Case No. 0437Corruption, facilitating serious offences by a criminal organisation, bribery, perverting the course of public justice · Co. Dublin

Retired garda further charged with conspiracy in Dublin corruption case

Retired Irish Garda superintendent John Murphy, 65, and three serving Irish gardaí, Manus Keane, 46, Detective Aidan Stratford, 50, and Detective Eoghan Clerkin, 51, were charged in April 2026 by the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation with corruption, facilitating serious offences by a criminal organisation, bribery, and perverting the course of public justice, with alleged activity spanning April 2016 to September 2021 in Dublin. Murphy and Stratford were remanded in custody, Keane was granted bail, and Clerkin was remanded. Murphy obtained bail in the High Court in August 2026. In September 2026, Murphy and Stratford were further charged with conspiring to deceive people out of money, the single charge against Detective Inspector Brian Roberts was withdrawn, and the DPP directed that the four remaining defendants face trial on indictment on 189 charges.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Charged13 Apr
    2 reports
  4. In court1 Apr
    8 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
A retired Garda superintendent and three serving gardaí were charged with corruption, facilitating serious offences by a criminal organisation, bribery, and perverting the course of public justice.
Where
Dublin.
When
Alleged activity spans April 2016 to September 2021.
Investigation
The Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation has been investigating alleged organised crime activity since 2021.
Charges
  • John Murphy, 65, a retired Garda superintendent, faces 12 charges including seven bribery charges and four common law charges for perverting the course of public justice.
  • Detective Aidan Stratford, 50, from north Dublin, faces 170 charges including facilitating serious offences by a criminal organisation.
  • Garda Manus Keane, 46, from south Dublin, is charged with a single offence for disclosing confidential information to Stratford on 13 November 2014.
  • Detective Eoghan Clerkin, 51, was charged with three offences including corruptly attempting to obtain a gift, facilitating a serious offence by a criminal organisation, and unlawfully possessing 33 rifle rounds and 73 rounds of 9mm ammunition.
  • Murphy and Stratford were further charged with conspiring to induce people by deception to part with money.
In court
  • The DPP directed that the four remaining defendants face trial on indictment on 189 charges.
  • Murphy and Stratford were remanded in custody, Keane was granted bail, and Clerkin was remanded in custody.
Other details
The single charge against Detective Inspector Brian Roberts was withdrawn in September 2026.
106 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatA retired Garda Superintendent is to stand trial accused of facilitating a crime gang, perverting the course of justice and corruption, while two other serving officers face 171 connected charges. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatJohn Murphy, 65, Manus Keane, and Detective Aidan Stratford were arrested on Wednesday following a probe by the NBCI. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatMurphy was charged just after 10 am and made no reply after caution to his 12 charges. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatStratford was arrested just after 11 am and charged with 170 offences, replying 'I deny the charge'. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatA detective garda is accused of facilitating a serious offence by an organised crime gang, bribery and possessing over 100 rounds of ammunition. (rte.ie)
  • whatA retired Garda superintendent was granted bail after being accused of facilitating a criminal organisation to commit serious offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatA retired garda superintendent has been further charged with conspiring with a detective to deceive people out of money. (rte.ie)
  • whatA retired Garda Superintendent is the person in the case. (gript.ie)
  • whenThe allegations cover activity between April 12, 2016 and September 29, 2021. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenOn 19 February 2018, Clerkin is alleged to have corruptly attempted to obtain a gift while serving as a member of An Garda Síochána. (rte.ie)
  • whenClerkin is accused of facilitating a serious offence by a criminal organisation from 12 January 2018 to 13 June 2019. (rte.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • whenClerkin was arrested shortly before 9am on the day of his court appearance. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe offences are alleged to have happened from the start of 2018 until the end of the following year. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe GNBCI has been investigating alleged organised crime activity since 2021. (garda.ie)
  • investigationThe arrests followed a probe by the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationThe three were arrested on Wednesday following an investigation by the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationClerkin was the fourth man charged following an investigation by the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation charged Murphy in April and he was remanded in custody. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation has brought 189 charges against four remaining defendants following a corruption probe. (rte.ie)
  • chargeTwo males aged in their 60s and 40s have been charged. (garda.ie)
  • chargeOne further male aged in his 50s has been charged. (garda.ie)
