Case No. 13015Money-laundering (payment redirect fraud) · Co. Longford · 27 Nov 2019

Paul Adetunji jailed for payment redirect frauds on two Finnish companies

Paul Adetunji, 24, of Longford, was sentenced to two years and three months in prison at Longford Circuit Court for six counts of money-laundering arising from payment redirect frauds that defrauded two Finnish companies of tens of thousands of euros in November and December 2019.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced28 Jul
    2 reports
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
27 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe Finnish company recalled the funds but they had been depleted. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatCCTV from 27 November showed him withdrawing €600 from an ATM outside the bank. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatCCTV from 28 November showed him withdrawing €600 outside, €1,500 from an ATM inside the bank, and €1,160 from the bank teller. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatThe remaining money was distributed via internet transactions including a beneficiary labelled iNet Family. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatHe told Gardaí he was in a Dublin nightclub when a male named Alex approached him, bought him drinks, and asked if he had a bank account. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatHe was later asked to make withdrawals and meet three other males in a BMW to hand over the money. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatIn the second fraud, a separate Finnish company had €44,089.68 paid into an AIB account in Eyre Square, Galway, between 16 and 20 December 2019. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatThe money was filtered to other accounts including an An Post account belonging to Mr Adetunji, who received €8,200 of the initial €44,000. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatHe opened the An Post account on 11 November 2019 and was aware money would be transferred for which he would receive €500. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatHe gave his card to P and two further withdrawals were made in Dublin. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatCCTV showed Adetunji withdrawing €600 from an ATM outside the bank on 27 November and further withdrawals on 28 November totalling €3,260 (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatAdetunji told Gardaí a male named Alex approached him in a Dublin nightclub, bought him drinks, and asked to use his bank account (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatThe injured party from the first fraud has not been refunded (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatIn the second fraud, €44,089.68 was paid into an AIB account in Galway between 16 and 20 December 2019 (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatAdetunji's An Post account received €8,200 of the €44,089.68 (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatAdetunji opened the An Post account on 11 November 2019 and was told he would receive €500 for providing the account details (longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with six counts of money-laundering, one count relating to one Finnish company and five counts relating to a second Finnish company. (longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with six counts of money-laundering, one relating to one Finnish company and five to a second (longfordleader.ie)
  • sentenceJudge Connolly set headline sentences of three years for the first charge and two years for the second, served consecutively. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherThe injured party has not been refunded. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherThe accused has 11 previous convictions including public order, assault, drugs offences and driving offences. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherHe works shift work and has a new baby. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherIn a letter of apology he stated he accepts full responsibility and regrets what he did. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherA probation report assessed him at the higher end of moderate risk of reoffending. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherThe judge noted the accused made under €1,000 from the two scams and no offer of compensation was made. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherAdetunji has 11 previous convictions including public order, assault, drugs and driving offences (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherAdetunji was 18 years old and still in school at the time of the offences (longfordleader.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 2 Aug2025
    Longford resident jailed after Finnish companies scammed out of thousands of euros

    Reports the full sentencing at Longford Circuit Court, including details of both frauds, the accused's account, mitigation, and the judge's reasoning for the custodial term.

    convicted, Paul Adetunji, 24, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Paul Adetunji
  2. 28 Jul2025
    Longford resident jailed after giving account to assist defrauding of Finnish companies

    Full court reporting of the sentencing, including details of both frauds, the accused's account of events, mitigation, the judge's reasoning, and the final sentence calculation.

    convicted, Paul Adetunji, 24, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Paul Adetunji