Case No. 3227Possession of firearms, ammunition, pipe bombs, controlled drugs; manufacture/alteration of firearms · Co. Cork · 4 Nov 2025
Paul Sheehan, 46, faces 20 weapons and drugs charges at Cork District Court; DPP directs Circuit Court trial
Paul Sheehan, 46, from Douglas, Cork, was charged with a further 17 weapons and drugs offences at Cork District Court on 27 April 2026, bringing his total to 20 charges following his November 2025 arrest at the Applegreen filling station in Mallow. The DPP directed that he be tried at Cork Circuit Criminal Court rather than the Special Criminal Court and consented to a signed plea of guilty.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged27 Apr
- In court
- Verdict
- Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet
Key facts
consolidated from all reports13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatPaul Sheehan, 46, from Elm Drive, Shamrock Lawn, Douglas, Cork, was charged with weapons and drugs offences (irishtimes.com)
- whatHe was charged with a further 17 charges arising from the same investigation (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe new charges consisted of nine firearms or ammunition offences and two drugs offences at the Applegreen station and six firearms or ammunition offences in Douglas (irishtimes.com)
- whatHis car contained firearms, drugs, and evidence of a firearm having been discharged in the vehicle (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe maximum sentence upon conviction is 14 years (irishtimes.com)
- whatGardaí objected to bail citing the seriousness of the charges and the strength of the evidence (irishtimes.com)
- whereHe appeared before Cork District Court on 27 April 2026 (irishtimes.com)
- whenHe was arrested at the Applegreen filling station in Mallow on 4 November 2025 (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP directed the withdrawal of one of the original firearms offences at the Applegreen filling station (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Mary Dorgan struck out the withdrawn charge, leaving Sheehan facing 20 charges (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP directed trial by indictment at Cork Circuit Criminal Court rather than the Special Criminal Court (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP consented to Sheehan being sent forward on a signed plea of guilty (irishtimes.com)
- courtSheehan was remanded to appear again on 1 May 2026 by video-link (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 27 Apr2026Cork man on weapons charges will not face trial at Special Criminal Court
Reports the additional 17 charges, the DPP's decision to direct trial at Cork Circuit Criminal Court instead of the Special Criminal Court, the striking out of one charge, and remand to 1 May 2026.
accused, Paul Sheehan, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Sheehan