Michael Lynn theft trial: defence claims bank kept information 'off the official record'
Michael Lynn (55), a former solicitor of Red Cross, Co Wicklow, is accused of stealing around €27 million from seven financial institutions by obtaining multiple mortgages on the same properties. He is accused of 21 counts of theft in Dublin between 23 October 2006 and 20 April 2007, and he has pleaded not guilty. His trial before Judge Martin Nolan and a jury is ongoing, and the defence has claimed that an internal bank document suggests senior management kept information about his client off the official record. The latest development, on 31 October 2023, was the continued cross-examination of Noel McCole, a retired National Irish Bank manager, before the jury.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court31 Oct
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Michael Lynn, a former solicitor, is accused of stealing around €27 million from seven financial institutions.
- The prosecution says Lynn obtained multiple mortgages on the same properties while banks were unaware other institutions were also lending.
- Where
- Lynn, of Millbrook Court, Red Cross, Co Wicklow, is accused of offences committed in Dublin.
- When
- The alleged thefts took place between 23 October 2006 and 20 April 2007.
- Charges
- Lynn has pleaded not guilty to 21 counts of theft.
- Other details
- The seven institutions are Bank of Ireland, National Irish Bank (later Danske Bank), Irish Life and Permanent, Ulster Bank, ACC Bank, Bank of Scotland Ireland and Irish Nationwide Building Society.
- In court
- The trial before Judge Martin Nolan and a jury is ongoing.
- The defence says an internal bank document suggests senior management kept information about Lynn's client off the official record.
- Investigation
- The prosecution said some documents shown to the court were forgeries not from Kinsella Mitchell & Associates, and a witness agreed.
- A draft accounts version given to NIB stated 2006 sales of €1.2 million, while the accountant's draft showed income of €646,000.
- Noel McCole, a retired NIB business banking manager, continued his cross-examination before the jury on 31 October 2023.
9 statements extracted from the articles
- whatLynn is accused of stealing around €27 million from seven financial institutions. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe prosecution says Lynn obtained multiple mortgages on the same properties while banks were unaware other institutions were also lending. (irishtimes.com)
- whereLynn lives in Red Cross, Co Wicklow. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeLynn has pleaded not guilty to 21 counts of theft in Dublin between 23 October 2006 and 20 April 2007. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe defence said an internal bank document suggests senior management kept information about Lynn's client off the official record. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial continues before Judge Martin Nolan and a jury. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe financial institutions involved are Bank of Ireland, National Irish Bank (later Danske Bank), Irish Life and Permanent, Ulster Bank, ACC Bank, Bank of Scotland Ireland and Irish Nationwide Building Society. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe prosecution said some documents shown to the court did not come from Kinsella Mitchell & Associates and were forgeries, which the witness agreed with. (irishtimes.com)
- otherA draft accounts version provided to NIB stated sales of €1.2 million for 2006, compared with the €646,000 income in the accountant's draft. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 31 Oct2023Michael Lynn trial: Defence claims senior bank staff kept information ‘off the official record’
Reports the ongoing trial, including the defence's claim about a bank document, cross-examination of a former National Irish Bank manager, evidence that certain accounts and a statement of affairs were forgeries, and the names of the seven financial institutions. No existing case matches this trial.
accused, Michael Lynn, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Michael Lynn