Case No. 3117Contract (unpaid care fees) · 7 May 2026
Nursing home group pursues estate of deceased ward of court for €185,000 care costs
Nazareth Care Ireland (NCI) filed High Court proceedings on 7 May 2026 seeking summary judgment for approximately €185,000 in unpaid care fees owed by the estate of a deceased woman who was a resident of an NCI nursing home from 2018 until her death in 2024 and was made a ward of court in late 2022.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court11 May
- Verdict
- Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet
Key facts
consolidated from all reports11 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe contract of care was at a cost of €830 per week with payments due within four weeks of demand (irishtimes.com)
- whatThere was default of payment obligations from about six months after the woman became a resident (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe debt was approximately €117,000 in 2021 (irishtimes.com)
- whatA demand for payment of about €185,000 was issued in July 2025 (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe couple held assets in the United Kingdom requiring a UK Court of Protection order to access (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe woman was a resident of an NCI nursing home from 2018 until her death in 2024 (irishtimes.com)
- courtNCI filed proceedings in the High Court seeking summary judgment (irishtimes.com)
- courtNCI is seeking summary judgment for €185,159 plus interest, with proceedings stayed if payment is made within six days of service (irishtimes.com)
- otherNCI is a not-for-profit organisation and registered charity operating eight care homes in Ireland (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe woman was made a ward of court in late 2022 (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe woman's late husband was also a ward of court (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 11 May2026Nursing home group pursues estate of deceased ward of court for €185,000 care costs
NCI filed High Court proceedings seeking summary judgment for €185,159 plus interest in unpaid nursing home fees, with the option to stay proceedings if payment is made within six days of service.
victim, female