Case No. 2776Sexual assault, indecent assault · Co. Dublin · 1 Jan 1989

Paul Craven's sentencing adjourned after victim-impact statement in sexual abuse case

Paul Craven, 55, convicted of 11 counts of sexual assault and indecent assault on his nephew Alan Jenkins between 1989 and 1999, had his sentencing adjourned to 28 January 2025 at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court after a victim-impact statement was read. Judge Sinéad Ní Chúlacháin indicated a custodial sentence would be imposed.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Convicted9 Dec
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
20 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatAlan Jenkins was sexually abused by his uncle 30 years ago (irishtimes.com)
  • whatCraven would call Jenkins to his bedroom and play a game hiding cards behind his body (irishtimes.com)
  • whatIn the first incident, Craven guided Jenkins's hand to his genital area where he had concealed playing cards (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe abuse continued and primarily involved inappropriate touching (irishtimes.com)
  • whereCraven lives at Meadow View, Sarsfield Road, Dublin 10 (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe offences occurred on dates between 1989 and 1999 (irishtimes.com)
  • whenAlan Jenkins was aged six or seven when the first incident occurred (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationCraven was interviewed as part of the Garda investigation and denied the allegations (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe investigating garda agreed Craven has not come to any other negative attention (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationCraven voluntarily attended an interview with gardaí (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCraven was convicted of a total of 11 counts including sexual assault and two for indecent assault (irishtimes.com)
  • courtCraven was found not guilty of two counts of sexual assault (irishtimes.com)
  • courtCraven was found not guilty by the direction of the trial judge on two further counts of indecent assault (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe sentencing hearing took place at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on Monday (irishtimes.com)
  • courtAlan Jenkins wished to waive his anonymity to allow Craven to be named (irishtimes.com)
  • courtCraven gave evidence on his own behalf during the trial (irishtimes.com)
  • courtDefence counsel asked the court to allow Craven to remain on bail until the case is finalised (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe case was adjourned to 28 January for a full plea of mitigation (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCraven has no previous convictions (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCraven is required to sign contracts as part of a house purchase (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 9 Dec2024
    Man sexually abused by uncle tells court Tusla investigation was a farce

    Victim-impact statement read at sentencing hearing; Alan Jenkins waived anonymity to allow Craven to be named; Tusla investigation described as 'flawed' and a 'farce'; case adjourned to 28 January 2025 for full plea of mitigation; judge indicated custodial sentence would be imposed.

    victim, Alan Jenkins, male, irish (judged from name)Alan Jenkinsconvicted, Paul Craven, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Craven