ormond Quay
Details the 20 October 2026 court appearance before Judge Karen Dowling, DPP authorization of trial on indictment, Weldon's 'no reply' to his charge, and adjournment to 27 November 2026 for books of evidence and return for trial order. Notes most defendants lacked legal representation due to Dublin solicitors' industrial action over legal aid payment reforms.
accused, Conor Hughes, 49, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor Hughesaccused, Rhys Kane, 32, male, named, irish (judged from name)Rhys Kaneaccused, Darren Fox, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Darren Foxaccused, Keith Hogan, 43, male, named, irish (judged from name)Keith Hoganaccused, Darren Weldon, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Darren Weldonaccused, Conor Mills, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor Millsaccused, Dean Shannon, 40, male, named, irish (judged from name)Dean Shannon - 20 Oct2026Seven Dublin men charged with violent disorder - Gript
Confirms the seven men are charged under Section 15 of the Criminal Justice Public Order Act 1994, remanded on station bail, and due to appear before Dublin District Court on 27 November 2026. Identifies the investigation as led by the Garda Special Detective Unit and provides full addresses for each accused.
accused, Conor Mills, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor Millsaccused, Dean Shannon, 41, male, named, irish (judged from name)Dean Shannonaccused, Rhys Kane, 32, male, named, irish (judged from name)Rhys Kaneaccused, Darren Fox, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Darren Foxaccused, Keith Hogan, 43, male, named, irish (judged from name)Keith Hoganaccused, Darren Weldon, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Darren Weldonaccused, Connor Hughes, 49, male, named, irish (judged from name)Connor Hughes - 20 Oct2026Seven men to appear in court over alleged violent disorder at Dublin property
Reports the court appearance at Criminal Courts of Justice, Court No. 4, at 10.30am on 20 October 2026; confirms Gardaí at Store Street investigated and the file was forwarded to the DPP; notes two men were among those taken to Mater Hospital.
accused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, maleaccused, malevictim, malevictim, male - 20 Oct2026Seven men to appear in court over alleged violent disorder at Dublin property
Confirms the seven accused are due to appear at the Criminal Courts of Justice, Court No. 4, at 10.30am on 20 October 2026, and that the file was forwarded to the DPP following a Special Detective Unit investigation.
suspect, malesuspect, malesuspect, malesuspect, malesuspect, malesuspect, malesuspect, male - 1 Oct2026Seven men to stand trial over violent incident in city centre
Reports the pre-trial court appearance where the DPP authorised trial on indictment, Weldon made no reply to his charge, the six co-defendants' charging was evidenced by certificate, and the men were ordered to appear again on 27 November. Notes that most had no legal representation due to solicitor industrial action over legal aid payment reforms.
suspect, Conor Hughes, 49, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor Hughessuspect, Rhys Kane, 32, male, named, irish (judged from name)Rhys Kanesuspect, Darren Fox, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Darren Foxsuspect, Keith Hogan, 43, male, named, irish (judged from name)Keith Hogansuspect, Darren Weldon, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Darren Weldonsuspect, Conor Mills, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor Millssuspect, Dean Shannon, 40, male, named, irish (judged from name)Dean Shannon