Ruadhan Tracey applies to restore driving licence after 2011 hit-and-run death of Conor Hickey
Ruadhan Tracey, 44, who was sentenced in 2014 for careless driving causing the death of 14-year-old Conor Hickey in a hit-and-run in Cabra, Dublin, in December 2011, applied to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on 28 January 2026 for the restoration of his driving licence, having been disqualified for 20 years. Judge Orla Crowe adjourned the application to 3 February 2026.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court28 Jan
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports31 statements extracted from the articles
- whatTracey was disqualified from driving for 20 years in 2014. (irishtimes.com)
- whatTracey also admitted to failing to remain at the scene of the accident. (irishtimes.com)
- whatConor Hickey was 14 years old at the time of his death. (irishtimes.com)
- whatConor Hickey suffered serious injuries and died the following day. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whatTracey admitted he had driven into the city with a friend to buy heroin. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe road was wet that evening. (irishtimes.com)
- whatTracey was arrested almost three weeks after the incident. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whatTracey said he took methadone that day and drove off because he had no licence or insurance. (irishtimes.com)
- whatTracey had 54 previous convictions for robbery, drug and road traffic offences at the time. (irishtimes.com)
- whatTracey received three further convictions in 2017 and 2018 for theft and interfering with an ATM. (irishtimes.com)
- whatWitnesses saw the boy waiting to cross the street and the car travelling at speed, hitting him as he put his foot on the road when the lights were in his favour. (irishtimes.com)
- whatConor had finished school that Friday, went to a local library to do homework, went home at about 4pm, then went out to meet friends. (irishtimes.com)
- whatRuadhan Tracey, 44, of Lagore Green, Dunshaughlin, Meath, applied for restoration of his driving licence. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatTracey continued to drive at speed before parking and going to buy drugs. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatWitnesses in cars at the junction of Faussagh Road saw the boy waiting to cross with the lights in his favour. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatWitness John Blake said the car came out of nowhere and must have been flying. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe incident occurred at Faussagh Road in Cabra, Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe fatal collision occurred at Faussagh Road, in Cabra, Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe incident occurred on 2 December 2011. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe hit-and-run occurred on 2 December 2011. (irishmirror.ie)
- causeA postmortem revealed Conor Hickey died as a result of head injuries. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeTracey also admitted a charge of failing to remain at the scene of an accident. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Orla Crowe adjourned the case to 3 February 2026. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe 2014 sentencing took place at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceTracey received a 20-month prison sentence in 2014 after pleading guilty. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherTracey was disqualified from driving for 20 years. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherTracey had 54 previous convictions at the time for robbery, drug and road traffic offences. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHe received three further convictions in 2017 and 2018 for theft and interfering with an ATM. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe family made the decision to turn off the life support system at 3.40pm. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherConor's parents asked for his organs to be donated. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherDefence counsel Padraic Dwyer SC said Tracey had a chronic drug addiction and was sorry for the grief caused. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 29 Jan2026Hit and run driver who killed boy, 14, in court bid to get driving licence back
Reports on Tracey's application to restore his driving licence, with evidence from the 2014 sentencing hearing, victim impact statements from the Hickey family, and witness accounts of the 2011 collision. The case was adjourned to 3 February 2026.
convicted, Ruadhan Tracey, 44, male, named, irish (judged from name)Ruadhan Traceyvictim, Conor Hickey, 14, male, irish (judged from name)Conor Hickey - 28 Jan2026Man disqualified from driving after teen killed in hit-and-run wants licence restored
Details the licence restoration application, evidence from the 2014 sentencing hearing, the victim's family's opposition, and the adjournment to 3 February 2026.
victim, Conor Hickey, 14, male, irish (judged from name)Conor Hickeyconvicted, Ruadhan Tracey, 44, male, named, irish (judged from name)Ruadhan Tracey