Case No. 0437Corruption, facilitating serious offences by a criminal organisation, bribery, perverting the course of public justice · Co. Dublin

Retired Garda superintendent John Murphy granted bail in multi-defendant corruption case

A retired Garda superintendent and four serving Gardaí face corruption and related charges in a multi-defendant investigation in Dublin. John Murphy, the retired superintendent, was charged by the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation in April 2026 and remanded in custody. On 7 August 2026, Murphy appeared via video-link at Dublin District Court, where a five-week adjournment was granted, and he subsequently obtained bail in the High Court. The Director of Public Prosecutions has directed that co-defendants Insp Brian Roberts, 51, Garda Eoghan Clerkin, 51, Garda Manus Keane, 46, and Det Aidan Stratford, 50, face trial on indictment.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court7 Aug
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
A retired Garda superintendent and four serving Gardaí are accused of corruption, facilitating serious offences by a criminal organisation, bribery, and perverting the course of public justice.
Where
The case is in Dublin, with one charge relating to an address in west Dublin.
When
The alleged offences span from 2014 to 2021, and Murphy was charged in April 2026.
Charges
  • Murphy is alleged to have facilitated serious offences by a criminal organisation between April 2016 and September 2021 under section 72 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006, faces seven bribery charges under the Criminal Justice (Corruption Offences) Act 2018, and four common law charges for communicating with a serving garda to pervert the course of public justice from April 2016 to January 2018.
  • Insp Brian Roberts, 51, is accused of unlawfully disclosing confidential information on 10 October 2018.
  • Garda Eoghan Clerkin, 51, is accused of attempting to obtain a gift inducement corruptly on 19 February 2018, unlawfully possessing 33 rifle rounds and 73 rounds of 9mm ammunition in west Dublin, and facilitating a serious offence by a criminal organisation from January 2018 to June 2019.
  • Garda Manus Keane, 46, is charged with disclosing confidential information on 13 November 2014 that was likely to have a harmful effect.
  • Det Aidan Stratford, 50, is accused of contributing to activities to facilitate serious offences by a criminal organisation from 2016 to 2021 and faces a further 170 charges including disclosing confidential information or corruptly accepting a gift, inducement, or reward.
Investigation
The Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation charged Murphy in April 2026 and he was remanded in custody.
In court
  • Murphy appeared via video-link before Judge Alan Mitchell at Dublin District Court on 7 August 2026, where a five-week adjournment was granted for the co-defendants.
  • Murphy obtained bail in the High Court.
  • The Director of Public Prosecutions directed that the four serving Gardaí face trial on indictment.
16 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatA retired Garda superintendent was granted bail after being accused of facilitating a criminal organisation to commit serious offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation charged Murphy in April and he was remanded in custody. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy is alleged to have participated in activities to facilitate serious offences by a criminal organisation between April 2016 and September 2021 under section 72 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy faces seven bribery charges under the Criminal Justice (Corruption Offences) Act 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy faces four common law charges for communicating with a serving garda to pervert the course of public justice from April 2016 to January 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeInsp Brian Roberts, 51, is accused of unlawfully disclosing confidential information on 10 October 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Eoghan Clerkin, 51, is accused of attempting to obtain a gift inducement corruptly on 19 February 2018 under the Prevention of Corruption Act. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeClerkin is accused of unlawfully possessing 33 rifle rounds and 73 rounds of 9mm ammunition at an address in west Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeClerkin is accused of facilitating the commission of a serious offence by a criminal organisation from January 2018 to June 2019. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Manus Keane, 46, is charged with disclosing confidential information on 13 November 2014 that was likely to have a harmful effect. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeDet Aidan Stratford, 50, is accused of contributing to activities to facilitate serious offences by a criminal organisation from 2016 to 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeStratford has another 170 charges including disclosing confidential information or corruptly accepting a gift, inducement, or reward. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMurphy appeared via video-link before Judge Alan Mitchell at Dublin District Court on Friday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMurphy obtained bail in the High Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP directed that the four men are to face trial on indictment. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtProsecutions have commenced against four serving members of the force. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 7 Aug2026
    Former garda accused of facilitating crime gang to commit serious offences granted bail

    Reports that John Murphy obtained bail in the High Court and that a five-week adjournment was granted at Dublin District Court; details charges against Murphy and four co-defendants (Roberts, Clerkin, Keane, Stratford) in the multi-defendant corruption investigation.

    accused, John Murphy, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Murphyaccused, Brian Roberts, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Brian Robertsaccused, Eoghan Clerkin, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Eoghan Clerkinaccused, Manus Keane, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Manus Keaneaccused, Aidan Stratford, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Aidan Stratford