Case No. 2437Possession of controlled drugs (cannabis) for sale or supply, crime proceeds · Co. Dublin · 11 Oct 2024

Raymond Hall sent for trial over €8.5m cannabis seizure at Dublin storage unit

Raymond Hall, 58, of Duleek, Co Meath, was sent for trial at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court after 426kg of cannabis worth €8.5m was seized at a self-storage unit in Ballymount, Dublin, in October 2024. He faces charges of possessing drugs for sale or supply and having €54,499 in crime proceeds, with three co-defendants from India, the Netherlands and Moldova also before the courts on connected charges.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court30 Jan
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced30 Jan
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
36 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatAlina Glont, 42, is from Charlestown Place, Finglas, Dublin 11 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatDaniel Stepien, 29, is from Annfield Court, Clonsilla, Dublin 15 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatGardaí identified 124 incidents where someone from a group of five went to a test centre and took the theory test on behalf of third parties (irishtimes.com)
  • whatStepien sat 68 theory tests and Glont completed 20 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThird parties paid between €1,000 and €2,000 to the group (irishtimes.com)
  • whatStepien had 30 previous convictions including for deception, theft and road-traffic offences (irishtimes.com)
  • whatGlont had five previous convictions including handling stolen property and using a false instrument (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe defendants were part of a group of five individuals involved in the scheme (irishtimes.com)
  • whatWhen the theory test was completed successfully, a pass certificate was issued that could be used by a third party to apply for a driving test (irishtimes.com)
  • what426 kilogrammes of cannabis were seized at the storage facility. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe cannabis was found at U Store It Self Storage, M50 Business Park, Ballymount Road Upper. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe offences took place between September 2018 and June 2021 (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe seizure took place on 11 October 2024. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe Road Safety Authority started its own investigation in January 2021 after receiving confidential information (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe RSA reported 36 potential impersonations to gardaí in June 2021 (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationFour men were arrested in relation to the incident. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeRaymond Hall was charged with possessing drugs for sale or supply. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was also charged with possessing drugs worth more than €13,000 at the storage facility. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with having €54,499 in crime proceeds at his home address. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtBoth pleaded guilty to two counts of conspiracy at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge Martin Nolan adjourned overnight to consider sentencing (irishtimes.com)
  • courtDetective Garda Barry Cormack told Kieran Kelly, who was prosecuting (irishtimes.com)
  • courtHe appeared at Dublin District Court on 30 January 2025 and was served with a book of evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtJudge Aylmer granted a return-for-trial order sending him to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe case is scheduled to be listed on 13 March 2025 alongside co-defendants. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHall has not yet entered a plea. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHis bail conditions include a €5,000 lodgement and a €30,000 independent surety. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe surrendered his passport and must not apply for new travel documents. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe is prohibited from contacting the co-defendants. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe must sign on three days a week at a local garda station. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe was granted free legal aid including senior counsel representation. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceStepien was sentenced to 32 months' imprisonment, backdated to December 19th (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceGlont was sentenced to 2½ years' imprisonment (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThree other men from India, the Netherlands and Moldova are before the courts on connected charges. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe defendants made no reply when charged at Crumlin and Rathfarnham Garda stations. (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 30 Jan2025
    Man, 58, sent for trial after €8.5m cannabis seizure at storage unit

    Details the return-for-trial order at Dublin District Court, bail conditions, and the DPP's direction for trial on indictment, with the case listed for 13 March 2025 alongside co-defendants.

    accused, Raymond Hall, 58, male, named, irish (judged from name)Raymond Hallaccused, male, non-irish (judged from name)accused, male, non-irish (judged from name)accused, male, non-irish (judged from name)
  2. 30 Jan2025
    Man and woman jailed for posing as learner drivers to sit theory tests on behalf of others

    Sentencing details including the judge's comments on the scale of the operation, the defendants' previous convictions, and the estimated €100,000 in profits. The article also notes that three other members of the five-person group are not before the courts and that the RSA reported 36 potential impersonations to gardaí in June 2021.

    convicted, Alina Glont, 42, female, named, non-irish (judged from name)Alina Glontconvicted, Daniel Stepien, 29, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Daniel Stepien