Case No. 3904Road traffic collision (fatal), hit-and-run · Co. Dublin · 2 Dec 2011

Ruadhan Tracey's driving licence to be restored in May 2027 after 2011 hit-and-run killing of Conor Hickey

Ruadhan Tracey, 44, was told by Judge Orla Crowe at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court that his driving licence, disqualified for 20 years in 2014 after he fatally injured 14-year-old Conor Hickey in a hit-and-run in Cabra, Dublin, in December 2011, will be restored from May 12, 2027, under Section 29 of the Road Traffic Act 1961.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court4 Feb
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
20 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatHe and a friend had driven into the city to buy heroin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe road was wet that evening. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatTracey continued to drive at speed before parking up his car and going to buy the drugs. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatConor Hickey suffered serious injuries when struck by the car and died the following day. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatTracey said he had taken methadone that day. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe reason he drove off was because he had no licence or insurance. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe incident occurred at Faussagh Road, in Cabra, on December 2, 2011. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationTracey was arrested almost three weeks later. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeTracey pleaded guilty to careless driving causing the death of Conor Hickey. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeTracey admitted a charge of failing to remain at the scene of an accident. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceTracey was disqualified from driving for 20 years in 2014. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceTracey received a 20-month prison sentence in 2014. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceJudge Crowe directed that Tracey's driving licence should be restored from May 12, 2027. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe maximum penalty available to the court was two years. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe maximum penalty for leaving the scene of an accident was 16 months. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherUnder Section 29 of the Road Traffic Act 1961, a person can apply for restoration after half the disqualification period has passed. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe court must set a date two-thirds of the way through the disqualification period, which would be May 2027. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherTracey has no previous disqualification. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe DPP submitted that the disqualification was the only penalty as Tracey was serving another sentence at the time. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherTracey had 54 previous convictions at the time for robbery, drug and road traffic offences. (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 4 Feb2026
    Hit and run driver who killed boy, 14, told when he can drive again

    Reports the court hearing at which Judge Orla Crowe directed that Tracey's 20-year driving disqualification be restored from May 12, 2027, noting the victim's family and gardaí opposed the restoration but the court found it appropriate under the Road Traffic Act 1961.

    convicted, Ruadhan Tracey, 44, male, named, irish (judged from name)Ruadhan Traceyvictim, Conor Hickey, 14, male, irish (judged from name)Conor Hickey