Robert O'Connor sent forward for trial on murder of parents and brother in Drumgowna, Co. Louth
Robert O'Connor, 31, was sent forward to the Central Criminal Court at Drogheda District Court on 22 December 2025 to face trial on indictment for the murder of his parents Mark O'Connor (54) and Louise O'Connor (56) and his brother Evan O'Connor (27), all found dead at their home in Drumgowna, Louth Village, on 29 September 2025.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court24 Nov
4 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports34 statements extracted from the articles
- whatRobert O'Connor is charged with the murder of his mother Louise Doherty O'Connor, his father Mark O'Connor and his brother Evan O'Connor. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe three victims were found dead at their home in Drumgowna. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe killings are alleged to have happened at Drumgowna, Co Louth. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe murders took place at Drumgowna, Co. Louth. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe victims were found dead at their home in Drumgowna (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe three victims were found dead on Monday, 29 September. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe alleged murders took place on 29 September. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe murders occurred on 29 September 2025. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe victims were found dead on 29 September 2025 (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe book of evidence is expected to be ready in four weeks, with consent from the defence. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeRobert O’Connor is charged with three counts of murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe accused appeared in custody at Drogheda District Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed that the accused is to face trial on indictment in the Central Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe defence sought preliminary disclosure before the book of evidence, and the judge declined and told the defence to write to the State. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe accused was remanded to appear again on Monday, 22 December. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case was further adjourned at Drogheda District Court on a Monday. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe accused appeared in court in person. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case had previously been adjourned pending preparation of a book of evidence. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP has directed that the accused be tried on indictment in the Central Criminal Court in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- courtA State solicitor assured gardaí that the book of evidence would be ready in four weeks. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe defence consented to the accused being further remanded in custody for four weeks. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe accused was remanded in custody to appear at Drogheda District Court on 22 December for the book of evidence to be served on him in person. (irishtimes.com)
- courtO'Connor was returned for trial from Drogheda District Court on Monday 21 December 2025. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP directed he be returned for trial to the Central Criminal Court in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- courtA book of evidence had been served on the accused. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Nicola Andrews presided over the hearing. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge warned the defendant that if he intended to rely on an alibi defence, he must give details in writing within 14 days. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge directed that any Garda interviews with the accused be given to the defence. (irishtimes.com)
- courtFree legal aid was granted to cover a solicitor, two counsel and a psychiatric report. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Nicola Andrews gave the accused an alibi warning requiring notification within 14 days (irishmirror.ie)
- courtA Section 56 order was granted to include videos of Garda interviews with the accused (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe judge extended a legal aid certificate to include a psychiatric report (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe DPP also directed that the accused can be sent forward on a signed guilty plea for sentence, should that arise. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherRobert O'Connor's solicitor is Paul J Moore who was assigned two counsel (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 22 Dec2025Man charged with murder of parents and brother sent forward for trial
The book of evidence was served and O'Connor was sent forward to the Central Criminal Court for trial on indictment. He received an alibi warning, a Section 56 order was granted for interview videos, and a legal aid certificate was extended to include a psychiatric report.
accused, 31, male, irish (judged from name)victim, Mark O'Connor, 54, male, irish (judged from name)Mark O'Connorvictim, Louise O'Connor, 56, female, irish (judged from name)Louise O'Connorvictim, Evan O'Connor, 27, male, irish (judged from name)Evan O'Connor - 22 Dec2025Louth man accused of murdering his parents and brother returned for trial
Trial preparation hearing at Drogheda District Court where O'Connor was returned for trial to the Central Criminal Court, granted free legal aid covering a solicitor, two counsel and a psychiatric report, warned on alibi defence, and remanded in custody.
accused, Robert O'Connor, 31, male, named, irish (judged from name)Robert O'Connorvictim, female, irish (judged from name)victim, male, irish (judged from name)victim, male, irish (judged from name) - 24 Nov2025Further remand for man accused of murdering parents and brother in Co Louth
Court report on a further remand hearing at Drogheda District Court. The DPP has directed trial on indictment in the Central Criminal Court, the book of evidence is due in four weeks, and the accused was remanded in custody to 22 December.
accused, Robert O'Connor, 31, male, named, irish (judged from name)Robert O'Connorvictim, Louise Doherty O'Connor, female, irish (judged from name)Louise Doherty O'Connorvictim, Mark O'Connor, male, irish (judged from name)Mark O'Connorvictim, Evan O'Connor, male, irish (judged from name)Evan O'Connor - 24 Nov2025Man charged with the murder of parents and brother appears in court
Adds the Drogheda District Court hearing on Monday 24 November 2025, where the accused was charged with three counts of murder, the DPP directions for trial on indictment and a signed guilty plea for sentence, and the defence request for preliminary disclosure, which the judge refused.
accused, Robert O'Connor, 31, male, named, irish (judged from name)Robert O'Connorvictim, Mark O'Connor, 54, male, irish (judged from name)Mark O'Connorvictim, Louise O'Connor, 56, female, irish (judged from name)Louise O'Connorvictim, Evan O'Connor, 27, male, irish (judged from name)Evan O'Connor