Case No. 0111Rape, coercive control, sexual assault, assault causing harm, false imprisonment · Co. Offaly · 8 Feb 2018

Offaly rape and coercive control conviction on appeal

Barry Murphy, 39, of Grogan, Ballycumber, Co Offaly, was convicted by a jury in 2024 of three counts of raping, coercively controlling, sexually assaulting, assaulting and falsely imprisoning his former partner Lisa O'Meara between February 2018 and July 2020. The offences took place in Co Offaly, apart from one assault committed abroad on a holiday, and the victim suffered injuries including a fractured eye socket and broken nose. Mr Justice Kerida Naidoo sentenced Murphy to a global term of 15 and a half years on 16 December 2024, with the final year suspended on strict conditions. Murphy's appeal was heard at the Court of Appeal on 16 October 2026, where his barristers argued cross-examination was rendered ineffective when the victim professed no recollection, and judgment was reserved.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court19 Oct
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced16 Dec
    7 reports
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Barry Murphy, 39 (reports differ: 41), was convicted by a jury of three counts of raping, coercively controlling, sexually assaulting, assaulting and falsely imprisoning his former partner Lisa O'Meara.
Where
The offences took place in Co Offaly, apart from one assault committed abroad on a holiday.
When
The offences took place between February 2018 and July 2020, with the rapes on dates between 8 February 2018 and 24 February 2020 and the coercive control covering 1 January 2019 to 4 July 2020.
Cause
The victim suffered injuries including a fractured eye socket and broken nose.
Investigation
Gardaí were called to the house in January 2020 after receiving information expressing concern for the victim's safety, but she was taken away in a vehicle; they located her after 24 hours by triangulating Murphy's phone.
Charges
Murphy was convicted of three counts of rape, one count of coercive control, one count of sexual assault, three counts of assault causing harm, and one count of false imprisonment, and was acquitted of a further count of false imprisonment.
In court
  • The trial was held at the Central Criminal Court sitting in Tullamore in 2024, and the DPP instructed the case fell into the highest sentencing category.
  • Murphy's appeal was heard at the Court of Appeal on 16 October 2026, where his barristers argued the trial judge erred in admitting video recordings of the victim's gardaí interviews, and judgment was reserved.
Sentence
Mr Justice Kerida Naidoo imposed a global sentence of 15 and a half years on 16 December 2024, with all sentences running concurrently and the final year suspended on strict conditions.
Other details
  • The victim waived her anonymity so that Murphy could be named, and she escaped to the home of an acquaintance the night after the final rape and sexual assault.
  • Murphy did not plead guilty, does not accept the jury's verdict, and has shown no remorse; he has previous convictions for road traffic and public order offences.
98 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatA 39-year-old Co Offaly man was jailed for coercively controlling, raping, assaulting and falsely imprisoning his former partner. (rte.ie)
  • whatA man from Offaly was convicted of coercively controlling, raping, assaulting and falsely imprisoning his former partner. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatThe victim suffered injuries including a fractured eye socket and a broken nose. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatMurphy was convicted by a jury of coercively controlling, raping, assaulting and falsely imprisoning his former partner. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whatThe victim suffered injuries including a fractured eye socket and broken nose. (offalyexpress.ie, longfordleader.ie)
  • whatMurphy was convicted of coercively controlling his former partner between January 1, 2019 and July 4, 2020. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatMurphy was convicted of one count of sexually assaulting her in 2020. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatMurphy was convicted of three counts of assault causing harm in 2018, 2019 and 2020. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatMs O'Meara escaped to the home of an acquaintance the night after the final rape and sexual assault. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatShe waited until Murphy fell asleep before managing to exit the house and get away in a taxi. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatBarry Murphy, 39, of Grogan, Ballycumber, Co Offaly, was convicted by a jury of multiple offences against his former partner. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatAn Offaly man convicted of coercively controlling, raping, assaulting and falsely imprisoning his former partner was jailed for 14½ years. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whatAn ex-partner raped and assaulted the survivor. (extra.ie)
  • whatBarry Murphy was convicted by a jury in 2024 of three counts of raping Lisa O’Meara. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatMs O’Meara escaped from the house the night after the final rape and sexual assault. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatMs O’Meara suffered injuries including a fractured eye socket and broken nose. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe offences took place in Co Offaly, except for one assault committed abroad on a holiday. (thejournal.ie)
  • whereThe offences occurred in Co Offaly, apart from one assault committed abroad on a holiday. (offalyexpress.ie, irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe offences occurred at locations in Co Offaly, apart from one assault committed abroad on a holiday. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe offences occurred in County Offaly, apart from one assault committed abroad during a planned holiday. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whenThe offences took place between February 2018 and July 2020. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe rapes took place on dates between 8 February 2018 and 24 February 2020. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe coercive control covered the period from 1 January 2019 to 4 July 2020. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe offending took place over a two-year period between 2018 and February 2020. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe rape counts relate to dates between 8 February 2018 and 24 February 2020. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whenThe offending in relation to rapes, sexual assaults and physical assaults took place between 2018 and February 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationGardaí were called to the house in January 2020 after receiving information expressing concern for Ms O'Meara's safety. (rte.ie)
  • investigationGardaí triangulated the location of Murphy's phone and found Ms O'Meara after 24 hours with extensive physical injuries. (rte.ie)
  • investigationMs O'Meara gave a videotaped statement to gardaí. (rte.ie)
  • investigationGardaí located the victim after 24 hours by triangulating the location of the accused's phone. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationGardaí called to the house in January 2020 after receiving information that there was concern for the victim's safety. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationIt took 24 hours for gardaí to locate the victim. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationGardaí called to the house in January 2020 after receiving information about concern for her safety, but she was taken out the back and away in a vehicle. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationGardaí located the victim about 24 hours after she was taken away, by triangulating Murphy's phone. (longfordleader.ie)
  • investigationGardaí took a videotaped statement from Ms O’Meara after her escape in February 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationMs O’Meara later asked gardaí twice to withdraw her complaints, once driven to the station by Murphy. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeA jury found him guilty of three counts of raping his partner, Lisa O'Meara. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe jury also found him guilty of coercive control, assault, sexual assault and false imprisonment. (rte.ie)
  • chargeHe was convicted by a jury of three counts of raping the victim. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeHe was convicted of coercive control over an 18-month period. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeHe was also convicted of one count of sexual assault, three counts of assault causing harm, and one count of false imprisonment, and was acquitted of one further false imprisonment count. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was convicted of three counts of raping the victim. (offalyexpress.ie, longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was convicted of coercive control over an 18-month period. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was convicted of one count of sexually assaulting the victim in 2020. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was acquitted of a further count of false imprisonment. (offalyexpress.ie, irishtimes.com, longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeHe was convicted of three counts of raping Ms O'Meara on dates between February 8, 2018 and February 24, 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was convicted of coercive control over an 18-month period between January 1, 2019 and July 4, 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was convicted of one count of sexually assaulting her in 2020, three counts of assault causing harm in 2018, 2019 and 2020, and one count of falsely imprisoning her in 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was convicted of coercive control of the victim over an 18-month period. (longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was found guilty of one count of sexually assaulting the victim in 2020. (longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was found guilty of one count of falsely imprisoning the victim in 2020. (longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeMurphy was also convicted of coercive control of Ms O’Meara over an 18-month period. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe prosecution said the DPP had instructed that the case fell into the highest category of such offences. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe judge said the rapes and sexual assault happened while the victim was held hostage in the house. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe judge set a headline sentence of 17 years for the rape offence. (thejournal.ie, offalyexpress.ie, longfordleader.ie)
  • courtThe accused did not plead guilty, does not accept the jury's verdict and has shown no remorse. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe jury convicted Murphy at a trial sitting in Tullamore earlier in 2024. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtMurphy's bail was revoked because the victim living with him breached his bail conditions. (offalyexpress.ie, longfordleader.ie)
  • courtMurphy was convicted by a jury after a trial in Tullamore earlier this year. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe sentence was passed by Mr Justice Kerida Naidoo at the Central Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtHe was acquitted of a further count of false imprisonment. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP instructed the case fell into the highest category with a headline sentence band of between 15 years and life imprisonment. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMurphy was convicted by a jury after a trial in Tullamore earlier that year. (longfordleader.ie)
  • courtMurphy's barristers argued the trial judge erred in admitting video recordings of Ms O’Meara's garda interviews. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMurphy's barristers argued that cross-examination was rendered ineffective and illusory when Ms O’Meara professed no recollection. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtJudgment in the appeal was reserved to a later date. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceMr Justice Kerida Naidoo sentenced him to 15 and a half years and suspended the final year for two years. (rte.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge imposed a global sentence of 15.5 years, with all sentences to run concurrently. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge suspended the last year of the term on strict conditions. (thejournal.ie, offalyexpress.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of six years for false imprisonment. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge imposed a global sentence of 15 and a half years, with all sentences running concurrently. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 17 years for the rape offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe coercive control offence warranted a headline sentence of four years. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceThe assault offences warranted headline sentences of between 3½ and five years. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe false imprisonment deserved a headline sentence of six years. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe sexual assault offences were given a headline sentence of 5½ years. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe judge imposed a global sentence of 15½ years with all sentences running concurrently, suspending the last year on strict conditions. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceMr Justice Kerida Naidoo set a headline sentence of 17 years for the rape offence. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceThe global sentence was 15½ years with all sentences running concurrently, and the last year was suspended on strict conditions. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge imposed a global sentence of 15½ years, with all sentences to run concurrently. (longfordleader.ie)
  • sentenceThe final year of the sentence was suspended on strict conditions. (longfordleader.ie)
  • sentenceThe ex-partner was jailed for 14 years. (extra.ie)
  • sentenceMurphy was sentenced to 14 and a half years in prison. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherMs O'Meara was left with a fractured eye socket and broken nose. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe defence said Murphy did not accept the verdict and described the case as a domestic situation that got out of hand. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe victim waived her anonymity so that the accused could be named. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherThe accused has previous convictions for road traffic and public order offences. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherThe accused's bail was revoked because the victim living with him breached his conditions. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherIn mitigation, Murphy did not plead guilty, does not accept the jury's verdict and has not shown remorse. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherMurphy has a number of previous convictions for road traffic and public order offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherTestimonials described Murphy as a good father and a successful businessman who provides employment in his locality. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherMurphy did not plead guilty, does not accept the jury's verdict, and has not shown any remorse. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherMurphy ran his own haulage company of articulated lorries and a car repair business. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe DPP's view was that the case falls into the highest sentencing category. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherThe judge found there was minimal mitigation because Murphy did not plead guilty and has shown no remorse. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherTestimonials described Murphy as a good father and a successful businessman. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherThe survivor gave a statement. (extra.ie)
  • otherMs O’Meara had no means of communication with the outside world before she escaped to the home of an acquaintance. (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 19 Oct2026
    Abuser claims he was denied 'meaningful cross-examination' of victim

