Case No. 0554Possession of controlled drugs · Co. Dublin · 24 Jul 2023

Michael Carroll sentenced to two years for possessing drugs in Mountjoy Prison cell

Michael Carroll, 46, of Bride Street, Dublin 8, pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to two counts of possessing cannabis and heroin for supply in his cell at Mountjoy Prison, where 28g of cannabis and 22.5g of heroin were found concealed between his legs during a routine search on 24 July 2023. Judge Orla Crowe set a headline sentence of three years, reduced to two years, backdated to May 2026 when Carroll entered his guilty pleas. Carroll, who is serving a 22-year sentence for attempting to shoot John Hutch in September 2016 and attempting to murder another man in early 2017, said the drugs, valued at €3,720, did not belong to him and he was holding them for others due to a drug debt. His current release date is in 2038.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court21 Jul
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced21 Jul
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Michael Carroll, 46, pleaded guilty to two counts of possessing cannabis and heroin for supply in his cell at Mountjoy Prison.
  • 28g of cannabis and 22.5g of heroin, with a combined value of €3,720, were found concealed between his legs during a routine cell search.
Where
The drugs were found in Carroll's cell at Mountjoy Prison, Dublin; he is of Bride Street, Dublin 8.
When
The drugs were found on 24 July 2023; Carroll was sentenced in July 2026.
Cause
Carroll said the drugs did not belong to him and he was holding them for other people due to a drug debt; he developed addiction issues after suffering a burst spleen when first imprisoned.
In court
  • Judge Orla Crowe at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court set a headline sentence of three years, reduced to two years.
  • Jason Bonney, 55, and Paul Murphy, 64, were convicted in April 2023 by the Special Criminal Court of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in the murder of David Byrne in February 2016; Gerard Hutch was acquitted.
Sentence
  • The two-year sentence was backdated to May 2026 when Carroll entered his guilty pleas; his current release date is in 2038.
  • Bonney was jailed for 8½ years and Murphy for nine years; the Court of Appeal rejected their appeals in November 2025 and the Supreme Court dismissed Bonney's further appeal in July 2026.
Other details
  • Carroll is serving a 22-year sentence for attempting to shoot John Hutch in September 2016 and attempting to murder another man in early 2017; John Hutch was not harmed and died years later in an unrelated accident at home.
  • Carroll has 54 previous convictions including the two attempted murders, firearms offences, robbery and drug offences.
  • Carroll is an enhanced prisoner who has completed violence prevention courses and now runs the course, has engaged in restorative justice, is involved in the prison school and gym, plays guitar, and has completed his Leaving Certificate.
29 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatCarroll pleaded guilty to two counts of possessing cannabis and heroin for supply in his jail cell. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe drugs were concealed between his legs during a routine cell search. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe was caught with 28g of cannabis and 22.5g of heroin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereJason Bonney, 55, lives at Drumnigh Wood, Portmarnock, Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • wherePaul Murphy, 64, lives at Cherry Avenue, Swords, Co Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe drugs were found in his cell at Mountjoy Prison. (irishmirror.ie)
  • causeHe suffered a burst spleen when first imprisoned and developed addiction issues as a result. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeThey were convicted of facilitating the Hutch criminal organisation in carrying out the murder of David Byrne in February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe trial court found Bonney guilty of facilitating the Hutch gang by providing access to the black BMW on the day of the attack. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtBonney and Murphy were convicted in April 2023 by the non-jury Special Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtBoth men were tried from January to April 2023 alongside Gerard Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe court acquitted Gerard Hutch of the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe Court of Appeal rejected the appeals by Bonney and Murphy in November 2025. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge held that Bonney suffered no injustice when he was refused permission to raise the alibi argument. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceBonney was jailed for 8½ years. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceMurphy was jailed for nine years. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceJudge Orla Crowe set a headline sentence of three years, reduced to two years. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceThe sentence was backdated to May 2026 when Carroll entered the guilty pleas. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe killing led to a significant escalation in a feud between the two gangs. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe drugs had a combined value of €3,720. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHe is serving a 22-year sentence for trying to shoot John Hutch in September 2016 and attempting to murder another man in early 2017. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherJohn Hutch was not harmed in the 2016 attack and died years later in an unrelated accident at home. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHe has 54 previous convictions including the two attempted murders, possessing a firearm with intent and further firearms, robbery and drug offences. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe drugs did not belong to him and he was holding them for other people due to a drug debt. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHe is an enhanced prisoner who has completed violence prevention courses and now runs the course. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHe has engaged in restorative justice and is involved in the prison school and gym. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHe plays the guitar and has an interest in writing and recording music. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHe has completed his Leaving Certificate along with first aid and food preparation courses. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHis current release date is in 2038. (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 21 Jul2026
    Man jailed for trying to shoot Gerry Hutch's brother caught with drugs in prison

    Reports the sentencing of Michael Carroll for drug possession in prison, including details of his 54 previous convictions, his enhanced prisoner status, his engagement in prison education and activities, and the judge's reasoning for reducing the headline sentence.

    convicted, Michael Carroll, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Michael Carroll
  2. 21 Jul2026
    Supreme Court dismisses appeal by Regency Hotel getaway driver over conviction

    The Supreme Court, in a five-judge panel led by Judge Niamh Hyland, dismissed Bonney's appeal, finding that while Tyrell's evidence should not have been treated as alibi evidence, Bonney suffered no injustice as the trial court was independently satisfied of his guilt and rejected both defence witnesses' testimony.

    victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Jason Bonney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch