Munster abuse case: Father's bid for Supreme Court appeal refused
Between August 2014 and April 2016, the father of three older children was found to have raped them and to have abused, neglected and cruelly treated them, according to the sources. His 10-week trial was held at Croke Park in summer 2021, and in January 2022 the trial judge at the Central Criminal Court jailed him for 15 years. In July 2024 the Court of Appeal increased his sentence to life, after finding the 15-year term too lenient, and also increased the jail terms of the mother and an uncle to 12 and 18.5 years. The latest development is that the Supreme Court refused the father permission to appeal his life sentence, as reported on 29 January 2025.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced29 Jan
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- The victims were the father's three older children.
- When
- The abuse took place between August 2014 and April 2016.
- Where
- The 10-week trial was held at Croke Park in summer 2021.
- Charges
- The father was charged with raping his three older children and with abuse, neglect and child cruelty.
- In court
- In January 2022 the trial judge at the Central Criminal Court jailed the father for 15 years.
- The Supreme Court said the Court of Appeal expressly addressed the father's heightened culpability as the victims' father.
- The Director of Public Prosecutions argued that no matters of general public importance arose in the case.
- The Supreme Court refused the father permission to appeal his life sentence, as reported on 29 January 2025.
- Sentence
- The Court of Appeal found the father's original 15-year sentence too lenient.
- In July 2024 the Court of Appeal increased the father's sentence to life.
- The mother's and uncle's jail terms were increased to 12 and 18.5 years respectively.
10 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe father of the victims failed in a bid to bring a Supreme Court appeal. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe trial was a 10-week trial held at Croke Park in the summer of 2021. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe abuse took place between August 2014 and April 2016. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe life sentence was for raping his three older children and charges of abuse, neglect and child cruelty. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe Supreme Court said the Court of Appeal expressly addressed the father's heightened culpability as the victims' father. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions argued that no matters of general public importance arose in the case. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe Court of Appeal increased the father's sentence to life in July 2024. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe father's original 15-year sentence was found to be too lenient. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe mother's and uncle's jail terms were increased to 12 and 18.5 years respectively. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceIn January 2022 the trial judge at the Central Criminal Court jailed the father for 15 years. (thejournal.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 29 Jan2025Munster abuse case: Father of victims denied permission to appeal life sentence by Supreme Court
Reports that the Supreme Court denied the father leave to appeal his life sentence, which the Court of Appeal imposed in July 2024 after the State sought an increase. It also gives the Supreme Court's reasoning on his higher culpability as a parent.
convicted, 60, maleconvicted, 52, maleconvicted, 37, femalevictim