  • chargeThe retired superintendent is to stand trial accused of facilitating a crime gang, perverting the course of justice and corruption. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeMurphy faces seven bribery charges under the Criminal Justice (Corruption Offences) Act 2018. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • chargeKeane is charged with a single offence under section 62 of the Garda Síochána Act 2005. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeStratford was charged with 170 offences. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeJohn Murphy, 65, a retired Garda superintendent, faces 12 charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Manus Keane, 46, from south Dublin, faces a single criminal allegation. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeDet Aidan Stratford, 50, from north Dublin, faces 170 charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy and Stratford are alleged to have participated in activities intended to facilitate serious offences by a criminal organisation between April 12, 2016 and September 29, 2021, contrary to section 72 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy has seven separate bribery charges under the Criminal Justice (Corruption Offences) Act 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy faced four common law charges for communicating with a serving member of An Garda Síochána in a manner intended to pervert the course of public justice from April 2016 to January 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeKeane is charged under section 62 of the An Garda Síochána Act 2005 for disclosing confidential information to Aidan Stratford on November 13, 2014. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy and Stratford are alleged to have facilitated serious offences by a criminal organisation between April 12, 2016 and September 29, 2021, under Section 72 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeMurphy has seven separate bribery charges under the Criminal Justice (Corruption Offences) Act 2018 for corruptly agreeing to accept gifts, advantages, or inducements between July 2020 and September 2021. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeMurphy faces four common law charges for communicating with a serving garda in a manner intended to pervert the course of public justice from April 2016 to January 2018. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeKeane is charged with a single offence under section 62 of the Garda Síochána Act 2005 for disclosing confidential information to Stratford on 13 November 2014. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeStratford's offences include disclosing confidential information or corruptly accepting a gift, inducement, or reward on 25 February 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeClerkin was arrested shortly before 9am and made no reply when charged with three offences. (rte.ie)
  • chargeClerkin is alleged to have unlawfully possessed 33 rifle rounds and 73 rounds of 9mm ammunition at an address in west Dublin. (rte.ie)
  • chargeEoghan Clerkin, 51, a detective garda, was charged with three offences following an NBCI inquiry. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeClerkin is alleged to have corruptly attempted to obtain a gift or advantage from an individual on 19 February 2018 while serving as a garda. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeClerkin allegedly unlawfully possessed 33 rifle rounds and 73 rounds of 9mm ammunition at an address in west Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy and Stratford face allegations of facilitating serious offences by a criminal organisation between 12 April 2016 and 29 September 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy faces seven separate bribery charges under the Criminal Justice (Corruption Offences) Act 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy also faced four common law charges for communicating with a serving garda to pervert the course of public justice from April 2016 to January 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Manus Keane, 46, is charged with a single offence under section 62 of the Garda Síochána Act 2005 for disclosing confidential information to Stratford on 13 November 2014. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy is alleged to have participated in activities to facilitate serious offences by a criminal organisation between April 2016 and September 2021 under section 72 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeMurphy faces four common law charges for communicating with a serving garda to pervert the course of public justice from April 2016 to January 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeInsp Brian Roberts, 51, is accused of unlawfully disclosing confidential information on 10 October 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Eoghan Clerkin, 51, is accused of attempting to obtain a gift inducement corruptly on 19 February 2018 under the Prevention of Corruption Act. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeClerkin is accused of unlawfully possessing 33 rifle rounds and 73 rounds of 9mm ammunition at an address in west Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeClerkin is accused of facilitating the commission of a serious offence by a criminal organisation from January 2018 to June 2019. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Manus Keane, 46, is charged with disclosing confidential information on 13 November 2014 that was likely to have a harmful effect. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeDet Aidan Stratford, 50, is accused of contributing to activities to facilitate serious offences by a criminal organisation from 2016 to 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeStratford has another 170 charges including disclosing confidential information or corruptly accepting a gift, inducement, or reward. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeJohn Murphy and Aidan Stratford each received an additional charge under section 71 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe new charge alleges the two men conspired to induce people by deception to part with money. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe DPP has directed that the four men are to face trial on indictment. (rte.ie)
  • chargeMurphy also has seven bribery charges under the Criminal Justice (Corruption Offences) Act 2018. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe ex-superintendent also faced four common law charges for communicating with a serving garda to pervert the course of public justice. (rte.ie)