    Murphy's appeal at the Court of Appeal on 16 October 2026, with defence counsel Patrick Gageby SC arguing the trial judge erred in admitting video recordings of the complainant's gardaí interviews under section 16 of the Criminal Justice Act, as her inability to recall the events made cross-examination 'rendered ineffective and illusory.' DPP counsel Timothy O'Leary SC argued the complainant's lack of memory was helpful to the defence. Judgment reserved by Mr Justice Patrick McCarthy, presiding over a three-judge court.

    convicted, Barry Murphy, 41, male, named, irish (judged from name)Barry Murphyvictim, Lisa O'Meara, female, irish (judged from name)Lisa O'Meara
  2. 17 Dec2024
    Survivor’s courageous statement as ex-partner who raped and assaulted her is jailed for 14 years

    Only the headline is available; the article body is missing. No location, dates or names are given. Not matched to an existing case: case 14938 concerns a man charged with rape in Letterkenny and does not describe a sentencing.

    convictedvictim
  3. 16 Dec2024
    Midlands man jailed for coercive control and rape of his former partner

    Sentencing report. Adds the sentence (global 15½ years with the final year suspended, 14½ years in custody), the judge's headline sentences, the DPP's position, the mitigation given, the offence dates and locations, the garda investigation details, and the victim's impact statement and reaction. The victim waived her anonymity.

    convicted, Barry Murphy, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Barry Murphyvictim, Lisa O'Meara, female, irish (judged from name)Lisa O'Meara
  4. 16 Dec2024
    Man guilty of coercive control, rape and assault of partner jailed for 14 years

    Reports the sentencing of Barry Murphy to 15½ years (14½ years with final year suspended) for multiple offences against his former partner, including details of the coercive control, the Gardaí's January 2020 intervention, and the victim's impact statement.

    victim, Lisa O'Meara, female, irish (judged from name)Lisa O'Mearaconvicted, Barry Murphy, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Barry Murphy
  5. 16 Dec2024
    ‘You thought you were untouchable’: Man jailed for raping and coercively controlling ex-partner

    Sentencing report: Mr Justice Kerida Naidoo imposed a global sentence of 15½ years (last year suspended) after a jury convicted Murphy at a trial in Tullamore earlier in 2024. Victim Lisa O'Meara waived anonymity and delivered a victim impact statement.

    victim, female, irish (judged from name)convicted, Barry Murphy, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Barry Murphy
  6. 16 Dec2024
    Offaly man jailed for fourteen and a half years for coercive control, rape and assault of partner

    Reports the sentencing: headline sentences by offence, global sentence of 15 and a half years with the last year suspended, and the victim impact statement. The article gives the sentence as fourteen and a half years in its headline and body text, and as a global sentence of 15 and a half years with the last year suspended. Offences took place in Co Offaly between 2018 and February 2020, apart from one assault committed abroad on a holiday.

    convicted, Barry Murphy, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Barry Murphyvictim, Lisa O'Meara, female, irish (judged from name)Lisa O'Meara
  7. 16 Dec2024
    'You thought you were untouchable': Man jailed for 14.5 years for coercive control, rape of former partner

    Reports the sentencing on 16 December 2024: the global sentence of 15.5 years with the last year suspended, the headline sentences for each offence, the judge's remarks on mitigation and control, the victim impact statement, and the victim's comments outside court.

    victim, Lisa O'Meara, female, irish (judged from name)Lisa O'Mearaconvicted, Barry Murphy, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Barry Murphy
  8. 16 Dec2024
    Man jailed for coercive control, rape of former partner

    Reports the sentence of 14 and a half years (15 and a half years with the final year suspended), gives the offending period as February 2018 to July 2020, describes Ms O'Meara's injuries and victim impact statement, and states the defence did not accept the verdict.

    victim, Lisa O'Meara, female, irish (judged from name)Lisa O'Mearaconvicted, Barry Murphy, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Barry Murphy