Patrick Murphy, 38, jailed for 10 years for manslaughter of Jordan Ronan, 20, in Tallaght
Patrick Murphy, 38, was sentenced to 10 years' imprisonment at the Central Criminal Court on 16 March 2026 for the manslaughter of 20-year-old Jordan Ronan, whom he stabbed in the chest with a kitchen knife outside his home in Tallaght, Dublin, on 26 July 2024. A jury had found him not guilty of murder but returned a unanimous verdict of manslaughter.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced16 Mar
2 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports33 statements extracted from the articles
- whatMurphy admitted stabbing 20-year-old Ronan, causing his death on 26 July 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy removed the doorbell camera and hid it in a settee. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy failed to call an ambulance after the stabbing. (irishtimes.com)
- whatA jury found Murphy not guilty of murder but returned a unanimous verdict of manslaughter. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe judge identified the introduction of a knife as an aggravating factor. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy had been in protective custody since 11 December at his own request. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy's family had to move from their home after the killing. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMurphy first used cocaine at 14 years old. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy maintained he was defending his family and property. (irishtimes.com)
- whatPatrick Murphy, 38, was sentenced to 10 years for the manslaughter of Jordan Ronan, 20. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy stabbed Ronan in the chest with a kitchen knife. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy had 31 previous convictions including possession of knives and other articles. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy rushed barefoot out of his home to confront Ronan. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy did not call an ambulance after stabbing Ronan. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatA Revolut card in Murphy's name was removed from Ronan's person. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatRonan and his partner were expecting a baby at the time of his death. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy was in protective custody in prison since 11 December 2025 after an alleged punishment attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe prison attack left Murphy with a severe laceration to his face requiring 25 stitches. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy is a father of four. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMurphy's dogs alerted him to Ronan's presence in his front driveway. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe incident occurred at Murphy's home on Drumcairn Parade, Tallaght. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe incident took place outside Murphy's home on Drumcairn Parade, Tallaght. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe incident occurred after 3am on 26 July 2024. (irishmirror.ie)
- causeThe stab wound would have caused immediate cardiac arrest. (irishmirror.ie)
- weaponMurphy rushed barefoot out of his home armed with a kitchen knife. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponThe stab wound was 18cm deep on the right side of the chest and penetrated the heart. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe sentencing took place at the Central Criminal Court before Justice Kerida Naidoo. (irishtimes.com)
- courtPatricia McLaughlin was the prosecutor. (irishtimes.com)
- courtA jury found Murphy not guilty of murder but guilty of manslaughter unanimously. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceMurphy was sentenced to 10 years in prison with the last year suspended for two years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe sentence was backdated to 26 July 2024. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceThe judge reduced the headline sentence from 14 years to 10 years due to the guilty plea and mitigating factors. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 14 years, reduced to 10 years with the last year suspended for two years. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 17 Mar2026Man with prior knife crime convictions who killed 'intruder' outside home jailed
Sentencing hearing at the Central Criminal Court before Mr Justice Kerida Naidoo; headline sentence of 14 years reduced to 10 with the last year suspended for two years; backdated to 26 July 2024. The victim's father Stephen Packenham said the family would not accept the jury's verdict.
victim, Jordan Ronan, 20, male, irish (judged from name)Jordan Ronanconvicted, Patrick Murphy, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Murphy - 16 Mar2026Man with convictions for knife crime who killed ‘intruder’ outside home is jailed for nine years
Reports the sentencing: 10-year term (reduced from 14) with the final year suspended for two years, backdated to 26 July 2024. Includes victim impact statement from the father, details of the stabbing, Murphy's 31 previous convictions, and his prison protective custody following an alleged punishment attack.
victim, Jordan Ronan, 20, male, irish (judged from name)Jordan Ronanconvicted, Patrick Murphy, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Murphy