Case No. 3238Money laundering, possession of a false instrument, theft · Co. Dublin · 23 Apr 2026

Nigerian man Olatunde Salawe refused bail over €800k AI-generated credit card fraud

Olatunde Salawe, a 47-year-old Nigerian man living in London, was refused bail at Dublin District Court after being charged with money laundering, possession of a false instrument, and eight counts of theft in connection with a GNECB probe into the use of AI-generated documents to obtain 145 credit cards, causing €804,000 in losses. He was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court26 Apr
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
20 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe accused is a Nigerian man living in London charged with money laundering connected to an €800,000 fraud (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe accused is a father-of-seven (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe accused was arrested on Thursday morning after disembarking a Ryanair flight (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe accused made no reply to the charges (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe accused allegedly used AI-generated documentation to successfully apply for 145 credit cards (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe credit card applications resulted in a total loss of €804,000 to a banking institution (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe accused had been travelling to Ireland every week between September and March to collect Jobseeker's Allowance payments to which he was not entitled (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe accused has an Irish passport despite having no fixed address in the jurisdiction (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatDefence counsel argued the accused has significant links to Ireland including a network of friends in Dublin and two adult children living in the country (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatWhile detained, the accused called his mother in Nigeria rather than his relatives in Ireland (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatSome of the defendant's Dublin friends were under investigation (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe accused has no previous convictions or history of failing to appear in court (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe accused has no fixed address in London (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereHe was taken to Ballymun Garda Station where he was held for questioning and charged (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe charges arose from a Garda National Economic Bureau probe into the use of fake AI-generated documents to obtain more than a hundred credit cards (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with a money laundering offence on 16 September 2025 for possession of €3,300 in suspected crime proceeds (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe faces a charge of possessing a false instrument dating back to April 2025 (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe is accused of multiple counts of theft of €254 on eight dates between November 2025 and March 2026 (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe was refused bail when he appeared before Judge Michele Finan at Dublin District Court on Saturday (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe GNECB opposed bail citing concerns the accused is a flight risk with no substantial ties to Ireland but has access to false documents (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 26 Apr2026
    Accused linked to €800k fraud probe flew to Dublin weekly to get dole court told

    Bail hearing details: accused refused bail, remanded to Cloverhill District Court; GNECB detective evidence on arrest and weekly dole collection; defence arguments on Irish links; file being prepared for DPP for more serious charges.

    accused, Olatunde Salawe, 47, male, Nigerian, named, non-irishOlatunde Salawe