Case No. 1455Attempted murder, assault causing serious harm, possession or production of a knife · Co. Dublin · 23 Nov 2023

Psychiatric report completed on Riad Bouchaker in Parnell Square knife attack trial

A psychiatric report has been completed on Riad Bouchaker, 51, who is charged with the attempted murder of three children and assault causing serious harm to a care worker at Parnell Square, Dublin, in November 2023. Mr Justice Paul McDermott at the Central Criminal Court put the matter back for mention to 23 July 2025.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court25 Jun
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced25 Jun
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
37 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatBouchaker is 51 years old and of no fixed abode (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone is 41 years old and formerly from Guyana (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone raped, sexually assaulted and falsely imprisoned a young woman (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone had only been in Ireland for two weeks at the time of the offence (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone has 19 previous convictions from the UK (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHis previous UK convictions include rape, kidnapping, robbery and false imprisonment (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone failed to notify gardai he was a sex offender within seven days as required by law (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThere was a deportation order in place in the UK (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone dragged a young woman into his room where he raped and falsely imprisoned her (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone went to Dublin Port and bought a ticket to the UK (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatGladstone was told he was not allowed into the UK and his ticket was refunded (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereGladstone flew from Suriname to Schiphol Airport in the Netherlands (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe incident occurred at Parnell Square on the afternoon of 23 November 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe rape occurred on 25 August 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenGladstone arrived in Ireland on 11 August 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenGladstone was made aware of the accusations on 25 August 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationA psychiatric report has been completed on Riad Bouchaker (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationIn December 2024 a psychiatrist deemed it necessary to have further work carried out by a neuropsychologist (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationIn April 2025 the neuropsychologist's report was made available but the psychiatrist requested a further four weeks (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe treating doctor encountered delays accessing the defendant in prison (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThere were delays regarding the availability of an interpreter (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationAt the last mention on 28 May the psychiatrist indicated she would complete her report within three weeks (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationGladstone was arrested two days after being made aware of the accusations (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeBouchaker is charged with the attempted murder of two girls and one boy (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeBouchaker is charged with assault causing serious harm to a care worker (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeBouchaker is charged with possession or production of a knife (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeGladstone was found guilty by jury of one count of rape, three counts of sexual assault and one count of false imprisonment (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMr Justice Paul McDermott put the matter back for mention to 23 July (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtSenior counsel acting for Bouchaker said he received the report the day before the hearing (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe report will be made available to the DPP in due course (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMr Justice McDermott noted the age of the complainants and said the case must be given priority (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMr Justice Paul McDermott delivered the sentence (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtFailure to register as a sex offender carries a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceGladstone was sentenced to six months imprisonment (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceMr Justice Patrick McGrath jailed Gladstone for 10 years for the rape (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherIn February 2025 the Department of Justice announced a protocol to fast-track trials involving children (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe courts committed to completing the trial process within one year where possible if a child is the alleged victim or perpetrator (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 25 Jun2025
    Rapist who attacked woman days after arriving in Ireland given more jail time

    Reports the additional six-month consecutive sentence for failing to notify gardai of his sex offender status, adding to the 10-year rape sentence imposed in March 2025.

    convicted, Randi Gladstone, 41, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Randi Gladstonevictim, female
  2. 25 Jun2025
    Major development in Parnell Square knife attack trial

    Reports that the psychiatric report on the accused has been completed, the matter was adjourned to 23 July 2025, and details of the delays in the psychiatric assessment process including the need for a neuropsychologist and interpreter difficulties.

    accused, Riad Bouchaker, 51, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Riad Bouchakervictim, femalevictim, femalevictim, malevictim