Case No. 2067Medical negligence (civil personal injury) · Co. Dublin · 20 Jan 2020

Sean O'Donnell's family settle High Court action over water intoxication death at St Vincent's Hospital

Sean O'Donnell, a 59-year-old man and father of three, died of water intoxication at St Vincent's University Hospital in Dublin on 20 January 2020 after a day procedure, and the coroner returned a verdict of medical misadventure. The family settled a High Court action in which the hospital admitted a breach of duty of care, and the statutory €35,000 mental distress payment was divided. Separately, Eileen Lawrence (52), Patrick Lawrence (54), Tom Lawrence (24) and John Lawrence (26), all Irish, of Lucan, Dublin, were sentenced in March 2025 for making personal injury claims using false names between 2010 and 2016. Patrick received a two-year prison term, Eileen a three-year sentence suspended in full, and Tom and John one-year suspended sentences.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court18 Mar
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced18 Mar
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Sean O'Donnell, a 59-year-old man and father of three, died of water intoxication after drinking excessive amounts of water following a day procedure.
  • Eileen Lawrence (52), Patrick Lawrence (54), Tom Lawrence (24) and John Lawrence (26), all Irish, of Lucan, Dublin, made personal injury claims for road traffic incidents and falls using false names between 2010 and 2016.
Where
The death occurred at St Vincent's University Hospital in Dublin.
When
The incident occurred on 20 January 2020.
Cause
Water intoxication caused cerebral oedema, seizures, cardiac arrest and death.
In court
  • The coroner returned a verdict of medical misadventure and recommended mandatory training in cases of low sodium and for water input and output.
  • The family settled a High Court action in which St Vincent's admitted a breach of duty of care, and the statutory €35,000 mental distress payment was divided.
Investigation
An insurance company hired a private investigator who photographed the family attending medical appointments under false names, and Gardaí found correspondence from the false identities at the family's address and claim money paid into a family member's bank account.
Charges
Patrick Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception (2013-2018), Eileen Lawrence to deception and attempted deception (2010-2016), Tom Lawrence to attempted deception (2016), and John Lawrence to deception and attempted deception (2014-2016).
Sentence
In March 2025, Judge Martin Nolan sentenced Patrick Lawrence to two years in prison, Eileen Lawrence to three years suspended in full on strict conditions, and Tom and John Lawrence to one-year suspended sentences.
Other details
  • Patrick Lawrence has six previous convictions for theft and road traffic offences, while Eileen Lawrence has no previous convictions.
  • Grandmother Winnifred Lawrence (74) was jailed in 2024 for three and a half years with the final 18 months suspended for making similar claims between 2012 and 2014.
25 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe family made personal injury claims for road traffic incidents and falls using false names between 2010 and 2016. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe family instructed solicitors, attended doctors and swore affidavits using false identities to pursue the claims. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatMost of the claims were unsuccessful but a number were paid out. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatPatrick Lawrence made four false claims under two false names, with one claim resulting in a payout of €9,370. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatEileen Lawrence made five claims under two false identities, with one successful claim paying out €15,000 in 2014. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatTom Lawrence made an unsuccessful claim for a trip and fall in 2016 under a false name and was 16 at the time. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatJohn Lawrence made four claims under false names, with one successful claim netting €6,155 in 2015, and was under 18 at the time. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatSean O'Donnell was a father of three and a business manager. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatIt was alleged there was a failure to properly identify, evaluate or treat his deteriorating condition. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe family has addresses at Moyglas Glade, Lucan, Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationAn insurance company hired a private investigator who took photos of the family attending medical appointments under false names. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationGardaí were alerted and the investigation unearthed correspondence from the false identities at the accused persons' address and claim money paid into a bank account of one family member. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe family was arrested and interviewed in 2019. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargePatrick Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception on dates between 2013 and 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeEileen Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception on dates between 2010 and 2016. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeTom Lawrence pleaded guilty to one count of attempted deception in 2016. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeJohn Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception on dates between 2014 and 2016. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe coroner returned a verdict of medical misadventure. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe family settled the High Court action and the statutory €35,000 mental distress payment was divided. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceJudge Martin Nolan imposed a two-year prison sentence on Patrick Lawrence. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceJudge Nolan imposed one-year suspended sentences on Tom and John Lawrence. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceJudge Nolan imposed a three-year prison sentence on Eileen Lawrence, suspended in full, on strict conditions. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherPatrick Lawrence has six previous convictions for theft and road traffic offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherEileen Lawrence has no previous convictions. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe coroner recommended mandatory training in cases of low sodium and for water input and output. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 18 Mar2025
    Man who drank excessive amount of water after hospital procedure died from water intoxication, court hears

    Reports the settlement of the High Court action, with St Vincent's admitting breach of duty of care, and details the coroner's earlier verdict of medical misadventure and recommendation for mandatory training.

    victim, 59, male, irish (judged from name)victim, Gail McGuinness, female, irish (judged from name)Gail McGuinness
  2. 18 Mar2025
    Jail term suspended for mother over insurance fraud using false identities

    Sentencing of four family members for multigenerational insurance claim fraud; mentions grandmother Winnifred Lawrence's separate 2024 sentence for similar offences.

    convicted, Eileen Lawrence, 52, female, named, irish (judged from name)Eileen Lawrenceconvicted, Patrick Lawrence, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Lawrenceconvicted, Tom Lawrence, 24, male, named, irish (judged from name)Tom Lawrenceconvicted, John Lawrence, 26, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Lawrence