  • chargeGarda Eoghan Clerkin faces charges including attempting to obtain a gift inducement corruptly on 19 February 2018. (rte.ie)
  • chargeClerkin is charged with unlawfully possessing 33 rifle rounds and 73 rounds of 9mm ammunition at an address in west Dublin. (rte.ie)
  • chargeGarda Manus Keane remains charged with disclosing confidential information on 13 November 2014. (rte.ie)
  • chargeStratford faces another 170 charges, including disclosing confidential information or corruptly accepting a gift, inducement, or reward. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe Superintendent is accused of facilitating a criminal organisation. (gript.ie)
  • chargeThe Superintendent has been further charged with conspiring with a detective to deceive people out of money. (gript.ie)
  • courtThe two men are due to appear before District Court No1, Criminal Courts of Justice, on 8 April 2026 at 10.30am. (garda.ie)
  • courtThe accused is due to appear before District Court No4, Criminal Courts of Justice, on 8 April 2026. (garda.ie)
  • courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions directed trial on indictment at a higher level on the combined 183 charges. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtA six-week adjournment was sought to prepare the prosecution's books of evidence. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMurphy and Stratford could not apply for bail on the criminal organisation charge, which requires a High Court decision, and were remanded in custody. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtKeane was granted bail on conditions including providing a contact phone number and having no contact with other parties or witnesses. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtStratford's solicitor said he would apply for High Court bail in due course. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThey appeared at Dublin District Court on Wednesday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtNBCI Det Sgt Síle White and Det Sgt Paul Sweeney gave evidence that the DPP had issued a direction for trial on indictment at a higher level on their combined 183 charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMurphy and Stratford were remanded in custody to appear again the following Wednesday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtKeane met the NBCI officer by arrangement shortly after 8am to be charged. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtStratford was brought before Judge Michele Finan during the evening court sitting. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtStratford's solicitor confirmed he would apply for High Court bail in due course. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP issued a direction for trial on indictment at a higher level on their combined 183 charges. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMurphy and Stratford could not apply for bail on the Section 72 charge and were remanded in custody to appear again the following Wednesday. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtKeane was granted bail with conditions including a contact phone number, notifying gardaí of address changes, and no contact with other parties or witnesses. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtJudge Brendan O'Reilly imposed reporting restrictions on Keane's address, set cashless bail at €3,000, and ordered him to appear again on June 12. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtStratford, 50, from north Dublin, was brought before Judge Michele Finan during the evening court sitting. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtClerkin appeared at Dublin District Court. (rte.ie)
  • courtClerkin could not apply for bail because the organised crime charge requires a High Court decision. (rte.ie)
  • courtA remand in custody was applied for and granted. (rte.ie)
  • courtClerkin will appear at Cloverhill District Court on Friday. (rte.ie)
  • courtClerkin could not apply for bail because the facilitating charge requires a High Court decision. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtRemand in custody was granted for Clerkin. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtClerkin is due to appear at Cloverhill District Court on Friday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMurphy appeared via video-link before Judge Alan Mitchell at Dublin District Court on Friday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMurphy obtained bail in the High Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP directed that the four men are to face trial on indictment. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtProsecutions have commenced against four serving members of the force. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe case resumed at Dublin District Court. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe two men were held at court because the new charge required the High Court to grant bail. (rte.ie)
  • courtMurphy and Stratford will appear again at the District Court on 6 November. (rte.ie)
  • otherAn Garda Síochána is not making further comment as the matter is before the courts. (garda.ie)
  • otherStratford replied that he denied the charge. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherMurphy made no reply after caution to his 12 charges. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherMurphy's defence solicitor Daniel Hanahoe said his client was reserving his legal aid application. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherKeane's defence counsel Paddy Jackson asked that the question of legal aid be reserved. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe Director of Public Prosecutions' directions in the case were not stated. (rte.ie)
  • otherClerkin lives in Dublin and has not yet entered a plea. (rte.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe single charge against Detective Inspector Brian Roberts was withdrawn and he left court. (rte.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 11 Sep2026
    Ex Garda Supt gets conspiracy charge - Inspector walks free. - Gript

    Reports a further charge against a retired Garda Superintendent. The headline says an inspector walks free, but the article text does not mention an inspector.

    accused
  2. 11 Sep2026
    Retired senior garda further charged with conspiracy

    Adds the further conspiracy charges against Murphy and Stratford, the withdrawal of the charge against Det Insp Roberts, the 189-charge total against four remaining defendants, and the next court date.

    accused, John Murphy, 65, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Murphyaccused, Aidan Stratford, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Aidan Stratfordaccused, Eoghan Clerkin, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Eoghan Clerkinaccused, Manus Keane, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Manus Keane
  3. 7 Aug2026
    Former garda accused of facilitating crime gang to commit serious offences granted bail

    Reports that John Murphy obtained bail in the High Court and that a five-week adjournment was granted at Dublin District Court; details charges against Murphy and four co-defendants (Roberts, Clerkin, Keane, Stratford) in the multi-defendant corruption investigation.

    accused, John Murphy, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Murphyaccused, Brian Roberts, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Brian Robertsaccused, Eoghan Clerkin, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Eoghan Clerkinaccused, Manus Keane, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Manus Keaneaccused, Aidan Stratford, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Aidan Stratford
  4. 13 Apr2026
    Garda accused of bribery, facilitating crime gang and possessing ammunition

    First court appearance for Clerkin and three other gardaí charged in the NBCI inquiry; Clerkin remanded in custody, others granted six-week adjournment to prepare prosecution books of evidence.

    accused, Eoghan Clerkin, 51, male, Irish, named, irishEoghan Clerkinaccused, John Murphy, male, Irish, named, irishJohn Murphyaccused, Manus Keane, 46, male, Irish, named, irishManus Keaneaccused, Aidan Stratford, 50, male, Irish, named, irishAidan Stratford
  5. 13 Apr2026
    Garda remanded in custody over organised crime probe

    First report of the charges against Eoghan Clerkin, who was remanded in custody at Dublin District Court after being arrested by the NBCI.

    accused, Eoghan Clerkin, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Eoghan Clerkin
  6. 8 Apr2026
    Former Garda superintendent faces trial in major crime gang and corruption case

    Provides detailed breakdown of individual charges (Murphy 12, Keane 1, Stratford 170), court proceedings before Judges Brendan O'Reilly and Michele Finan, bail conditions, defence positions, and the DPP direction for trial on indictment at a higher level.

    accused, John Murphy, 65, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Murphyaccused, Manus Keane, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Manus Keaneaccused, Aidan Stratford, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Aidan Stratford
  7. 8 Apr2026
    Retired Garda supt charged with corruption and facilitating criminal organisation

    Provides detailed breakdown of charges for Murphy (12), Keane (1) and Stratford (170), court proceedings before Judges O'Reilly and Finan, bail outcomes, and defence counsel details for the three gardaí mentioned in the original Clerkin case.

    suspect, John Murphy, 65, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Murphysuspect, Manus Keane, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Manus Keanesuspect, Aidan Stratford, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Aidan Stratford
  8. 1 Apr2026
    Retired Garda Superintendent charged with corruption and facilitating criminal organisation

    Reports the arrests and charges of three men, including a retired garda superintendent, with corruption, perverting the course of justice and facilitating a criminal organisation, and their first court appearances in Dublin.

    accused, John Murphy, 65, named, irish (judged from name)John Murphyaccused, Manus Keane, 46, named, irish (judged from name)Manus Keaneaccused, Aidan Stratford, 50, named, irish (judged from name)Aidan Stratford
  9. 1 Apr2026
    Update Court Appearance – Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation, Organised Crime Investigation

    Brief GNBCI press release confirming a further male in his 50s has been charged in the ongoing organised crime investigation and is due in court on 8 April 2026.

    suspect, 50s, male
  10. 1 Apr2026
    Court Appearance – Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation, Organised Crime Investigation

    Garda press release confirming the court appearance of two charged males in the GNBCI organised crime investigation.

    suspect, 60s, malesuspect, 40s, male